We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the perfect little hideaway in the Peak...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ralphy198...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the perfect little hideaway in the Peak District”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you're travelling to the Peak District this is the perfect little place to base yourself. Very good location within close enough distance to all the major attractions in the area.

The property itself is just perfect if you're looking for some peace and quiet. Lovely little place which has everything you need for either a weekend or longer trip. The log fire burner is one of the best features of this place along with what is a very large main bedroom!

I wouldn't hesitate to return and Jane, the manager, is a delight to liaise with.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Really pleased you had a nice couple of days in the cottage and do come back and see us again in the future if want to escape again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter D
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy & idyllic!”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at The Old Farrowings in December (apologies for the delay in writing this review!) and from the initial email enquiring about availability to us leaving, the whole process was a pleasure. Jane was away while we stayed but she still managed to arrange (whilst in France) for extra firewood to be brought to us! It's hard to find any complaint when the service is that good.

The cottage itself is beautiful with a; cosy log burning fire, a well stocked kitchen (with a tin of homemade ginger biscuits!) and a surprisingly large bedroom and bathroom.

Location wise the cottage is conveniently placed for walking and we really enjoyed coming back from a long (cold) walk and lighting the fire!

We're already looking forward to returning this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and so glad you had a nice weekend. It's always difficult if I'm away but thank goodness for mobiles so at least you got your logs! It is a lovely cottage and perfect when the wood-burning fire is going and glad the ginger biscuits were a success! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rwigg
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful and cosy birthday treat!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is small yet full of character, perfect for a cosy and comfortable stay for two people. The log fire was definitely the highlight of the cold december weekend stay, as was the huge bedroom with a gorgeous 4 poster bed. The surroundings are stunning, and perfect for countryside walks. Buxton and Bakewell are a short drive away as is Chatsworth House. I stayed here with my partner for a peaceful birthday weekend away from the hustle and bustle of city life and it couldn't have been a more perfect stay. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone wanting a short break away in the peak district!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2015
Belated Happy Birthday! Glad you had a nice few days staying at the cottage and managed to get to Chatsworth House. The Farm Shop at Chatsworth is one of my favourite places up in Derbyshire. Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really well equiped, clean and cosy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
It's lovely when guests return to the cottage and I am glad you enjoyed it again. You will have to come back again as I have done lots of work on the bathroom so now it looks very smart! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and look forward to seeing you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tracie b
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peacefull, beautiful and vey relaxing!”
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Arrived on christmas evening for a relaxing break .
Even though it was dark outside you can tell the quality of the surroundings.
The cottage is warm and inviting. So clean. The log burner is beautiful.
Kitchen spotless with everything you need all you need to take is food.
Then you move on to the bedroom.....its huge with a massive wardrobe,four poster bed with the softest duvet and its such a warm room. Then onto the bathroom, bath & separate shower plenty of warm water and big fluffy towels.

We had a the pleasure of snow and lots of it for our stay so the views were even more breathtaking.

The photos really don't do it justice..its so beautiful.

We didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Am so glad you enjoyed your visit to The Old Farrowings and it was nice you were able to stay an extra night. No point in trying to go anywhere in Derbyshire when the snow comes down! Thanks for writing such a nice review and hope to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaeva...
west midlands
1 review
“Lovely midweek break”
Reviewed 30 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Old Farrowings. The wood burning stove made the room nice and cosy with views over Biggin Dale. We arrived late so the home made biscuits were a surprise treat. I would recommend this if you need a quiet break, there are lots of pretty walks including the Tissington trail.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
I am glad you had a nice couple of days at Biggin Grange. You will have to come for longer next time! But glad you discovered the Tissington Trail which is so near and a lovely place to walk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed staying in The Old Farrowings. I am just about to put a new bathroom in so hopefully if you return you will notice a few improvements. The local pub seems to be getting lots of good feedback from our guests and it is handy being able to walk over to it. Thanks very much for taking the time to review the cottage. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing