We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Heavenly Holiday!”
Review of Hotel Azure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Azure
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Heavenly Holiday!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here while skiing at Sierra at Tahoe and had a wonderful time. Just across the road from beautiful Lake Tahoe, the hotel room was very comfortable. It was a short walk to Safeways supmarket, where the staff were friendly, helpful and obviously took pride in their work. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and I can personally recommend MacDuffs, where wonderful fresh food is served - it is reported that the only thing they use from the freezer is ice cream! They have a real pizza oven which is put to good use! Only a few minutes' drive from the hotel is the ski resort of Heavenly, with a lovely open air ice skating rink, a good selection of shops and a Hard Rock Cafe. A heavenly place to be, winter or summer!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We could not agree more, Lake Tahoe and in particular Inn by the Lake is a "Heavenly" place to be winter or summer. As we leave another winter behind, we are preparing for summer. We have already had some very warm spring days and our grounds are recovering fast from some of the storms we experienced. More hiking trails will be open early this year due to the limited snow fall. Come up to Tahoe soon to see what we really mean by the Great Outdoors.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    296
    136
    62
    32
See reviews for
267
354
29
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I kicked of my Spring Break trips with a visit to South Lake Tahoe this past February. This property was perfect for a Ski weekend. Located just minutes from Heavenly mountain, it was so easy to pick up our Skis and equipment and hit the slopes. I came here with friends, but would recommend to any and all types of travelers. We saw families, couples, groups, business travelers, etc. The decor is more of a lodge-like feel which was nice and cozy during the cool nights. The view of the Lake from the front of the property is spectacular! And the service here was amazing. Some amenities include a nice pool, hot tub, and sauna which is perfect after a full day of skiing. There is even a bowling alley and bar with pizza which was convenient and entertaining for our group. I look forward to my next visit here and will definitely come back to the Inn by the Lake!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the north have a great view of the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the various amenities offered. Tucked away in a corner of our property, Tahoe Bowl has been hosting visitors and locals for over 50 years. We have made numerous improvements to the interior, including new lanes and a computerized scoring system, in recent years. There always seems to be one in a group or family that professes"I don's bowl." And then, 15 minutes into the first game they have captured the spirit of sport for all ages.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just a few minutes' drive from the resort of Heavenly, the Inn by the Lake is an ideal place to stay for skiers, snowboarders and those who love lakes and mountains. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped with fridge and microwave. A hot tub and small swimming pool outside can help to soothe aching muscles. I can thoroughly recommend MacDuffs, just a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel, which serves excellent food prepared on the premises. For those who want to self-cater, a Safeway supermarket is about five minutes' walk away. The staff really impressed me with their friendliness, helpfulness and the pride they take in their work. This was my third visit to the Inn by the Lake and I have had yet another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side as Lake Tahoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 457SharonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your very kind words about our property, location and our staff. Your comments about the excellence of Mac Duff's and the convenience of Safeway will be very helpful to future visitors. Incidentally, special discounts are available on our lake view rooms through May. Early booking discounts are currently available mid-week through June. Plan early and save later.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Visited the hotel during the labor day weekend of 2011.. The hotel is conveniently located and faces the lake.. But they have very very few rooms that actually face the lake.. We somehow expected to atleast have a decent view from our room, but ended up getting a view of the dumpster and parking lot from our patio.. The room was dark and slightly outdated, the amenities were great..
The staff is extremely friendly and guide you with all the activities that can be done there. They arranged for an evening BBQ and we could watch the fireworks right from the front porch of the property.. On the whole, a nice budget getaway but not really a great resort experience...

Room Tip: Do specifically ask for a lake facing property else you might not be allocated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sindhuja_raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Actually, about 60% of our units have full or partial lake views. We only market our full view units as lake view. You will note on our website that all other units carry the designation property view. Please also keep in mind that we are located on over 5 acres and the lake can be viewed from our lobby, fitness room, club room, event center and restaurant. We also appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and the value we offer.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I am booked to stay at Inn by the Lake for 16 days over xmas and new year of 2011 / 12.
This will be my third time staying at this hotel for a snowboarding holiday and my fifth time in South Lake Tahoe.
I booked it through www.americanskiclassics.com (UK based) again as it was the most competitive price for a hotel of a good standard in South Lake Tahoe. There are many other options but this is my favourite based on past experience, cost and location.
We asked for our upcoming holiday if there was any chance of a free upgrade to one of the larger rooms at the back of the hotel as last time our room which was perfectly fine was under a large pine tree which would drop pine cones onto our roof in the middle of the night. This was arranged and we are looking forward to the extra space and being right next to the hot tub.

Main Points:
Staff were very attentive and friendly.
Room well looked after by housekeeping.
Bus service prompt and friendly too.
Big comfortable beds.
Free Wifi.
Fantastic view of the lake
Great value for money
Pub a couple of minutes walk away.
Bowling Alley with great pizza which you can take away virtually on doorstep.
Great Hot Tub and pool - I dont stay anywhere without a hot tub on a winter holiday, this one is very good.

We had breakfast in the Big Bear most mornings as it is next door admiring the views of the lake.

All in all a great place to stay, it is not a 5 star hotel but you are not paying for 5 star.Location wise you need use the free bus which picks you up at the front door or drive to get around. It is not in the centre of town but I have never found that to be an issue. Taxis are cheap if you really need one and as the town has casinos they are always available.

PS
In the UK they have commercials / adverts on TV to encourage visits to California, one of the spots they feature is Emerald Bay. Go there on a clear day and take your camera. It is stunning. You will see what I mean.

Room Tip: Rooms near the hot tub are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
This is a very helpful review for visitors considering Lake Tahoe and the INN. We continue to be mindful of the current economy by offering great value. We look forward to welcoming you back to Inn by the Lake.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Nice, comfortable room with a fantastic view of the lake. Friendly staff. Beautiful landscaping around the pool and hot tub. Walking distance to a bowling alley with great pizza and another restaurant for all meals. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for view. We had a 2 bedroom suite so we could visit more with the other couple we only see onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you so much for your post. You raise several seldom mentioned points. The South Shore is often marketed by our visitors authority as where the action is - which is true. However, our property with it's mid-town location is also a great place to kick back and relax. Check our our immediate neighborhood on our web site for restaurants and activities you can walk too. Our two-bedroom, two-bath suites are ideal for families and/or two couples. Thank you again for sharing and come back and see us again soon.
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pablo, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our stay was short but the staff was great and the room was very comfortable. Would stay again if in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmchael, General Manager at Hotel Azure, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you so much. What could be more important then the staff!
Best Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.4 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.5 km away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#7 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.5 km away
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly
#1 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#9 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
2.9 km away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#10 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
2.7 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azure

Property: Hotel Azure
Address: 3300 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7907 (Formerly Inn by the Lake)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azure 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Azure has undergone an extensive remodel to elevate your stay during your next trip to South Lake Tahoe. Conveniently located across the street from Lake Tahoe's El Dorado Beach, a few minutes away from Heavenly Mountain and providing easy access to all that Tahoe has to offer there is something for everyone at Hotel Azure. We have a fully equipped fitness room, sauna, outdoor swimming pool (seasonal)and bi-level spa. Enjoy our family fun center, Tahoe Bowl - featuring Blue Dog Gourmet Pizza and Lane 17 Sports Bar. Bear Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner for your family dining pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Lake Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Hotel By The Lake
By The Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing