We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great trip”
other travellers have booked this property
Sailing on Play To Live in San Blas Islands
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sailing on Play To Live in San Blas Islands
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Sailing on Play To Live in San Blas Islands
Sail boat Play To Live
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
El Porvenir, San Blas Islands, Guna Yala Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

151willia...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great trip”
Reviewed August 15, 2022 for a stay in August 2022

My wife and I had a great trip. The hosts are a great couple who catered towards our interests, sailing and snorkeling. I learned a ton about the operation of the vessel and even when we were not snorkeling we saw rays jumping and a giant turtle from the deck. We visited new islands every day and ate great food, including fresh lobster. We had great conversations with the hosts, including lots of tales of sailing and travel. However, the boat was not so small that we were always on top of each other. My wife and I got plenty of time to ourselves to read, play back gammon and connect. Thanks for a great trip.

Date of stay: August 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mngarcia5
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation”
Reviewed June 16, 2022 for a stay in June 2022

Sailing with Paul and Daniela was an incredible experience. I wish we had more days to spend with them!

From the beginning it was very easy to communicate with Paul and Daniela, even while they were sailing! They were quick to answer any questions and to help us with getting to San Blas. The process is complicated and even after a delayed flight messed up our plans a bit, they were quick to find another solution and make sure everything went smoothly.

The San Blas islands are absolutely breathtaking, and Paul and Daniela know all the best spots to take guests. We went snorkeling each day in different reefs, saw dolphins, relaxed and explored islands we had all to ourselves, and learned a little about sailing too. (Plus like others have mentioned, the food they made for us was molto bene!)

Paul and Daniela are very friendly and welcoming, and have some amazing (and entertaining) stories to share. We enjoyed getting to hear about their various experiences sailing around the world. Their kindness and generosity has also helped them establish a good relationship with other sailors and the local Guna Yala people. We feel so lucky to have been able to see how people live in San Blas and to learn a little about Guna culture on our trip, and it would not have been the same without Paul and Daniela.

We are so glad we booked with Paul and Daniela. They went above and beyond for us to make sure this was a trip to remember, and it definitely was. I don’t know how we’ll ever top this experience! We’ll just have to come back. :)

Date of stay: June 2022
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HappyHenk...
Accrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2022 for a stay in April 2022

We absolutely loved our San Blas experience, the islands are super beautiful and it felt such a privilege to meet the indigenous people and see how they live. Paul and Daniella took great care of us, keeping us topped up with food, sparkling water, beer and coffee and taking us to the reefs and beauty spots. Daniella is an incredible Italian chef and the food was super yummy, comforting and plentiful. It was fun to take the wheel and learn bits about sailing from Paul and to just fully unwind. The boat is impressively self sufficient and was spacious enough for the 4 of us. We would absolutely return to San Blas and would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
554riazr
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Truly Special Experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2022 for a stay in March 2022

Our experience on Play To Live with Paul and Dani, was unforgettable. We have been blessed to find such a personalised experience from start to finish.

We stayed for 3 nights and 3 days. Each day was filled with both activity and relaxation. Paul was a brilliant sailor, and made us feel comfortable learning the ropes - literally! Daniella was warm, her cooking was unparralelled (shes an Italian chef!) and we wished we stayed longer to hear their amazing sailing stories!

The boat itself was comfortable with hot showers. Plenty of space and privacy for a couple or trio! Our highlights were learning how to sail with Paul, swimming/snorkelling, learning how to make fresh egg pasta with Dani and of course enjoying the spectacular San Blas islands!

We had never experienced sailing before this trip, and now we want to go again! Thank you guys, and im sure we will cross paths again in the future!

Date of stay: March 2022
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maria M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome people, beautiful archipelago”
Reviewed January 31, 2020 for a stay in January 2020

Paul and Daniella are great people and they make an amazing team. It would take me all day to go on about all the ways they went above and beyond expectations for our family. They are both excellent cooks. They were fun and very playful with our kids who are 8 & 10. Paul likes it if you can write a song about him while you're there. Ha ha.
Paul is happy to teach how to sail. They are very knowledgeable about the area and people.
They have hot water showers! This is amazing. The boat is very comfortable. They also have excellent tasting drinking water.
We had a great mix of relaxation, snorkeling, wandering on islands, meeting local people and sailing. And lots of eating their very good food. They also took us on a trip up the river where the local people grow bananas and coconuts and get their drinking water.
If you have a chance to go to the Guna Yala, book your trip with Paul and Daniella. You'll be so glad that you did.

Date of stay: January 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trek71877...
1 review
“Fabulous sailing adventure in San Blas Islands!”
Reviewed December 17, 2019 for a stay in December 2019

Our four days on Play to Live were nothing short of fantastic. Our hosts Paul and Dani went out of their way to share places and experiences in the San Blas that only “insiders”, who have lived there for years, could know. They took us to great snorkeling and beaches and to a small island where we met their Kuna friends who are rarely visited by outsiders. There we were fortunate to see and learn about how the Kuna live and buy beautiful Molas from the elderly woman who created them. On another day we explored the Diablo River in their motor dingy, and saw monkeys, many different types of birds, iguanas and a crocodile. Since we’re professional photographers, this was a highlight of our trip. We came home with many great images of wildlife, dramatic sunsets, and beautiful islands, and Kuna people and culture.

Dani cooked delicious food and taught us to make traditional Italian pizza. Paul played a delightful variety of great music and we enjoyed our conversations about Panama, travel, movies, the space shuttle (which was visible on two evenings) and much more. Play to Live is a beautiful, comfortable boat which we delighted in helping to sail. In summary, we made wonderful new friends with Paul and Dani, and had an amazing experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed April 6, 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

In the 12 days I spent in Panama, my two days with Paul and Dani in San Blas were the absolute highlight of our trip. From the time we booked with them- Paul was in close communication about logistics and planning. We had countless new experiences and adventures from learning to sail, catching mackerel for lunch, having islands to ourselves, snorkeling the gorgeous reefs of San Blas, eating DELICIOUS Italian food; all of which made for a trip of a lifetime. Paul and Dani went above and beyond with their communication, hospitality, delicious meals, and in reminding us that to live is to play and to play is to live! Their warmth and fun dynamic as a couple made us feel like we had known them our whole lives. When booking with this awesome couple- I advise you to trust the process. Paul and Dani have a seamless system down and go above and beyond to ensure everything is smooth. I already miss San Blas so much and I hope we can do it again soon!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.