We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible Adventure through Coastal Passages.

We were blessed with an amazing experience as well as a kind informative Crew aboard MV Uchuk 111... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2022
Jo N
,
B.C.
Experience a working vessel supporting the West coast economy

What a fabulous experience. From the warm welcome at the wharf to the great food provide onboard to... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2022
dmaccallum63
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 322 reviews
  
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters fish farm nootka island first nations vancouver island great trip logging camp chilli fish food overnight trip captain cook relaxing trip beautiful weather soup recommend this trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 322 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

What a fabulous day cruise aboard the MV Uchuck III. This is a 1942 mine sweeper converted to freighter with passengers in comfort. Even had a tour of the bridge very interesting history lesson from the captain great coffee shop and lounge – friendly crew.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank tiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We went on board the Uchuck III and spent a great day cruising up to Kyuquot, visiting 4-5 stops where the crew delivered cargo. After wet launching we spent an enjoyable time kayaking the area. 8 days later we were picked up again by the crew of the Uchuck. Both launch and pick up were so smooth, no bumps at all! The crew was extremely personable and helped make our time aboard lots of fun. The galley chili is to die for! Would definitely do it again!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Gord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

A wonderful way to spend a day. Great wilderness views ,quiet waters , very helpful staff , comfortable old ship & BC history that we should have known before. The stop in Friendly Cove very worth wile

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Our day cruise to Friendly cove 9Yuquot)w as simply excellent. The company staff and the crew on board were all friendly, polite and very helpful. It's an older boat with some character and it's comfortable for travel. The upper deck is outside but covered. The lower deck features the galley and some inside seating. The food in the galley was very good (soup and sandwiches). My lone "complaint" is that he upper deck seating is hard and a bit uncomfortable after a few hours. It's a great trip in a beautiful place and it's a very worthwhile journey.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank ROBERT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

If you're reading this review, JUST DO IT!
Seriously, go to the Get West website and book your tour now, you will NOT regret it. These people are professional, safety conscious, and they operate an amazing marine vessel; the UCHUCK III,
The morning reception, on-board service and food is second-to-none. I recommend a large bowl of their chili with a chicken-salad sandwich, both excellent!
The scenery round-trip is breathtaking, with plenty of space to spread out, and once you reach Friendly Cove, it's a quick 1.5 hours to visit the beach, carver, church and lighthouse, and you're back on the boat.
Enjoy your cruise :)
Cheers, Paul

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews