We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible Adventure through Coastal Passages.

We were blessed with an amazing experience as well as a kind informative Crew aboard MV Uchuk 111... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2022
Jo N
,
B.C.
Experience a working vessel supporting the West coast economy

What a fabulous experience. From the warm welcome at the wharf to the great food provide onboard to... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2022
dmaccallum63
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 322 reviews
  
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters fish farm nootka island first nations vancouver island great trip logging camp chilli fish food overnight trip captain cook relaxing trip beautiful weather soup recommend this trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Our day cruise to Friendly cove 9Yuquot)w as simply excellent. The company staff and the crew on board were all friendly, polite and very helpful. It's an older boat with some character and it's comfortable for travel. The upper deck is outside but covered. The lower deck features the galley and some inside seating. The food in the galley was very good (soup and sandwiches). My lone "complaint" is that he upper deck seating is hard and a bit uncomfortable after a few hours. It's a great trip in a beautiful place and it's a very worthwhile journey.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank ROBERT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

If you're reading this review, JUST DO IT!
Seriously, go to the Get West website and book your tour now, you will NOT regret it. These people are professional, safety conscious, and they operate an amazing marine vessel; the UCHUCK III,
The morning reception, on-board service and food is second-to-none. I recommend a large bowl of their chili with a chicken-salad sandwich, both excellent!
The scenery round-trip is breathtaking, with plenty of space to spread out, and once you reach Friendly Cove, it's a quick 1.5 hours to visit the beach, carver, church and lighthouse, and you're back on the boat.
Enjoy your cruise :)
Cheers, Paul

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Enjoy very much the beautiful BC coast scenery on the lovely boat MV Uchuck III with friendly staffs and passengers. We had plenty of time in Friendly Cove to explorer church, lighthouse, or just simply relaxing on the beach. Will do it again with different and longer package!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

always enjoyed myself. scenery is wonderful. beach combing is great after a storm. staff is very friendly.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Jeanette930
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

Four friends and I hiked the Nootka Island trail this past August, arriving at the Louie Lagoon trail head via Air Nootka float plane and departing from Friendly Cove via the MV Uchuck |||. We took five days to hike the trail and by the end of it, we were utterly wet and totally smelly! We were so thankful to get aboard the Uchuck and were welcomed aboard by everybody- crew mates, other travelers and also tourists enjoying the day tour. It was a big bag of mixed stories, and everybody aboard was happy to share their experiences with each other. It was pretty easy to make friends.

Up on the deck we were covered and could watch the ocean while staying dry. The ship route had various stops along the way before reaching Muchalat Inlet in Gold River, entertaining those on board with loading kayaks, hikers, and cargo loading/unloading at the fish plants.

Inside is simply beautiful. The wooden design gives a friendly and classic comfort, and the attention to detail is really great. The table tops were inlaid with local maps, there are informative posters on the wall, a few local history books available for reading and purchase, and some framed images on the wall with descriptions of some interesting local stories.

There is a simple kitchen on board selling sandwiches, coffee and tea, and soup etc. Fair prices and friendly service. After hiking the trail and eating trail food, we were pretty ecstatic to eat lettuce.

To summarize, I would highly recommend taking this ship either for transportation, the day cruise, and to visit historic Friendly Cove. It's a smaller ship and she does rock a little, but this is all part of the experience. Definitely take that scenic drive through Strathcona Park and hit up Gold River and Muchalat Inlet. Explore this beautiful Island paradise in style!

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank devee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews