We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
AMAZING!!!

This trip was truly amazing. The scenery was stunning! It was so fascinating watching the methods... read more

Reviewed October 7, 2021
theconclan3241
,
Victoria, Canada
Cruising to Nootka Island

Really enjoyed our day trip to Nootka Island aboard the MV Uchuck III. Very friendly staff. Great... read more

Reviewed September 15, 2021
Margriet R
,
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Read all 301 reviews
  
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
258
35
3
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
258
35
3
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters nootka island fish farm the galley friendly crew vancouver island great trip first nations logging camp chilli loading and unloading fish food beautiful weather overnight trip soup
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 301 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2016

The MV Uchuck provided two friends and myself with a spectacular cruise down a long inlet of water for a 'wet launch' drop-off at Friendly Cove that allowed us to reach the western side of Nootka and Vancouver Island and experience the majesty and power of the Pacific ocean. From the professional, courteous service of the crew who load your kayaks, to the ride on the well-maintained, historic vessel, to the great home-cooked food served with a smile, the experience is first-class and genuine. Can't say enough good things about it!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Beautiful classic vessel, crewed by welcoming and sharing people. Glorious scenery and historic destination.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

It was a great day weather wise and the overall trip was enlightening. The talk given by first nations person was educational and the sights were super. The history about the Spanish and Captain Cook and other explorers and traders was fascinating. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

The experience began right from the time we arrived at the dock with the breeze and smells of the coast and working harbor to boarding the Uchuck III with fresh coffee brewing. Bring a warm sweater and jacket for the cooler days and comfortable shoes. Everything is casual. A camera with a good Zoom lens is desirable. You will see whales, Helicopter logging in progress on the inlets, eagles by the dozen, seals, sea otters. You will visit Fish farms, Logging camps, fishing lodges, even a spiritual outreach camp. The scenery is spectacular. Kyuquot Harbor is a quaint historic village where you will be lodged for the night. Basic but comfortable accommodations await. Good trail walks to see first growth trees with lots of huckle berries along the way. The guests went for a delicious Halibut & Chips dinner with the best brownies. The next morning began with a fresh fruit sausages & eggs, coffee buns or toast. The return trip was every bit as spectacular as going. The cook had a clam chowder and freshly made sandwiches. for a reasonable cost. therefore bring some cash for lunches aboard, and for some of the native art sold at the dock. The trip we took was a two day trip, We will be recommending this trip to everyone we can. I have fished the area 24 years ago and it was great to be back. Born and raised on the Island these trips are Magic.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank jcpresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

We really loved our Kyuquot trip. We'd never taken a cruise before and didn't know what to expect. The vast open water and all the trees was breathtaking. The crew was exceptionally friendly and let us tour the ship. We made lots of new friends. A wonderful, relaxing trip. We loved it!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Eddylee Chock A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews