We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fairytale cottage with excellent service”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dr002jy
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fairytale cottage with excellent service”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It doesn't get more charming than this. The cottage is just adorable. Comfortable modern fittings in the kitchen and bathroom (with a bath, not just a shower stall). The place was shining when we stepped in - it was so clean. The original cheese press is a gorgeous little feature. Local butchers and grocers in Ahsbourne nearby. I went for a walk on my own and it was lovely too.

Perhaps the best thing about it is the details and service: cotton swabs, luxury soap and shampoo, shower cap, candles, cling film, olive oil, etc were all provided when we arrived. Jane is incredibly helpful and came over to help us start the fire (she's a pro) when we had trouble.

The only small "warning" is that the best is a very small double, so if you are tall, perhaps you're better off contacting Jane beforehand as she has other cottages with bigger beds! My boyfriend and I are quite small and we still found the bed a "cosy" squeeze.

Definitely would visit again. Thanks Jane!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The tiny bed :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
It was lovely to meet you both and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Cheese Press Cottage. Do come back and see us again when you need a few days away from London and try one of the other cottages! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Nov 2014
I'm pleased you had a nice couple of days and thanks for taking the time to write a review for the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Its lovely when guests return to visit us and I am so pleased you had a nice few days. The cottages have much better views than our house and it is lovely to look over Biggin Dale. I am glad you noticed the improvements in the cottage - I do try and keep on top of things! Look forward to seeing you both again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2014
I'm so pleased you had a lovely time and it's great you are in the diary for next year. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and see you in 2015! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burner and living room area.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thanks very much for the review. The weather can be so mixed at this time of year but the cottage is so cosy and I am glad you managed to get the wood-burner going and relax! Hartington has got so good with its village shops that I can normally get most things there and I am glad you found them useful. Dp come back and see us again when you want to escape the city! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and surrounding area
Liked least: It was a long journey to get there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Am so pleased you had a good time staying at Biggin Grange and managed to visit all the National Trust properties which are nearby. We are lucky having quite a few in easy driving distance and I must get round to going to some myself! Thank you for your nice review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quirkiness of the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed the lovely view over Biggin Dale. I'm pleased you had a nice break to Derbyshire and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing