We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible Adventure through Coastal Passages.

We were blessed with an amazing experience as well as a kind informative Crew aboard MV Uchuk 111... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2022
Jo N
,
B.C.
Experience a working vessel supporting the West coast economy

What a fabulous experience. From the warm welcome at the wharf to the great food provide onboard to... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2022
dmaccallum63
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 322 reviews
  
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
276
37
3
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters fish farm nootka island first nations vancouver island great trip logging camp chilli fish food overnight trip captain cook relaxing trip beautiful weather soup recommend this trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 322 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

We took the 2 day cruise on the uchuck III with family and friends ( 9 of us ) and what a great adventure. The crew are fabulous with stories and details about their work as a supply boat, tour boat, cafe, etc. The food on board is prepared by a great cook who makes a clam chowder to die for. She makes a damn fine breakfast as well. The supply stops make the trip extremely interesting and you witness a life style that is so different from yours.
The stop for the night however, was not that great. The purple palace does no favours for the uchuck III and should not be on their accommodation schedule. Also, the cook on the uchuck made our dinner on shore look pretty plain.
I would, however, take this excursion again for the scenery, sea otters, and the GREAT clam chowder.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank bemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

We took the day cruise to Friendly Cove where Captain Cook first set foot in British Columbia. The ship, The Uchulk , is a refit mine sweeper from WW2 and is a beautiful ,relaxing trip.We spent most of our time strolling the naturally tumbled people beaches and exploring. The old church still stands and is loaded with history of both the First Nations of the area and the European explorers of the time. This trip is well worth the time and we found the price very reasonable. Check the weather for the day as you will be spending time on the open shores of the Pacific Ocean.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank ronaldj609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Believe all the reviews. We did the 2 day trip and it was a once in a life experience. We had beautiful weather which included rain on the second day. The rain clouds made the scenery look magical. We saw whales, sea otters, bears, eagles, helicopter logging, fish farms, and more. The setting is beyond description. The food on board was excellent and inexpensive. The crew were exceptional. Our accommodation was lovely.
Wear layers of clothes and bring a hat and gloves.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Jovan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

We did the two day cruise to Kyuquot and return in mid August and had a great two days of cruising .The weather on both days was very good and we watch the crew load and unload goods to the log camps and fish farms and ever saw the loading and unloading of the paddlers .
The over night stay in the guest house was very good but the walk to dinner and the dinner was a problem. From the guest house to the Restaurant was a 1 km walk along a very narrow path. the first 300 metres were fine but the track just got so narrow for the last section.Then coming back it started to rain and get dark so was a problem for the older people. Then the food .Well we now know what it is like to sit with vultures because it was a case of first in or miss out. and to get a glass of water was the big problem.. I sat with the empty jug over my head for 10 minutes waiting for some service.. Could not wait to get back on the boat for breakfast the next morning
.so we could have some food.
Over the 2 days we saw no wild life until the boat docked back at Gold River and as we walked off there was a Black Bear going through the rubbish on the dock.
All in all it was a very good trip except for the dinner...The food on the boat and the lady who served it was very good.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Westralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

The all day "cruise" in Nootka sound on the UChuckIII was the highlight of our trip to Vancouver Island. This is a working boat, in addition to awesome scenery, sea life all over the place (seals, sea lions, otters, bears and a special unexpected treat 3 humpback whales!) we got to watch offloading fish food at a fish farm, a diesel engine at a logging camp and picking up trash bags at a fishing camp. The Captain and crew were very friendly and fun,joking with the fish and logging workers, telling use all about the work they were doing, the history of the area (Capt Cook laid up in Nootka sound! Did not know that!), and pointing out the wildlife so we would not miss it. The other tourists were fun too, some canadiens and some from Europe, especially the Netherlands, Great conversations about all kinds of subjects. We were very lucky to have sunny and beautiful weather.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank elisabethsohlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews