We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hollySalisbury
Salisbury, United Kingdom

Very relaxing overnight stop with a lovely room and great food.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 22, 2023
We stayed overnight en route St Malo and the south and the hotel makes an ideal overnight stop or stay for a few days and explore the atlantic coast whilst having a quiet bolthole. And it was very quiet - 17 rooms, one other set of guests. The hotel looked a little unloved when we drove in, but we were early in the season and it would seem that the owners are working hard to make improvements. The location is a delight overlooking a small lake with a very pleasant walk around and into woodland. There is a large children's play area. We think the lake and play area are municipal owned but fully accessible, with a place for coffee half way round the lake. The pool wasn't open. Our first floor room overlooked the lake and was recently upgraded with a large walk in shower and double basins open plan to the room and a separate loo. A decent size balcony as shown in the picture. Real coffee in the room. The lounge area was small and in need of an update but the dining room was lovely - high ceiling and lots of glass with a great view over the gardens to the lake. Personnel were friendly and professional and with good enough english if one has very little french. There was an english menu. The highlight of the stay was the food - dinner was very good - sophisticated, beautifully cooked and presented, worth going back for; continental breakfast next morning was very fresh. Ample free parking
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: First floor rooms have a private balcony and a better view.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
  • Agoda.com
14.7 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$289
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    C$108
  • Agoda.com
4.2 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Site
  • Vio.com
    C$151
  • Priceline
    C$155
4.5 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
Free parking
Chambre familiale
C$113
C$110
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$113
  • Priceline
    C$110
5.4 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
Chambre triple
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$102
  • Expedia.com
    C$102
5.5 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$111
  • Priceline
    C$126
5.9 km from Hotel The Originals Les Jardins du Lac
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Trizay
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
166
67
22
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
166
67
22
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 260 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Just got back after a visit to this property, which I believe is under new ownership and/or management, knowing nothing about the property beforehand.

We booked for three nights, and stayed for 6 nights. That says it all, really.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 155Roger1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful getaway and I miss it already. Our bedroom was on the ground floor with a private patio area from which you could walk straight out to circuit the lake. Beautiful gardens, cycle paths and food. The atmosphere was peaceful and I really didn't want to leave.
The bathroom layout was a little odd, and I can't comment on the spa (no time to try). Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Hotel had nice rooms and setting but WiFi didn't seem active. Room was a little pricey €150 (excluding breakfast) as was the restaurant food, given the limited selections available.

Im my menu I chose a main course chicken dish which turned out to be a third of a chicken breast accompanied by an assortment of onions prepared in various ways. That was a €40 menu. Not exactly interesting or good value.

An a la carte lobster starter seemed to consist of a few things slices of lobster tail spread around a plate for €32 on its own.

Wasted half a day as the hotel didn't reply to our enquiries re a Sunday evening meal hence we arrived for the lunch only to find that an evening meal was in fact available.

We asked if we could have an evening snack to be told we could only choose from the same lunch menu. As an example a steak was €38!

Would love to come back but despite friendly staff, the overall service and value for money was lacking on this occasion.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

A very nice peaceful hotel overlooking a lake, all rooms appear to have balconies and large windows (although we could not open ours!). The room was spacious, with lots of storage space, a good size bathroom, safe, frig etc.
Lots of outside space to sit and enjoy the ambience.
We had a superb dinner, lots of choice, beautifully presented and excellent flavours.
The hotel is family run by two generations and a toddler also getting into the swing of hotel work!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 16, 2018

Very secluded situation overlooking a large lake, with terrace surrounding hotel and in particular the restaurant. Room very comfortable with large bathroom and separate toilet. Room had access to terrace and pool. Evening meal very good and range of food available. Large wine list. Lakeside walk very suitable for dog walk - but border terriers have a penchant for chasing ducks - so watch out ducks. Board walk into surrounding countryside gives a good 1 hour walk.

Room tip: Ground floor room with terrace and view of lake and access pool and entry to hotel
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterTCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews