We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good to come back”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farrowings

Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Bedroom with king-size bed and vaulted ceiling
The Old Farrowings
Wood-burning stove to make the cottage really cosy.
Kitchen with everything you need for your stay.
Sitting room looking into the open-plan kitchen.
Dining area
Kitchen with granite worktops.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with rugs and flagstone floor.
Bedroom with king-size bed, antique sofa and plenty of storage space.
Antique pine cupboard with plenty of shelves for clothes!
Tennis court
View towards village
Patio area
Monastic barn
Outside The Old Farrowings cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TobyandKa...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good to come back”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Second trip up here now, this time with a newborn. Nice to be remembered and meet the family and nice to get back to this setting. Good combination of 'completely out of touch' and 'close enough to pick up the bits you forgot from sainsburys' and the grounds to the estate were looking manicured again. Cottage itself was lovely, nice looking entrance, lounge type bit and kitchen and an epic bedroom with enough room to swing a really massive cat. Good to see the ducks didn't make the Sunday roast menu as well while we were gone and we're still happily being weird.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
We loved having you back and meeting little Roscoe who managed to sleep for hours so hopefully you both managed to relax as it's not always easy with a 7-week old baby! The Indian Runner ducks continue to amuse both us and our guests and I promise they won't be going very far in the future so they will still be here when hopefully you come back! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and it is lovely for us when guests return. Even better when you have booked to come again in October! You were so lucky with the weather and I hope when you come back you will discover even more to do in the Peak District. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joannafow...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful & Relaxing”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Old Farrowing is a place we would definitely return to. Peaceful, relaxing very well equipped cottage and the owners were so helpful and accommodating.
Was very sad to leave and we are looking forward to returning in the cooler months so we can light the logs and enjoy this gorgeous, quaint little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
It was lovely to meet you both and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your few days here. Yes - you must come back in the winter months. It is so nice with the wood-burning stove and the cottage is so cosy. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It just oozed quality.
Liked least: it was all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. We do seem to have had some amazing sunsets recently and it is perfect sitting out on your terrace looking at the view. Really pleased you had a good time at The Old Farrowings. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandeni
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil perfection”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked our accommodation at the Old Farrowings for a short break prior to relocating from the UK. We were looking for somewhere quiet and scenic where we could just relax and wind down after a particularly busy period and that is exactly what we got. The setting was perfect, nothing but rolling hills and farmland and not a sound to be heard. The accommodation exceeded our expectations, the kitchen was very well equipped, the living room was very comfortable and the bedroom and bathroom were nothing short of luxury. We had our 6 month old baby with us and were provided with a travel cot and blankets for him and as the location was so quiet, he had no problem sleeping. Having a baby with us was fine, but I would be slightly concerned with a crawling baby or a toddler as the floors were stone and could cause some damage if fallen on.

We weren't in walking distance of a village - which was no problem to us but if you are looking for somewhere where you can wander home after a pub meal, this wouldn't be so convenient, but if driving is no issue, then there are plenty of villages within a short drive which offer shops, pubs and restaurants.

Jane was very helpful and accommodating - a lovely person who made the stay even better with her welcoming and friendly manner.

The only downside for us was the amount of time we stayed - we spent a lot of time exploring the surrounding villages which was what we had intended on doing, but if we had realised how amazing the accommodation was, we might have booked for slightly longer so that we could have enjoyed just being there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful country setting and Jane (the owner) who was incredibly welcoming and hospitable
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
It was lovely to meet you all and I'm so pleased you had a relaxing time after your packing up ready to relocate to New Zealand. You certainly needed the peace of the Peak District and I'm so glad you had time to explore the area. Enjoy your next exciting chapter of your lives and in the years ahead if ever you are in the UK you must come back and see us! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan L
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect getaway cottage in the peaks.”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Despite being situated within Biggin-Grange the Old Farrowings cottage manages to maintain a wonderful sense of isolation, with uninterrupted views across the dales from the private patio area. The living area is snug and the perfect spot to relax in front of the log burner after a damp walk on the hills, which we did every evening of our stay! The kitchen is well appointed, we didn't miss anything and enjoyed the coffee machine and Jane's tasty cookies. The Bedroom is wonderfully spacious, meaning the cottage does not feel too compact and the bed is very comfortable; overall the break was very restful.

Jane was very friendly and welcoming and we can't think of a single fault for the place; we can't wait to come back and explore the area some more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log burner
Liked least: shower water pressure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you so much for writing the review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time at Biggin Grange. Hard to imagine The Old Farrowings was where the pigs had their babies! Hope you find time in the future to come back and see us in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2015
It's always nice when guests return to see us and you have both been very loyal to us over the years. I am pleased you had another lovely stay in the Peak District and hope to see you both again in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing