We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A memorable day out!

This was a memorable day out! The crew were really friendly and welcoming, and made us feel safe... read more

Reviewed November 10, 2023
George B
Peaceful outing

Very pleasant day on the water, drizzly, but that added to the atmosphere and it was comfortable... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2023
jmX1391FR
Read all 345 reviews
  
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
296
39
3
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
296
39
3
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nootka sound uchuck iii sea otters nootka island fish first nations vancouver island great trip chilli overnight trip captain cook relaxing trip recommend this trip stunning scenery working ship captain spencer local history
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 345 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2023

This was a memorable day out! The crew were really friendly and welcoming, and made us feel safe and comfortable. The landscapes were sublime and it was fascinating to get an insight into livelihoods on the west coast. One thing to be mindful of is that from October onwards (I believe), these day trips don't go as far as Nootka Island/Friendly Cove. We booked thinking we'd be going so double check beforehand! Thank you to the crew - this was absolutely brilliant!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 14, 2023

The crew was great. The food was excellent. We were very disappointed to see only fish farms. We were led to believe we'd go up Nootka Sound but we only went to the lodge then turned around and headed home only to stop at more fish farms. The loading and unloading process took the biggest part of the day. Very boring except for the great hospitality.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2023

Very pleasant day on the water, drizzly, but that added to the atmosphere and it was comfortable and cozy inside. Stopped at 4 fish farms, didn't appear to be anything/anyone else out there (unlike the trip up the Alberni Inlet where there are houseboats, homes, post office). Stops were 20 minutes+ long.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank jmX1391FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2023

We just did the Tuesday excursion from Gold River to Nootka Sound and back. Excellent trip. We stopped at fish farms for delivery and pick up of goods. Even though the weather wasn't the greatest, they have a tarp over the upper outside deck on the boat and inside seating on the lower level. Loved watching the Captain and crew unload and load the goods. They are very skilled. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 18, 2023

Our much anticipated day on the Uchuck lll was scheduled for Tuesday, September 12. The day started wet but that's BC for you! Water in the ocean, water falling from the sky. That's why we have such wonderful rain forests.
I'm drifting. Sorry. Back to the ship. We arrived fairly early because we (my husband, a family friend and myself) wanted to see the freighter being loaded. We were in awe about the accuracy the lady at the controls maneuvered the load onto the ship. The rest of the team, including the captain, wasted no time getting everything on board, on time, and in the right order.
Once we were allowed on board, we checked out the seating areas and changed our wet jackets for dry ones (thinking ahead...).
At 9:00 AM we left the dock. And who says one needs sun to enjoy the sights? The rainy, misty skies offered mysterious views. It was truly breathtaking.
On this trip we unloaded (and sometimes loaded) goods at three fish farms and the Nootka Sound Resort. Again, the harmony and efficiency between delivery and receiving parties was amazing.
Of course we kept our eyes peeled for wildlife. I spotted an otter, sealion, and a seal (and a bear, once we left the Uchuck lll upon returning home, on the side of the road).
The service was excellent and very friendly: from the beginning (at the office) to the end, saying our good-byes to those hard-working people.
Thank you for letting us share a day with you.
We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank 64josp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews