We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B. Location,Location,Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Set in a Victorian classic home this Bed and Breakfast is not only located close to the wharf, shops and restaurants but the rooms,service and breakfast are all top notch. The owner and family are wonderful and helpful hosts. Devonport is a beautiful beach location and if you like to walk and check out 1800 era architecture this is the place to stay. The ferry to Auckland Central is only about ten minutes so staying in Devonport is a very viable option for those who have business in Auckland.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank travellingman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for the last week in June. The weather was beautiful: sunny daily with high 50s to low 60s temperatures - perfect! The owner was recovering from a recent hospital stay but we were very well cared for by her lovely daughter and delightful grandchildren! Delicious breakfasts included coffee, juice, delicious fresh fruits and our favorite plums, yogurt and granola. We then selected from waffles with fruit and bacon or eggs and bacon amongst other offerings such as pancakes.
Our room was delightful: we had our own entrance in the back from a lush, tropical garden with palms and flowers. The room included two beds, sitting area, kitchen area including refrigerator and sink, and private bathroom.
We loved the town of Devonport and especially the proximity to the ferry approximately a block away! Perfect to hop on for day trips to Auckland and further such as the Bay of Islands (recommended) or exploring the islands of the Harauki Gulf: Rangitoto, Tiri Tiri Matangi, and Waiheke to name a few: each a gem in it's own right! We hiked in Rangitoto, took a guided, native bird tour on Tiri Tiri Matangi and enjoyed shopping, the beaches, and Mudbrick Winery on Waiheke: don't miss lunch at Mudbrick and if you like sweet, fruity white wine, the Pinot Gris Reserve is a must!
We enjoyed trying the restaurants in Devonport: The Esplanade Hotel with live music on Sunday evening when we arrived, the awesome fireplace at Dixie Browns, the coziness of Manuka, and great views at Devon on the Wharf.
It says a lot for both the friendliness of the owner's family at Peace and Plenty Inn and the fabulous sights that we slept like a baby and never touched the complimentary port in our room. We truly loved our stay there!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay in accommodation that is different from the run of sterile environments often found in modern accommodation, the Peace and Plenty Inn is for you. Perfectly situated near numerous restaurants and the ferry to Auckland City, this quaint old Victorian style house is full of character and lots of silver tea and coffee pots and antique crockery. Really enjoyed staying somewhere different

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

This is in an interesting building with a long heritage. The décor is Victorian and way over the top. If there is space, it's taken up with a knick-knack, whereas space is badly need for utilitarian reasons. For example, there is no desk or shelf space. There is no fridge in the room. That said, it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast was great: lovely organic eggs cooked beautifully! Be prepared to climb many stairs, both inside and out. Car parking is possible - sort of. The last car in is the only one that can get out. Also, be prepared to have your car covered with bird droppings. I feel this place is in a time-warp.

Room Tip: Albert Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you so much for not only telling me but the rest of our guest what a comfortable bed you had slept in, more comfortable than your own bed at home. Neville it was somewhat surprising to read your review when we upgraded at no extra cost because you complained so much about your ankles and how you were suffering from dreadful pain in them, we gave you a larger room with a bathroom which not only had a large claw-foot bath but also a seperate shower, this bathroom is the largest we have in the house. Regarding the items in the room this are deliberately placed to match the aesthetic of the room and the rest of the house.
In regards to the access to the back and front of the house we apologise for any inconvenience this caused you . The droppings on you car, sorry there is nothing I can do as bird life is a primary part of the Eco System of our back garden.
Thank you for the great comments regarding our breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

What can I say??

We stayed in the Garden Room over the weekend of the Adele Concert and the Bath Towels smelt of "Mould".

The Bathroom was not cleaned to a level that you would expect from a five star category B&B

On the Peace & Plenty website, Judy claims to have many Marketing skills to assist the novice traveler but when questioned about suitable sites to visit around Devonport her answers were very poor

Don't ever stay there if you are over-sized because she was very rude to me with some of her comments

Feel like the proprietor's been in the job a little too long!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank palfreyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This was a great place to recharge our batteries after a long trip to New Zealand from the UK, before picking up our motorhome for a month's tour of the islands. Set in Devonport, which was within viewing distance of the city, but without all the hustle and bustle, the location was great for us. It was a great place to watch all the ships coming and going into the harbour.
The B & B was quirky, restful & flexible, we felt at home there and we were left to do what we wanted when we wanted, which was very much appreciated when you're trying to adjust to a 13 hour time difference. We particularly appreciated having our room refreshed whilst we were at breakfast, great service.
Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice. The fresh, seasonal fruit on offer was some of the best we have ever had in any hotel around the world. Judy, our host, was lovely, you just need to take the trouble to get to know her, which we fear others didn't, which is their loss. She was accommodating arrivals at all times of the day, which you don't often get in B & B's or many hotels. Compared to many other B & B's we saw across both islands, this was clearly one of the best & we'd gladly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: This is not a B & B for the quiet location is a just 3 minute walk from the harbour side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elmgrove5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The house is beautiful and situated in a great location, but this is rather spoiled by the proprietor, Judy. We found at least 20 ants under pillows and sheets in our bed. Judy offered us a new room, but tried to partially charge us for the original room as well. The next morning when we went down for breakfast, she looked at us as though we were intruders. Felt unwelcome our entire stay. Also: no way to contact owner at night, weak lock on bedroom door, and could see into room through keyhole from the hallway.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank mlemmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
240 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,914 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,405 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,366 reviews
3.5 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: $240 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing