We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I found this place!”
Review of Black Cottage Cafe

Black Cottage Cafe
Ranked #270 of 4,444 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Arrived seated straight away, menu was great, so much good stuff made it hard to decide. Finally had the smashed avo - delicious and the coffee was really good.
lots of cakes etc in food cabinate. Service great and friendly
I will make this my place to go from now on
Thank you Black Cottage!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sparkle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Black Cottage in Coatsville is always a very good place to go. The Bircher Muesli is now highly recommendable.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank FelixT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

The cabinet of food was very inviting walking in. We were greeted straight away, we were not asked if we were wanting a table at all. It was rather confusing as we ordered coffee and a cake and were only then showed to a table. We were greeted with another waiter who bought us menus and water and we asked for another menu item. Place was very busy which was great. Food we ordered came out fast. Our hot drinks both came in take away cups when we had only asked for one takeaway.
The sticky date cake looked very well presented to look at. However it was underwhelming eating it as it was very dry and cold. I asked for it to be heated more and this happened but still didn't help the texture. It could have used a caramel sauce or yogurt on the side as the icing was also bland.
The bacon and egg bap was nice and flavoured well.
The Game chips with homemade smokey aioli sounded so interesting that we ordered these to try them. They were amazing!
We went to use the bathroom and the guy who served us to start with looked angry that he thought we were leaving without paying for the Game chips. We had left our table with food on it and were planning on going back to the table afterwards, but after his response we left and left our food there.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank genspies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Really nice place, the food is great comes out fast and the flavours are all on point!

The coffee is just what you need! If you are into cakes they have an amazing selection.

Just beware the dairy next door are parking nazis every time I’ve been someone has been towed from this place, it’s a shame that management don’t have a better relationship with the adjacent business.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank nickhoyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Eva, our waitress was fantastic and tolerated the cheeky party well.

The food delicious and the staff recommendations in both wine and food were spot on and much appreciated. I hear from fellow diners that the beef cheeks were incredible, melt in the mouth kind of stuff. I had the scallops and a steak which was such a fantastic choice.

Tea and dessert was delectable and the dehydrated beetroot surprisingly delicious.

Well decorated space with a lovely toasty atmosphere, well suited for both summer and winter dining.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Charlette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cottage Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing