We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gate Hangs High
Ranked #2 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We arrived in semi-darkness around 16.30, about 15 minutes after ringing, as instructed. We were told to drive around the back, as the pub was shut. First impressions were poor - the place looked deserted and the car park was really rough, with potholes full of water. There was no sign of life, and we tried several doors before knocking on a completely anonymous door to what looked like a store room, which was opened by the proprietors.

The owner (Peter, as I have subsequently learned) led us across a courtyard to one of four rooms in a modern stable-type block. It was freezing cold, and he only then switched-on a wall heater, told us the pub opened at six, and left.

Disappointment was already setting-in, as we had expected the pub to be in the pretty village of Hook Norton (as advertised) when it is 2 miles out, in the middle of nowhere, and we also expected the room to be in the "traditional Cotswold pub" (as described), and not in a modern annexe. It was certainly not "luxurious" as described on their website.

We tried to make the best of it, had a cup of tea and waited for it to warm-up. Meanwhile I sat on the bed (there was only one easy chair) and found it extremely hard and lumpy. Other people came into the rooms either side and we realised that the water cistern for all four must have been above our ceiling, as the noise of anyone else running water or flushing their toilet was really loud. Also, the walls must be paper-thin, as normal speech and the TV could be plainly heard from next door. By 17.20, it felt no warmer and the room seemed even more cheerless, so we decided to cut our losses and leave, handing the key back to the proprietress and saying it did not meet our expectations. She made no attempt to dissuade us or even enquire as to the causes of our dis-satisfaction.
Despite telling the booking agent (Booking.com) that we would not be charged, the full room charge of £60 was taken from my card.
I subsequently rang "Peter" directly, and, I thought, reached an amicable agreement for a 50% refund, but this has not happened, despite repeated excuses for delay, and
he is now ignoring my e-mails.

I have to now conclude that he has strung me along with no intention of meeting his commitment to a partial refund.

We have been frequent weekend visitors to the Cotswolds for many years, always in establishments in a similar price bracket, and I can truthfully say this was the worst ever.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
championknight, Guest Relations Manager at The Gate Hangs High, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

We did refund half the room rate for the guest, and was as helpful as we could be. The pub is closed of an afternoon, but we do have lighting around the building for arriving guests, also the rooms are warmed up prior to arrival. We as a family business will not tolerate rude behavior, we hold customer service to an extremely high standard, hence the high volume of returning customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 99 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

I can't comment on the rooms as we didn't stay at the hotel. We were caravanning for the weekend close by and needed a meal on the Saturday evening. From having stayed in the area previously, we knew it was a popular restaurant and had therefore booked in advance. We were not disappointed. The restaurant has been opened up from what would have originally been smaller rooms, but still felt comfortable with a nice atmosphere. The menu was varied and there were some good specials on too. The food was well cooked with good sized portions, just leaving a little room for some mouth-watering desserts. The service was spot on - friendly, informative and attentive, but not overly so that it interfered with family conversation. Cost was about £30 per head for 3 courses and wine. I would recommend the restaurant and look forward to eating there again.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank Shinypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
7.0 km away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
417 reviews
16.4 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,047 reviews
1.8 km away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 3 in Hook Norton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#3 of 3 in Hook Norton
16 reviews
12.7 km away
Castle at Edgehill
Castle at Edgehill
#6 of 37 in Banbury
124 reviews
17.5 km away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gate Hangs High? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gate Hangs High

Address: Hook Norton OX15 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range: $119 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gate Hangs High 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Gate Hangs High reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gate Hangs High Hotel Hook Norton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing