We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Brunch and etc!”

Hemingway's Devonport
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Devonport
Description: Hemingways is one of Devonport's Best Kept Secrets! Situated a few meters off Victoria Road, this new Bistro is fast becoming the favourite place for Devonport locals and tourists alike, to unwind. The covered garden courtyard provides a tranquil and welcoming environment to enjoy an ice cold local craft beer, glass of wine or cold drink away from the hustle of the main road. Menu's change seasonally to offer the best fresh produce New Zealand has to offer. Most importantly, our staff will go out of their way to welcome you and make you feel at home. Come and try us out - and be pleasantly surprised. We are a few worthy steps off the old beaten track!!
Restaurant details
Description: Hemingways is one of Devonport's Best Kept Secrets! Situated a few meters off Victoria Road, this new Bistro is fast becoming the favourite place for Devonport locals and tourists alike, to unwind. The covered garden courtyard provides a tranquil and welcoming environment to enjoy an ice cold local craft beer, glass of wine or cold drink away from the hustle of the main road. Menu's change seasonally to offer the best fresh produce New Zealand has to offer. Most importantly, our staff will go out of their way to welcome you and make you feel at home. Come and try us out - and be pleasantly surprised. We are a few worthy steps off the old beaten track!!
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Cozy place with Natural flowers!
Warm service with smile:)

“Toast with Mushroom(?)” is so delicious!
Seems better then Big breakfast.

There are not so many ppl even in Weekend.

I hope to visit there next time soon!

Thank tonykim4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R, Owner at Hemingway's Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Thanks for the fantastic review and for taking the time to give us such a great rating, tonykim4U. We welcome your feedback and will make sure to improve Big Breakfast to be as good as Mushrooms on toast!! Hope we see you soon again! All the best, Team Hemingways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2018

Most of eating places in Devonport are along the main road which is very busy with huge amount of cars driving along.
This place is just off the main road so you can enjoy the beautiful garden setting without traffic noise. It is only a few minutes walk from Devonport ferry terminal.
The staff is very friendly and the food is very good. There is a good choice of food for vegetarians. I would definitely recomend Hemingway,s to anyone visiting Devonport.
Also, the coffee is supplied by Atomic roasters which means the coffee is very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donna200910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R, Owner at Hemingway's Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

HI Donna, thank you for your support and for your lovely review. It is definitely a challenge to get people to turn the corner, but with reviews like yours it encourages people to take those few extra steps. For that we thank you. Hope you will pop in again. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

It was brilliant experience in this port to see the huge ocean and the ships landed there, people fishing and enjoying with their friends and family. I went there with my son and husband. and we all enjoyed the cool breeze sometimes heavy.

Thank Manshu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

We ordered the seafood platter and it was devine. The staff were so friendly too. The atmosphere was very relaxed.

Thank lizzieb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R, Owner at Hemingway's Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you LizzieB - so happy that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, and for such a great rating! We truly value your support. Kind regards, Team Hemingways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018

A true hidden gem in the sleepy town of Devonport. Perfect place to bring your family or even just to pop in for a delectable pastry and some of the best coffee in Auckland. They have everything from light meals to sharing platters and they even offer vegan options which is a refreshing find on a menu. Definitely place I’d be making a habit of!!!

Thank marcblignaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R, Owner at Hemingway's Devonport, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Thank you for making the effort to give us a review, and such a great rating. Really happy that you enjoyed your experience at Hemingways! We look forward to seeing you soon again. All the best, Team Hemingways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hemingway's Devonport also viewed

Devonport, North Shore
Devonport, North Shore
 
Devonport, North Shore
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland, North Island
 

Been to Hemingway's Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing