We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
145
8
3
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
8
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beanswonderful hostsour honeymoonplace to stayhot tubcomfortable bedstayed nightsfireplacecozyweddinghikingsummerlodging
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 165 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a superb bed and breakfast which is a delightful retreat from the general crowds and chaos of South Lake Tahoe. There are several lodge rooms and three or four cottages. We again stayed in the same cottage we did several years ago and it was as enjoyable and peaceful now as it was then. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate, and the included breakfasts are creative, healthy and delicious. This is the best bed and breakfast we have stayed at in the U.S.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lysippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this bed and breakfastfor two nights.The owners were very friendly and helpful after our late arrival after a flight delay..We stayed in the main lodge.It was decorated like a rustic western cabin.the grounds were beautiful.breakfast was excellent..

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor which in the lodge with a view of the gardens
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebelwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent some time at the lake and rented a huge suite at the Black Bear Inn which was a short drive from the lake.
Amazing guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trshacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at this great place for our honeymoon week and it definitely lived up to all the very positive reviews. It was the tail end of the ski season and was not crowded at all. Because of this, Jerry gave us the option of an upgrade to a cabin from one of the lodge rooms. Every morning at breakfast we were greeted to a fire, nice music, and great food. At times, we were even brought cheese and juice (substitute wine if you drink!) in the afternoon. The cabin was cozy and very warm, especially when the fire was going! The hot tub is set to the side of the lot with a roof and is mostly enclosed and very relaxing. They also have an ever-expanding dvd collection you can borrow from (unlimited amount). This was an amazing, romantic retreat. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Off-setting properties are hardly noticeable and were quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We chose where to stay on Lake Tahoe solely on the basis of other reviews and we were not disappointed.
The Black Bear Inn is simply the best accomodation in the area by far!
Our room, Fallen Leaf, was very well appointed and immaculately clean. The restaurant and lounge were beautiful and had a great atmosphere. We loved cheese and wine by the fire in the main lodge. Breakfast and dinner were delicious.
Everyone working at the Black Bear Inn was incredibly helpful and accomodating. We were made to feel welcome all through our stay. Warm and professional at the same time. This place is definitely special.
As for skiing, Heavenly Resort is just a five minute ride on the shuttle, which stops just outside the Black Bear Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacob_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews