We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
20
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake warm welcome stayed here breakfast was delicious hosts alan miles accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 34 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for just the one night at the end of September.We were welcomed by Christine with a choice of Drink's (Tea, Coffee) and then shown to our Lovely cosy room which was a Double with on Suite.The Breakfast,served by Chris was Excellent.A full English with Toast,a selection of Jam's,Tea,Coffee and Fruit Juice.Serial's also available.Set in a Rural Location with off road parking you are at first drawn to the number of Tractor part's littered around the Ground's.The reason for this is that Chris restores Old Tractor's.The Property is up for Sale at present as Chris want's to spend more time with his passion of restoration.So if anyone out there fancies taking over an up and running Guest house you couldn't do worse than The Old Presbytery which is within striking distance to the Fabulous "York".

Room tip: The Double Room has On-Suite
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigalseamills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2011

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, & thank you for your kind review,
Chris & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2008

The guesthouse business is about people and Chris and Christine seemed to be really nice people who after 25 years still enjoy what they are doing and make their guests welcome.

The location and setting of the house is pleasantly rural and both the local pubs we visited provided excellent food. They weren't cheap but you got good food. We enjoyed the drink and scones on arrival and each evening when we returned to the guesthouse. The owners were always attentive and helpful.

We had the family room which was clean and big enough for us (but not very big). Only criticism is that the bed was noisy.

As I write the OP is for sale and it could change.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divaddivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, The bed base has been replaced! regards Christine & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2006

We stayed for one night while on business in the area. The hosts are very welcoming, the room was comfortable, clean and warm and the breakfast wass fantastic. It was much nicer than a RAC 4 diamond B & B we stayed in the previous night.

Date of stay: March 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bevldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, regards Christine & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2005

We stumbled on this guest house by mistake, but we were so happy that we stayed an additional night!

The hosts are wonderful and accomodating, the rooms are pleasant, and there's a pub within stumbling distance.

Leeds and York were both easily accessible, and the country setting made a nice respite from our tourist activities!

Heartily reccomend - will come back.

2  Thank clarewood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presbytery, Owner at Old Presbytery Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, regards Christine & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2015
Google Translation

Room tip: Si no vas solo coge la habitación doble, tiene baño dentro y es cómodo.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews