We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
145
8
3
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
8
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beanswonderful hostsour honeymoonplace to stayhot tubcomfortable bedstayed nightsfireplacecozyweddinghikingsummerlodging
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 165 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2008

The Black Bear Inn is a fantastic B&B that I would HIGHLY recommend for anyone that loves a beautiful room, wonderful food and fantastic hosts. We were married at the Black Bear over Thanksgiving and had the most perfect time. Jerry performed the ceremony, while Kevin took great pictures. Jerry and Kevin prepared outstanding breakfasts each day as well as a great Thanksgiving dinner. Georgette was very nice and extremely helpful with making dinner reservations for us and always had a smile for us, along with the wine and cheese plate each night at 5. The entire staff was very accomodating and took care of any need with ease. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return for many anniversaries to come.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJS1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We loved our three night stay at the Black Bear Inn and won't stay anywhere else when we go to Tahoe. We stayed in the Black Bart room and found Jerry and Kevin to be delightful hosts.

Upon our arrival Jerry told us about the wine and cheese that would be served from 5-6 in the main lodge. What an understatement - what he didn't tell us was that we would be experiencing a variety of cheeses, chilled shrimp, pickles, olives, etc. -- they even put out dalmas one night -- what a spread!

In addition to being gracious hosts, Jerry and Kevin are excellent cooks and we were treated with gourmet breakfasts each morning.

We met some wonderful people during our stay and would recommend the Black Bear Inn to anyone going to Tahoe.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at Black Bear Inn August 8-11, 2008. What an absolutely perfect get-away from the hot August days of summer in Texas. From the moment we arrived until our too-soon departure, all was exactly as we had hoped. The breakfast each morning was not only to-die-for but picture perfect too! And the wine and hors d'oeuvres gathering in the afternoon was a wonderful way to end the day in beautiful Lake Tahoe. The restaurant recommendations for dinner each night (we chose Cafe Fiore', Mirabelle and Evan's) were all 5-star, each different in atmosphere but all delightful and delicious. The location of the Inn is convenient to many activities, a short walk or drive, but is in a secluded area away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets. We stayed in one of the cabins and felt like we were in our own private antique-furnished cabin in the woods. We also toured the rooms in the lodge which were equally tranquil and beautifully furnished in antiques. Jerry, Kevin and their staff strive to make their guests feel at home and they truly succeed. We will definitely visit Black Bear Inn again....and again and again.

Athens TX

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanksTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2008

A small group of us stayed in the cabins Sept 18-21, 2008. The trip and accomodations could not have been better. The breakfast alone is worth the trip. Kevin & Jerry go out of their way to make certain everything is as perfect as it can be. Will most certainly return to Lake Tahoe and without a doubt stay at the Black Bear Inn again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Harper725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed at the Black Bear Inn in last weekend and I can say, without a doubt, this was one of the most wonderful experiences we've had while travelling. Jerry and Kevin, the innkeepers, have created a beautiful oasis in South Lake Tahoe that, in my opinion, rivals some of the best hotels in this country. The Inn and rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques and everything was spotless. We stayed in the Fallen Leaf room which has a small balcony overlooking the beautifully manicured grounds. The bathroom was large & well equipped. The room had a large television and a DVD player - you can choose from what appears to be over 100 DVD's from their library to watch during your stay.
The evening wine & appetizer hour allowed us to meet the other guests each evening - we looked forward to returning to the Inn each evening simply for the company! It was like coming home to see family (ok, better than family) after a day of sight seeing. The breakfasts each morning are incredibly delicious - served on china with beautiful table linens. I highly recommend buying their cookbook as you will want to recreate these meals at home - they were THAT good.
The attention to detail at this Inn is top notch. Every detail has been thought of you and you are made to feel like you are a very special guest. You really do need to experience it first hand to realize what a gem this is. We will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2008
Thank CottageGirlUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews