We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Cruising to Nootka Island

Really enjoyed our day trip to Nootka Island aboard the MV Uchuck III. Very friendly staff. Great... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Margriet R
,
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Kyuquot Adventures

From the warm greeting at 6:45 am on September 2nd to the sad disembarkation early in the evening... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
haggar5050
,
Victoria
Read all 297 reviews
  
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
257
34
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
257
34
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters nootka island friendly crew the galley fish west coast experience great trip logging camp loading and unloading chilli incredible scenery cookies british columbia working ship captain spencer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 297 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Enjoy very much the beautiful BC coast scenery on the lovely boat MV Uchuck III with friendly staffs and passengers. We had plenty of time in Friendly Cove to explorer church, lighthouse, or just simply relaxing on the beach. Will do it again with different and longer package!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank frogirl1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

always enjoyed myself. scenery is wonderful. beach combing is great after a storm. staff is very friendly.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Jeanette930
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

Four friends and I hiked the Nootka Island trail this past August, arriving at the Louie Lagoon trail head via Air Nootka float plane and departing from Friendly Cove via the MV Uchuck |||. We took five days to hike the trail and by the end of it, we were utterly wet and totally smelly! We were so thankful to get aboard the Uchuck and were welcomed aboard by everybody- crew mates, other travelers and also tourists enjoying the day tour. It was a big bag of mixed stories, and everybody aboard was happy to share their experiences with each other. It was pretty easy to make friends.

Up on the deck we were covered and could watch the ocean while staying dry. The ship route had various stops along the way before reaching Muchalat Inlet in Gold River, entertaining those on board with loading kayaks, hikers, and cargo loading/unloading at the fish plants.

Inside is simply beautiful. The wooden design gives a friendly and classic comfort, and the attention to detail is really great. The table tops were inlaid with local maps, there are informative posters on the wall, a few local history books available for reading and purchase, and some framed images on the wall with descriptions of some interesting local stories.

There is a simple kitchen on board selling sandwiches, coffee and tea, and soup etc. Fair prices and friendly service. After hiking the trail and eating trail food, we were pretty ecstatic to eat lettuce.

To summarize, I would highly recommend taking this ship either for transportation, the day cruise, and to visit historic Friendly Cove. It's a smaller ship and she does rock a little, but this is all part of the experience. Definitely take that scenic drive through Strathcona Park and hit up Gold River and Muchalat Inlet. Explore this beautiful Island paradise in style!

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank devee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

If you want adventure - Get West!
Located in gorgeous Gold River and adventuring into historic Nootka Sound, this adventure cruise delights! The food is delicious, the crew helpful and the views are spectacular! Looking for a memorable day or two day adventure, this is it. We feel blessed every time we experience historic, magical Yuquot!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank alipgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

you get to know people from all over and the scenery the wonderful crew is great they are to explain what we see

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H, Public Relations Manager at Get West Day Adventure Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Thanks so much for cruising aboard the MV Uchuck III. And more importantly, thanks for your review! Your review helps tell our story from a personal experience to those who are considering... a cruise and for that that we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews