We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feeling at home in Switzerland”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge, reading area with TV.  Top Floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge, reading area with TV.  Top Floor
Lounge area with sofabed.  Top Floor Soft furnishing in lounge.  Top Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Lounge, reading area with TV.  Top Floor
Lounge area with sofabed.  Top Floor
Soft furnishing in lounge.  Top Floor
TV lounge area, also turns into large sofabed. Top Floor
Beautiful triple bedroom. Top Floor
Beautiful triple bedroom. Top Floor
Comfortable Double Bedroom.  Wardrobe, chair, bedside table. Top Floor
Brand New Family Bathroom. Top Floor
Original wood exposure.  Family Bathroom.  Top Floor
Hallway to Stairwell.   Top Floor
Top Floor Landing
Top Floor Landing
Stairwell to 1st Floor
Old School Ski Decor
View from spacious balcony.  1st Floor
Hallway. 1st Floor
Dining Room.  Comfortable seating for 12.  1st Floor
Dining Room Decor 1st Floor
Adult Bunk Beds, wardrobe, chest of drawers and mirror 1st Floor
Traditional Triple Bedroom 1st Floor
Large Family Bathroom.  1st Floor
Fully equipped kitchen set up for 12 guests.  1st Floor
Entrance to house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matten bei Interlaken, Interlaken, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oldsurfer...
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feeling at home in Switzerland”
Reviewed 12 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our group rented the apartment for one week in late August 2017. There was four of us and our wive's main concern was each couple having a bathroom. That is why an apartment that sleeps 12 was rented by four people.
The location of the apartment near the Interlachen Ost (east) train station was a criteria for booking. Based on previous trips to Switzerland that train station is very central and allows direct access to the Laterbrunnen (sp) Valley. That valley is the home to some of the more spectacular mountains in Switzerland and some of the most beautiful mountain villages to explore. From this site you can also access the lake steamers that take you around Lake Brienz and Lake Thun. The steamers stop a various little villages around each lake and makes for an easy half day or day trip. If you are using Swiss rail passes the town of Spiez is just to the west and offers the most direct train service into Italy or Western Switzerland.
The Interlachen Ost station offers the most efficient train service to Luzern in this region. I have stayed in this general area before and since we are not renting a car we use the Swiss rail pass. We spring for the first class ticket and find that traveling by train in Switzerland is the most efficient form of travel and the Interlachen Ost station was the most effective place to start our travel based on our plans.
Upon arrival at the apartment we were greeted by Juliet F., the owner/manager, who was very helpful during our entire stay. My wife commented upon exploring the apartment that it was spotless and I would have to concur that it was very well maintained and very clean.
The apartment itself is situated on the second and third floors of a house and are accessed by stairs. A door at the beginning of the stairs separates the apartment from the first floor. The second floor consists of two bedrooms, kitchen, very large dining room and a covered patio that seats four to five people very comfortably. The patio offers very nice mountain views. The host ask that you do not sit outside and talk after ten at night because it will disturb the neighbors. We never found that to be a problem.
The third floor also has two bedrooms and a living room. There is a full bathroom on both the second and third floors.
The apartment's configuration worked out great for us because each couple had their own floor and bathroom, but we would congregate for meals or general relaxation on the covered patio located on the second floor.
The apartment does not have air conditioning, but the nights usually cool off sufficiently to have a comfortable sleep. During the day we were usually out so air conditioning was not necessary.
Inside the apartment the manager had left instructions on sites to see and the closest shopping and restaurants.
A coop store is approximately two blocks away and is usually open to 8 at night. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. The restaurant Latern we found to be one of the best and was approximately one block away.
The walk to the train station was approximately 15 to 20 minutes and the manager supplied directions prior to checkin. We used a taxi to take our bags from the station to the apartment initially, but did not use one again except to transport our bags to the station upon leaving. We found a small short cut to the train station early on in our visit and our walks to the train station were taking 12 minutes. Because of the rains necessary gear are umbrellas and//or rain gear. The manager had provided umbrellas for the occupants use.

Each couple found the apartment to be exactly what we hoped it would be and our friends are planning to rent it for another trip next year with their siblings.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurjinder...
1 review
“Switzerland”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Such a lovely apartment . Excellent location in the centre of 2 beautiful lakes. One week was definitely not enough. Coming back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inge_cran...
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have recently returned from a week in Interlaken. We stayed at Mountain View with 2 of our daughters a son in law and 2 grandchildren. The house was spacious and we could all 'get away from each other' occasionally. The dining room had a large table that we all sat at to eat meals and share the highs and lows of the day - there weren't many lows!!! The cars were parked on the drive and we spent the whole week on train, boats, cable cars, cog railways etc - using our Swiss Passes. Dave was very helpful when we had no light in the kitchen and spraying the wasps nest on the balcony. Would i stay there again - YES.Thank you Juliet for renting us our property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashmiSuy...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect location.
Perfect house, very well kept.
Very thoughtful owner.
Took care of everything.
Will visit again..

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverfox...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Large clean apartment with excellent views of Swiss Alps. We had a comfortable stay. Apartment met our expectations. Pleasant and helpful owner.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieteF
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$415
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing