We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
145
8
3
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
8
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beanswonderful hostsour honeymoonplace to stayhot tubcomfortable bedstayed nightsfireplacecozyweddinghikingsummerlodging
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 165 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

The owner is super nice and the place is lush. The cabins are huge and have a kitchen area, lounge and an enormous bathroom. Well worth the bucks. Super close to Heavenly. Includes breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. Do this now. Great for weddings as well. Just a swell laid back vibe.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016

Great service- friendly, personal, and always ready to help with directions and suggestions for the Tahoe area. The owners are on property and clearly take great pride in their business. It might be a B&B but the appointments are as nice as a resort. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins located on the property, romantic and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2015

This is the 3rd time we've stayed at Black Bear Inn, 2nd time in the Snowshoe Thompson Cabin which is about the best ski area accommodation for 2 imaginable. It has a very comfortable bed, large bathroom including a whirlpool tub, and a gorgeous high-ceilinged living room. The gas fireplace warms up the room (and dries out the gloves) in a hurry. The hosts are friendly and professional, with breakfasts by Kevin being especially good. It is, however, time to upgrade the TVs to HD. Being older and somewhat out of shape, having breakfast served when the lifts open was not a negative but seems on the late side for a place a few blocks away from a major ski area.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

We celebrated my wife's 40th birthday in Lake Tahoe and were lucky enough to chose the Black Bear Inn. The entire experience here was fantastic - Kevin and Jerry, the room, the location, afternoon wine and cheese, and the breakfast. This has to be the best breakfast in Lake Tahoe!

Jerry and Kevin have a wonderful place here with a lot of great stories. I will be going back, I'm just looking for a reason and a time.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015

"On the road with Brent and Kelley" we are very fortunate to find great accommodations in the many destination locations we visit with my work in central northern California.
Jerry and Kevin will definitely make you feel like your visiting friends and family . The Inn is detailed with warm wood and incredible stone work. Morning coffee and breakfast are OUTSTANDING. I love breakfast and this might have been one of the best breakfasts i have ever had. Unbelievable as it sounds a black bear mother with 2 cubs where on the property drinking from the fountain , napping a top a tall pine tree and departed that night. When i mentioned i liked biscuits and gravy Jerry popped in the kitchen and brought out * the BEST biscuits with sausage gravy I have ever had. So book it next time you head up to South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: The Cabins will provide privacy the main Inn will make you feel like home
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews