We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Elegant & spacious accommodation with home...”

Review of Harbour Place

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Almost 150 sq metres of luxury.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Almost 150 sq metres of luxury.
The state of the art kitchen with open-planned dining.
The views from the front patio are hard to beat!
Beautiful ocean views from almost every window.
The master bedroom.
The iconic harbour lighthouses in Kalk Bay harbour.
Nespresso on the house.
The Silvermine hiking trail behind the apartment with its wide variety of fynbos and proteas.
Wifi is free and fast.
The deck offers one of the best views in Kalk Bay.
The upmarket Majestic Village is a cluster of refurbished historic buildings in a secure complex.
Guests of Harbour Place can enjoy the sparkling private pool just metres from the apartment.
Top view of the apartment building.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kalk Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karl R
New York City, New York
1 review
“Elegant & spacious accommodation with home comforts and harbor views”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I know Cape Town well. After a long, brutally cold winter I needed a vacation destination far removed from the mania of New York's city life but which still offered the comforts and amenities of restaurants and shops and -- not having a car -- access to the railway. I chose to stay in Kalk Bay. It's a seaside village that, at face value, is in perpetual slumber. Situated between the surfer's paradise of Muizenberg and the family friendly resort town of Vishoek, Kalk Bay is nestled between mountain slopes and a small fishing harbor. Take a stroll along the harbor jetty to take in the salty sea air, feed the gulls or simply savor the sunset over False Bay. Choose between four harbor restaurants -- from outside benches to fine dining -- to taste the catch of the day. Walking along Kalk Bay's main drag, I'm put in mind of the laid back bohemian vibe of an artsy Brooklyn enclave. The row of galleries and antique shops are interspersed with eateries ranging from that perfect morning cappuccino and eggs benedict at The Olympia Café to The Brass Bell, a relaxed, friendly late night watering hole overlooking the sea. And centrally located in the midst of it all is Harbour Place. This two-bedroom, two-bath apartment may be on the ground floor but, wow, it's a quiet and secure oasis. Coming from New York -- the capital of tiny apartments -- the first thing that struck me was its airy spaciousness and high ceilings. This is a well-built historic building: the thick walls close out noise and keep in the coolness. Two of us stayed here earlier this year but Harbour House can easily accommodate a family. With its open plan well-equipped kitchen, long dining table and patio BBQ, it's also a great place to entertain friends. But, above all, Harbour Place feels like home from home. You can’t wait to crash on the massive pillowy bed in the master bedroom every night. Wake up mornings to a perfectly brewed cuppa from the Nespresso machine. And in the late afternoons, there's nothing better than to sit in the cushioned bay window with a good book.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizevRens...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Harbour Place - c'est la vie!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Perfectly situated in the quint town of Kalk Bay, Harbour Place, offers the most amazing holiday facility for a wonderful weekend away. The décor and luxurious interiors makes one's heart skip a beat. The apartment is super clean, spacious and aesthetically appealing. The "little extras" made our weekend very pleasant; a welcoming gift, fresh milk in the fridge and the facility of a Nespresso coffee machine was a wonderful surprize. All the restaurants, shops and entertainment are walking distance from Harbour Place. The security is top notch and very helpful.

Definitely a weekend I think about ever so often. Wish we could go back in time, hear the waves break and watch the sun set on the beautiful “stoep”. Harbour Place is the perfect holiday destination!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiksona
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
“Exquisite, scenic, superbly located, well equipped seaside apartment”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Right from the start all was very well organised: the reservation went without a hic-up, and we had a friendly reception on site, and were shown to the apartment.
The apartment were very spacious, and stylishly furnished.
The location & amenities were superb. The walks on the piers are a must! Too many exquisite eateries to choose from. And with a world famous bakery right across the street.
We liked best the privacy and scenic location, and we like least the fact that the four days we spent there, were too little.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The superb scenery and location.
Liked least: Stay too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erasmus20...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Position position position!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent 3 nights in Harbour Place for my mom's 74th birthday. The apartment has a window seat that looks straight onto Olympia Café. The scenery is constantly changing. From the raised deck you have the most spectacular views. Within walking distance from everything you need. Well-appointed apartment with divine beds. An absolute treat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6510Jol
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing home away from home”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2013

My daughter and I had the good fortune to spend a week at Harbour Place and what a beautiful holiday home. Not only is the view stunning, and the town old and funky, the restaurants are welcoming and the food is great. If you dont want to go out to eat, everything you need is there. The house is conforting in every way and we loved making coffee in the morning and sitting on the balcony watching Kalk Bay wake up, before we embarked on that days adventures. We explored every little corner of the town and spent many hours on the pier watching the seal family that live in the harbour. We can't wait to get the opportunity to go back.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Places2go...
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Pretty as a picture”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Harbour Place is definitely on the top of my list when I return to Kalkbay. Not only is it ideally situated, with a view to die for and all the creature comforts you can wish for, it really is a home away from home. Enjoying our complimentary bottle of wine, the beautiful view across the harbour and watching life in "Kalkies" pass us bye on the first evening set the tone for an awesome weekend. The Nespresso machine in the apartment and the convenient Olympia Bakery on the corner is what dreams are made off.
Zelda's recommendations is spot-on and i will suggest you try to do as many as possible. We had so much fun discovering the places she described, alas ... we could not get to them all as our stay was only 3 days. So if i can recommend anything, try and stay for a minimum of 7 days. Harbour Place is very well situated and most of Cape Town's attractions is conveniently situated from there.
My stay at Harbour Place really made my trip super special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, security, convenience
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing