We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
145
8
3
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
8
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack beanswonderful hostsour honeymoonplace to stayhot tubcomfortable bedstayed nightsfireplacecozyweddinghikingsummerlodging
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 165 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2016

Only had one night to stay but it was wonderful! Our "room" was a cottage that had a small kitchenette. Cozy and warmed by a stone fireplace. Outside was a stone fountain that had such a lovely sound that we left the window open overnight to hear it.

The cabins are arranged on the property for good privacy. There is a very short outdoor walk along paved path to the main lodge for food. You may request breakfast delivered to your cabin. No sundries shop on site. But, branded shirts and small items are available.

The wine and cheese hour was simple and satisfying. We sipped and admired the beautiful garden from the large "lodge" main building.

Breakfast was most amazing! Eggs benedict done to perfection! Poached cinnamon pear and asparagus wrapped in prosciutto on the side. Fresh fruit smoothie. Wonderful coffee.

We highly recommend Black Bear Inn!

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front of the lodge are noisier as they face the street.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Black Bear Inn. Our cabin was very nice and comfortable with everything you need. In the main house, they served breakfast every morning and had wine and cheese available every evening. The owners take great pride in their establishment and it shows. I would highly recommend the Black Bear Inn for a beautiful, elegant, rustic place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christi1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black_Bear_Tahoe, Owner at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Thanks so much for your comments. We really enjoyed our breakfast conversations and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Having stayed once before at the Black Bear Inn, I had in mind what an enchanting place it would be for a wedding! Thinking about our daughter's weekend nuptials, I can tell you it was everything we hoped for and more! Our wedding party of nine took over all the rear cabins which included the Sutter Cabin, which was a perfect and roomy place for all of us to gather, and the gorgeous honeymoon cabin. Jerry & Kevin; the owners, are the most gracious hosts. Jerry officiated the ceremony in the main lodge before a roaring fire. If you are seeking a beautiful and intimate site for a small wedding this is it....The Black Bear also provides many stunning backdrops for gorgeous photos. Breakfast each morning was a sumptuous treat prepared with great finesse and skill. Even the members in our group with dietary needs felt every bit as pampered as the rest of us. We can't thank Jerry & Kevin enough for giving us all a perfect wedding experience we will always remember. I know we all look forward to returning for future family celebrations!

Room Tip: The rear Cabins are all beautiful!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2016

We just got back from an awesome, relaxing 4 day weekend at The Black Bear Inn. Here are my favorite parts of my stay: the fireplace in our room, having early morning coffee in the Grand Room while on my computer (free wifi), the incredibly scrumptious breakfasts, great wine & cheese every evening and great conversations with Jerry and Kevin (the owners)! I just can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reymund Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

The owner is super nice and the place is lush. The cabins are huge and have a kitchen area, lounge and an enormous bathroom. Well worth the bucks. Super close to Heavenly. Includes breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening. Do this now. Great for weddings as well. Just a swell laid back vibe.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews