We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de la Marine
Ranked #1 of 3 Wimille B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I had always wanted to stay at a chateau. We failed last time because the once we tried were on the Loire and for us, were prohibitively expensive. When I booked this I was pretty excited because the pictures made it look pretty special, however I have been travelling long enough to know how deceptive hotel pictures can be. in this case the pictures are an accurate reflection of the magnificence of the place. Guy and Catherine were excellent hosts and we felt very special staying there. it is a stay I will long remember and look forward to returning to (perhaps on the way back!)

Room Tip: Our room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ted49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

This charming house, high on a hill behind Wimereux, is run by a lovely French couple, aided by their three adult sons. Our room, overlooking the garden, was comfortable and had everything we needed, including coffee making machine. We were made very welcome. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, but all will be quiet and I'm sure, all as lovely as ours, which overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Like others here, we only stayed one night the first time.. but we will definitely be returning. This is such a charming place, with the most charming hosts one could hope for. The rooms are huge and very well appointed. One or two have a rather distant and partial sea view but that's better than none. The night we stayed the weather was awful - howling winds gusting up to around 40 mph/64kmh and occasional bouts of torrential rain. The atmosphere staying in a place like this on such a night is indescribable but if you've ever wanted to sleep on the set of a horror film... :) The bed was very comfortable and we both got an excellent night's sleep. Going out onto the balcony in between the rain showers and looking out over the grounds, with the trees swaying (a lot!) was an experience.

This is a small establishment - just four guest rooms - and the breakfast/dining room is sized accordingly. The breakfast was excellent, all the ingredients being of high quality and a surprising breadth of choice, given the small number of guests. Real maple syrup is something I've rarely seen available at breakfast, even in some very expensive establishments. Then came the surprise - expecting a traditional French petit dejeuner, we were offered cooked eggs. Perfect poached eggs duly arrived.

There is a lounge - actually more of a reading room - with, in season, a roaring log fire and deep upholstered armchairs that you can lose yourself and your book in.

Next time, we will book for Friday night when Guy and Catherine cook dinner for their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Low_Light_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful experience staying in this marvellous chateau is! We were met by Guy - the owner - who showed us to our beautiful rooms. One with a balcony and a sea view. The chateau is a grand 19th century residence. The chapel is now the house's kitchen. Being a Friday night Guy and Catherine cooked a delicious meal for us which was served in the most elegant of dining rooms. Aperitifs had previously been served with delightful amuse bouche. Each course was served with an excellent wine. After a good night's sleep a decadent breakfast set us up for the day. Thank you Guy and Catherine. I hope we'll return soon!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anna Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We only stayed one night at this hotel but wish it had been longer. We certainly intend to return. The hotel is set in its own grounds with a coded gate. It only has four rooms but they are all well furnished to a high standard.

We were greeted warmly by Guy (who speaks perfect English), who runs it with his wife, Katherine, and shown where the breakfast room and lounge were. We were then taken to a luxury room on the first floor. The room has a balcony, as does the other one on that side of the building, and it was a shame that the weather was so windy that we couldn't take proper advantage of it. The view from the balcony was green and peaceful - on one side you can see the sea if it is clear enough.
The room itself was clean, tidy and in good repair. The décor was understated but not bland, with heavy curtains that kept out all light when drawn - we didn't need to use the drop-down shutters. The shower was very good and, although not as powerful as ours at home, produced a good volume of water and worked very well.
Breakfast was a vast selection of fruit juice, cereals, a variety of breads, conserves, cheeses and the added bonus of the offer of an egg and made-on-the-spot crepes!

The hotel does not have a restaurant but Guy was happy to recommend one nearby and contacted them for us to make a reservation. We were very impressed with the meal, which was also very reasonably priced for the quality.

The whole experience was very laid-back and well worth the money. We certainly wish to take advantage of the peace and quiet again.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger bed, tell them when booking, as some rooms have extra wide beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Wanted to take a break for 2 days and to find a good B&B. We booked at Chateau de la Marine for one night....
Great surpise....splendid welcome by the owners....classy and cosy...French touch but also English club ambiance. Our room was very comfortable well fitted so calm!!!!!
We recommand this high top level B&B and we will be back certainly...

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank José G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Delightful French chateau set in beautiful grounds. Our room was spacious and tastefully furnished. Breakfast consists of selection of cereals, dried and fresh fruit, crossiants, pain au chocolat, freshly baked bread, cheese etc...lovely! Our hosts Guy and Catherine were very welcoming and Guy was kind enough to drive us to Boulogne to collect our hire car. Would thoroughly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 180linda1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Marine

Address: 18 route de Rupembert, 62126 Wimille, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Wimille
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wimille
Price Range: C$218 - C$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing