We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful - Excellent standard and good location.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melbourne, Pocklington, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Krista W
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Excellent standard and good location.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week staying at Lilliput Lodge - home from home. We were greeted by the owner on arrival who showed us around the property. We were welcomed with a bottle of milk in the fridge,tea, coffee and sugar. He was very knowledgable about the local area and facilities - he told us about the local pub, the nearby Pocklington Canal, walks along the canal and directions to get to it.

The property itself has everything you could possibly need, and was spotlessly clean. One double bedroom upstairs with a wet/shower room and a twin bedroom on the ground floor also with an adjacent wet/shower room. These wet rooms were amazing with underfloor heating and very spacious shower spaces. The kitchen is well equipped with fridge/freezer, double oven, hob, microwave,washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher. There is even a food processor. The spacious lounge area with good seating, TV and DVD player is a real sun trap, the fans provided by the owner were much appreciated. It also has WiFi Internet. The owner had also provided a selection of DVD's, books, board games, jigsaw's and up to date leaflets and booklets on the local area and places to visit.

The property is in a good location for Holiday makers. The Melbourne Arms is a 20min walk away and serves excellent food and is highly recommended, pre book for Sunday Lunch as it is very popular with the locals. A mobile Fish and Chip van parks at the Village Hall on a Thursday evening and serves good quality fresh fish and chips. Pocklington Canal is pleasant to walk along. The York Maze and Yorkshire Air Museum are a short distance up the road. York is a must to visit, use Grimston Bar Park and Ride for convenience.

Highly recommended and one of the best properties we have stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, shower rooms and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you had a great holiday at Lillieput Lodge, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is great to hear that you had everything you could have needed to hand there, indeed with all the amenities of home! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return to enjoy the place again very very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry P
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very nice Christmas in Yorkshire.”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I noticed the heading said Melbourne, Derbyshire although the photo is of Lillieput Lodge Melbourne in the East Riding of Yorkshire.
A warm welcome from the owners. A very comfortable stay and everything we needed for a great Christmas. Lovely and quiet and in the countryside. I'm afraid we can't comment on any local sightseeing as it was something of a very wet end to the year so we just stayed inside and kept nice and dry and warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us, we are over the moon that you had a lovely Christmas break at Lillieput Lodge. It sounds like you had a lovely cosy hideaway from the cold wet weather which is wonderful! We certainly hope you return for another visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretm...
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with everything you need and more”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Liiiput Lodge with our friend for four nights over the new year period. The cottage is immaculately presented, very spacious and spotlessly clean. There is all the equipment you could ever need and plenty of it. It's ideal for friends as it has a downstairs bedroom and a fantastic shower room which is repeated upstairs. The owners also live on site so are there to help if necessary.
The Melbourne Arms in the village serves excellent food and the village shop is very handy. There are also plenty of shops and a couple of supermarkets in nearby Pocklington. We visited the coast which is about an hour away and had a good day out in Beverley.
We hope to return, maybe in the springtime and bring out bikes with us at the quiet, flat roads would make for excellent cycling. Thanks Erica and Graham, we will be back.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
We are so pleased that you thought so highly of Lillieput Lodge and that you had a great holiday. Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. It sounds like you enjoyed all aspects of the property and the surrounding area - this is music to our ears! We certainly hope to see you in the Spring for cycling, or any other time of the year, we'd love to have you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALPINESki...
Skipton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal for York”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Super facilities, 2 separate bedrooms with their own bathrooms and walk in showers, fully equipped kitchen and log burning stove, the owners live next door . Its in the heart of the country, you will get agricultural aromas. Your satnav will take you to the wrong address, check with owners for details.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Worcester
Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing