We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome people, beautiful archipelago”
other travellers have booked this property
Sailing on Play To Live in San Blas Islands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sailing on Play To Live in San Blas Islands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Sailing on Play To Live in San Blas Islands
Sail boat Play To Live
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
El Porvenir, San Blas Islands, Guna Yala Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Maria M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome people, beautiful archipelago”
Reviewed January 31, 2020 for a stay in January 2020

Paul and Daniella are great people and they make an amazing team. It would take me all day to go on about all the ways they went above and beyond expectations for our family. They are both excellent cooks. They were fun and very playful with our kids who are 8 & 10. Paul likes it if you can write a song about him while you're there. Ha ha.
Paul is happy to teach how to sail. They are very knowledgeable about the area and people.
They have hot water showers! This is amazing. The boat is very comfortable. They also have excellent tasting drinking water.
We had a great mix of relaxation, snorkeling, wandering on islands, meeting local people and sailing. And lots of eating their very good food. They also took us on a trip up the river where the local people grow bananas and coconuts and get their drinking water.
If you have a chance to go to the Guna Yala, book your trip with Paul and Daniella. You'll be so glad that you did.

Date of stay: January 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trek71877...
1 review
“Fabulous sailing adventure in San Blas Islands!”
Reviewed December 17, 2019 for a stay in December 2019

Our four days on Play to Live were nothing short of fantastic. Our hosts Paul and Dani went out of their way to share places and experiences in the San Blas that only “insiders”, who have lived there for years, could know. They took us to great snorkeling and beaches and to a small island where we met their Kuna friends who are rarely visited by outsiders. There we were fortunate to see and learn about how the Kuna live and buy beautiful Molas from the elderly woman who created them. On another day we explored the Diablo River in their motor dingy, and saw monkeys, many different types of birds, iguanas and a crocodile. Since we’re professional photographers, this was a highlight of our trip. We came home with many great images of wildlife, dramatic sunsets, and beautiful islands, and Kuna people and culture.

Dani cooked delicious food and taught us to make traditional Italian pizza. Paul played a delightful variety of great music and we enjoyed our conversations about Panama, travel, movies, the space shuttle (which was visible on two evenings) and much more. Play to Live is a beautiful, comfortable boat which we delighted in helping to sail. In summary, we made wonderful new friends with Paul and Dani, and had an amazing experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed April 6, 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

In the 12 days I spent in Panama, my two days with Paul and Dani in San Blas were the absolute highlight of our trip. From the time we booked with them- Paul was in close communication about logistics and planning. We had countless new experiences and adventures from learning to sail, catching mackerel for lunch, having islands to ourselves, snorkeling the gorgeous reefs of San Blas, eating DELICIOUS Italian food; all of which made for a trip of a lifetime. Paul and Dani went above and beyond with their communication, hospitality, delicious meals, and in reminding us that to live is to play and to play is to live! Their warmth and fun dynamic as a couple made us feel like we had known them our whole lives. When booking with this awesome couple- I advise you to trust the process. Paul and Dani have a seamless system down and go above and beyond to ensure everything is smooth. I already miss San Blas so much and I hope we can do it again soon!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Synara B
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2019 for a stay in March 2019
2
people found this review helpful

It was really a great experience to go sailing with Paul and Daniela in San Blas. We've spent 3 nights and 3 days onboard in March 2019, having fun, good food and drinking, enjoying the beautiful beaches and islands in San Blas. Everything was great, we have no complains, only good things to tell about. Paul and Daniela were really great buddies for our vacation, including being very nice and kind with my husband, Renato, who doesn't speak english, neither spanish! Despite this "little problem", everything went in a very good way! Paul was even successfull on helping Renato to pilot the sail boat, when Renato had much fun! Everything onboard was really ok, fullfilling our expectations. Since the first contact we've made, asking for reservation dates, Paul and Daniela was very nice, answering our questions in a short time and explaining how things would work to get to San Blas. This part (getting from Panama City to San Blas) was really an adventure, but they've arranged everything so well that all went very smoothly. It was really amazing and we had so much fun spending these days onboard with them, including a great time playing ball on the beach! We recommend very highly to make a trip on their sailboat. We sure would like to repeat the experience. We felt very comfortable and "at home". And what to say about the food? It was really great, also! From the breakfast to dinner everything was really, really marvelous and delicious!!!! We only have to be very thankfull to Paul and Daniela, for being so great hosts and have made our time onboard such a great experiece and happy vacation!

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paradise2...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see San Blas Island”
Reviewed March 4, 2019 for a stay in February 2019
2
people found this review helpful

We traveled to Panama in late Feb. This was an amazing experience to sail the San Blas Island with Paul and Daniela for four days. From the very start after booking with Play to Live. Paul quickly communicated with us and was very clear about any question's we had. The travels plans to get to the San Blas Island from the resort near Panama was well organized and a great adventure !! When we arrived to the sail boat and was greeted by Paul and Daniela the fun began. We Sailed to different islands, enjoyed the beautiful water, swimming, fishing, meeting some of the locals, and learning about the culture and history of San Blas. Now i have to mention the food !! The food was amazing. The breakfast every morning that was prepared by Paul was very delicious !! The lunches and Dinners. Daniela prepared was jaw dropping !! She made us fish and lobster that we had caught earlier in the day. The pasta and pizza was absolutely out of this world !!! The COLD beer and wine went well with every meal !! The full trip was a great experience, relaxing and beautiful. Paul and Daniela both I can call friends now. If your looking to travel and see the San Blas Island's. Paul and Daniela is the right pick ! Thanks again for such a great time !!

Date of stay: February 2019
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed February 17, 2019 for a stay in February 2019
3
people found this review helpful

A wonderful stay in the company of Paul and Daniela who are exceptional people.
From sailing to fishing to delicious meals.
They cut themselves in 2 to make us live the stay as best as possible.
This stay will remain engraved all our life.

Date of stay: February 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Feb 2019
Great times my friend.. unfortunately I caught half a fish more than you.. but you made the shark happy.. Paul and Daniela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kohenB69
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Sailing Trip Of our Lives!”
Reviewed February 8, 2019 for a stay in January 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The highlight of all our traveling in Panama was this amazing adventure on Paul & Dani's sailing boat. Reservation was very easy after contacting Paul via his website. Communication went fluid and Paul explained us clearly all the details of the trip beforehand. It is not easy to get to San Blas but Paul and Dani organized everything smoothly on a very short notice. The sailing boat was super comfortable - hot shower and we slept like a baby during the night also because of all the paradise islands we discovered during the day. The islands all seem to come directly from a postcard. We also sailed a bit ourselves, snorkeled around the islands and reeds (spotted a big but harmless nurse shark) and Paul took us fishing in the dingy which was a lot of fun. Dani and Paul were the best hosts we could imagine! There were lots of drinks and the food was simply top class! These guys are true magicians in the sailboat kitchen. The evenings on the boat were very cosy with music, lots of fun stories accompanied with beer and wine under a thousands stars. Paul is passionate about what he does and he has been sailing since he was 4 years old so we knew we were in good hands. For all of us this was a 5 star experience and we would definitely like to repeat it some day. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Feb 2019
We had a blast.. thanks so much for being so easy to host.. would have you back in a heart beat.. lots of fun.. Paul and Daniela from Play to Live
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.