We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Esplanade Hotel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Rose Park Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jucy Snooze(Auckland Central)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duck Inn(Devonport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
410
55
17
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
55
17
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandgarden roomold househost judyvictoria roomother guestsferry terminalmuesliamazing breakfasta wonderful stayfairy talebed and breakfastcomfortable roomsbig citycomplimentary porthome away from homeb bs
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 496 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for the last week in June. The weather was beautiful: sunny daily with high 50s to low 60s temperatures - perfect! The owner was recovering from a recent hospital stay but we were very well cared for by her lovely daughter and delightful grandchildren! Delicious breakfasts included coffee, juice, delicious fresh fruits and our favorite plums, yogurt and granola. We then selected from waffles with fruit and bacon or eggs and bacon amongst other offerings such as pancakes.
Our room was delightful: we had our own entrance in the back from a lush, tropical garden with palms and flowers. The room included two beds, sitting area, kitchen area including refrigerator and sink, and private bathroom.
We loved the town of Devonport and especially the proximity to the ferry approximately a block away! Perfect to hop on for day trips to Auckland and further such as the Bay of Islands (recommended) or exploring the islands of the Harauki Gulf: Rangitoto, Tiri Tiri Matangi, and Waiheke to name a few: each a gem in it's own right! We hiked in Rangitoto, took a guided, native bird tour on Tiri Tiri Matangi and enjoyed shopping, the beaches, and Mudbrick Winery on Waiheke: don't miss lunch at Mudbrick and if you like sweet, fruity white wine, the Pinot Gris Reserve is a must!
We enjoyed trying the restaurants in Devonport: The Esplanade Hotel with live music on Sunday evening when we arrived, the awesome fireplace at Dixie Browns, the coziness of Manuka, and great views at Devon on the Wharf.
It says a lot for both the friendliness of the owner's family at Peace and Plenty Inn and the fabulous sights that we slept like a baby and never touched the complimentary port in our room. We truly loved our stay there!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay in accommodation that is different from the run of sterile environments often found in modern accommodation, the Peace and Plenty Inn is for you. Perfectly situated near numerous restaurants and the ferry to Auckland City, this quaint old Victorian style house is full of character and lots of silver tea and coffee pots and antique crockery. Really enjoyed staying somewhere different

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2017

This is in an interesting building with a long heritage. The décor is Victorian and way over the top. If there is space, it's taken up with a knick-knack, whereas space is badly need for utilitarian reasons. For example, there is no desk or shelf space. There is no fridge in the room. That said, it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The breakfast was great: lovely organic eggs cooked beautifully! Be prepared to climb many stairs, both inside and out. Car parking is possible - sort of. The last car in is the only one that can get out. Also, be prepared to have your car covered with bird droppings. I feel this place is in a time-warp.

Room Tip: Albert Room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judydevonport, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Thank you so much for not only telling me but the rest of our guest what a comfortable bed you had slept in, more comfortable than your own bed at home. Neville it was somewhat surprising to read your review when we upgraded at no extra cost because you complained so much about your ankles and how you were suffering from dreadful pain in them, we gave you a larger room with a bathroom which not only had a large claw-foot bath but also a seperate shower, this bathroom is the largest we have in the house. Regarding the items in the room this are deliberately placed to match the aesthetic of the room and the rest of the house.
In regards to the access to the back and front of the house we apologise for any inconvenience this caused you . The droppings on you car, sorry there is nothing I can do as bird life is a primary part of the Eco System of our back garden.
Thank you for the great comments regarding our breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017

What can I say??

We stayed in the Garden Room over the weekend of the Adele Concert and the Bath Towels smelt of "Mould".

The Bathroom was not cleaned to a level that you would expect from a five star category B&B

On the Peace & Plenty website, Judy claims to have many Marketing skills to assist the novice traveler but when questioned about suitable sites to visit around Devonport her answers were very poor

Don't ever stay there if you are over-sized because she was very rude to me with some of her comments

Feel like the proprietor's been in the job a little too long!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank palfreyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2017

This was a great place to recharge our batteries after a long trip to New Zealand from the UK, before picking up our motorhome for a month's tour of the islands. Set in Devonport, which was within viewing distance of the city, but without all the hustle and bustle, the location was great for us. It was a great place to watch all the ships coming and going into the harbour.
The B & B was quirky, restful & flexible, we felt at home there and we were left to do what we wanted when we wanted, which was very much appreciated when you're trying to adjust to a 13 hour time difference. We particularly appreciated having our room refreshed whilst we were at breakfast, great service.
Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice. The fresh, seasonal fruit on offer was some of the best we have ever had in any hotel around the world. Judy, our host, was lovely, you just need to take the trouble to get to know her, which we fear others didn't, which is their loss. She was accommodating arrivals at all times of the day, which you don't often get in B & B's or many hotels. Compared to many other B & B's we saw across both islands, this was clearly one of the best & we'd gladly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: This is not a B & B for the quiet location is a just 3 minute walk from the harbour side and 5 minutes to the ferry into Auckland city.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elmgrove5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews