We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible Adventure through Coastal Passages.

We were blessed with an amazing experience as well as a kind informative Crew aboard MV Uchuk 111... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2022
Jo N
,
B.C.
Experience a working vessel supporting the West coast economy

What a fabulous experience. From the warm welcome at the wharf to the great food provide onboard to... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2022
dmaccallum63
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 322 reviews
  
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters fish farm nootka island first nations vancouver island great trip logging camp chilli fish food overnight trip captain cook relaxing trip beautiful weather soup recommend this trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 322 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2016

This trip on the MV Uchuck lll with Great West Adventure Cruises is a must on your visit to Vancouver Island. Its a great way to spend a planned weekend whether you do a day trip or one of their overnight cruises. We had one of the most beautiful days weather wise which was indeed a bonus.
We came from Vancouver's lower mainland. We left on a Friday morning and stayed in Campbell River for the evening and then in the morning did the drive to Gold River. Ship left at 10:00 a.m and we were back by 5:30p.m.
Lots of history and beautiful scenery cruising down the Muchalet Inlet. Great for a family or 3 or 4 couples. I would definitely look into it.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

This is a wonderful experience for anyone who wants to discover the daily life of a cargo vessel that is the only way for remote villages to be catered for. The landscape are grea and the atmosphere in Kyuqot village is very authentic.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Joël M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

Just the most amazing trip on this beautiful converted wooden minesweeper from WW2.
The scenery is dramatic and wonderful, the crew friendly and welcoming. Arriving at Friendly Cove we were treated to a historical First Nation perspective of the local area giving an insight to the colourful and turbulent past. Following in Cooks footsteps and being aware of the local archaeology is an experience not to be missed. Nootka Sound, Bligh Island and Resolution Cove are some of the landmarks passed and to watch kayakers winched aboard still in their kayak by a deck derrick is a sight to behold. We would love to go back tomorrow and it was certainly worth every penny. You should just do it!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

We experienced the trip to Kuyuquot, overight in a cute cabin, then return via Friendly Cove as there weren't as many deliveries/pick ups as on the way up.Loved the sea otters floating on their backs; lots of them!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

interesting working freighter with well organized and friendly crew. Punctual with drop off and pick-up for our kayak adventure. The kayaks were a little smaller for storage than we were used to, so had to store stuff on the deck. The kayaks they supplies were seaworthy and stable.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews