We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
84
15
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
15
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wished we could have stayed longer luxurious bed nespresso machine one night delightful couple dressing room balcony overlooking perfect hosts cooked eggs chateau de peace and quiet croissants bread home made fruit juice catherine guests
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 104 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2016

I had always wanted to stay at a chateau. We failed last time because the once we tried were on the Loire and for us, were prohibitively expensive. When I booked this I was pretty excited because the pictures made it look pretty special, however I have been travelling long enough to know how deceptive hotel pictures can be. in this case the pictures are an accurate reflection of the magnificence of the place. Guy and Catherine were excellent hosts and we felt very special staying there. it is a stay I will long remember and look forward to returning to (perhaps on the way back!)

Room Tip: Our room was excellent
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ted49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2016

This charming house, high on a hill behind Wimereux, is run by a lovely French couple, aided by their three adult sons. Our room, overlooking the garden, was comfortable and had everything we needed, including coffee making machine. We were made very welcome. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, but all will be quiet and I'm sure, all as lovely as ours, which overlooked the large garden.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Like others here, we only stayed one night the first time.. but we will definitely be returning. This is such a charming place, with the most charming hosts one could hope for. The rooms are huge and very well appointed. One or two have a rather distant and partial sea view but that's better than none. The night we stayed the weather was awful - howling winds gusting up to around 40 mph/64kmh and occasional bouts of torrential rain. The atmosphere staying in a place like this on such a night is indescribable but if you've ever wanted to sleep on the set of a horror film... :) The bed was very comfortable and we both got an excellent night's sleep. Going out onto the balcony in between the rain showers and looking out over the grounds, with the trees swaying (a lot!) was an experience.

This is a small establishment - just four guest rooms - and the breakfast/dining room is sized accordingly. The breakfast was excellent, all the ingredients being of high quality and a surprising breadth of choice, given the small number of guests. Real maple syrup is something I've rarely seen available at breakfast, even in some very expensive establishments. Then came the surprise - expecting a traditional French petit dejeuner, we were offered cooked eggs. Perfect poached eggs duly arrived.

There is a lounge - actually more of a reading room - with, in season, a roaring log fire and deep upholstered armchairs that you can lose yourself and your book in.

Next time, we will book for Friday night when Guy and Catherine cook dinner for their guests.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Low_Light_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful experience staying in this marvellous chateau is! We were met by Guy - the owner - who showed us to our beautiful rooms. One with a balcony and a sea view. The chateau is a grand 19th century residence. The chapel is now the house's kitchen. Being a Friday night Guy and Catherine cooked a delicious meal for us which was served in the most elegant of dining rooms. Aperitifs had previously been served with delightful amuse bouche. Each course was served with an excellent wine. After a good night's sleep a decadent breakfast set us up for the day. Thank you Guy and Catherine. I hope we'll return soon!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank annamagdalenab2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2015

We only stayed one night at this hotel but wish it had been longer. We certainly intend to return. The hotel is set in its own grounds with a coded gate. It only has four rooms but they are all well furnished to a high standard.

We were greeted warmly by Guy (who speaks perfect English), who runs it with his wife, Katherine, and shown where the breakfast room and lounge were. We were then taken to a luxury room on the first floor. The room has a balcony, as does the other one on that side of the building, and it was a shame that the weather was so windy that we couldn't take proper advantage of it. The view from the balcony was green and peaceful - on one side you can see the sea if it is clear enough.
The room itself was clean, tidy and in good repair. The décor was understated but not bland, with heavy curtains that kept out all light when drawn - we didn't need to use the drop-down shutters. The shower was very good and, although not as powerful as ours at home, produced a good volume of water and worked very well.
Breakfast was a vast selection of fruit juice, cereals, a variety of breads, conserves, cheeses and the added bonus of the offer of an egg and made-on-the-spot crepes!

The hotel does not have a restaurant but Guy was happy to recommend one nearby and contacted them for us to make a reservation. We were very impressed with the meal, which was also very reasonably priced for the quality.

The whole experience was very laid-back and well worth the money. We certainly wish to take advantage of the peace and quiet again.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger bed, tell them when booking, as some rooms have extra wide beds.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews