We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!! FRIENDLY!! GR8 PRICE!! LOVE IT!! A+A+A+”
Review of Big Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Horn Motel
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Me and my wife live in Calgary and go to the mountains whenever we get a chance. So we pass my the Big Horn everytime we're on our way to Banff. My wife has stayed at the Big Horn once before and said it was "ok, with no frills, but great pricing". Since we never really had a honeymoon we decided to give it a shot! We called and booked our room with not a hitch and the man seemed very friendly! We arrived at the motel on a tuesday and immediately hit it off with the man behind the counter (we thought he was the owner but found out from him later that he's actually helping the owners out while they contimplaint retirement). We talked for about 30 minutes with him before we actually got to our room, and found out alot about the motel and himself. Myself and the guy (his name is Raj) found out we both loved the Dallas Cowboys and are both devoted fans!
When we arrived in our room it was VERY clean, with a queen sized bed, small (probably 20" T.V. a VCR, chest of drawers, bed side tables, trunk for storing larger items, small round table, two chairs around it, a sink, two stove top burners, mini fridge, microwave, toaster, lots of silverware, a very nice sized bathroom, with a very nice sized shower/tub). Our room was probably 400 sq.ft and for the two of us was plenty! The room was Perfect!! At the front they have probably 100 VHS tapes that are older but that you can watch for no additional charge! All the people there were VERY friendly and extremely helpful!! Our stay lasted only 3 days but was AWESOME!! your right next door to a HUSKY gas station with everything you'll need with a Restraunt inside (we didnt eat there so i have no comment on the food). There is a small communial kitchen right when you walk in, along with a washer/dryer (quarter only) that you can use!
The Big Horn is right off the trans Canada in Dead Mans Flats and on our trip is was VERY quite, with virtually no road noise. We only paid $70. per night (off season, during the week) and thought THEY got the short end of the stick! The view from our room was incrediable (we stayed on the north end) with great views of the surrounding mountains!There is no A/C but in March we didnt need it! I WOULD HIGHLY recommend this place to ANYONE who's NOT expecting TAJ MAHAL type qualities,but more of a "down to earth, fun, friendly" place! I have to rate our HONEYMOON a 10/10 and in large part to this GREAT motel and its FRIENDLY staff!! my wife and i both have NO, ZERO complaints about the BIG HORN!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CougarNcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2009

Although the owners are friendly, it does not make up for the fact that this place is WAY overpriced for what you get. We paid $99 CDN/night (thankfully only one night) and got a room that was very stuffy, the window didn't lock and we shared a communal balcony, the bed was hard, the pillows were harder, the bathroom was scary... not a good experience. As well, the sound from the highway is loud and keeps you up. Next time, I would drive the extra 5 minutes and stay directly in Canmore.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I made my reservation on line with Big Horn Motel (dead man's flat) in April/08 for a 6 night stay in Aug./08. When we got there they had no record of our reservation, I showed them my e-mail confirmation booked by Discover Alberta Booking System along with a confirmation directly from Big Horn Motel.
But I'm glad they lost our paperwork, this place is a dump!!!
I would not recommend this motel. It was very dirty and messy.
We went to a great place in Canmore instead.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank TORONTORON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

This was the worst motel we have ever stayed at. We had just went through an auto accident & we had two dogs with us, let me start with that, date of stay was January 19, 2008. We were in a room that was freezing cold, there was a plug in heater in the room but it did not work either.
We had just been traumatized by the accident and the cab driver dumped us off at this motel, we had nowhere else to go, if we had our vehicle we surely would not have stayed. We were put in a back room that looks like none of the pictures on the website.
It was colder outside than in the room so we did not want to risk being thrown out into the street in the cold we had already sat in a freezing vehicle for an hour waiting for a tow truck.
The motel was aware we had just been in an auto accident, we asked if it was ok if we would be an hour or so late checking out the next day, in case our ride did not arrive on time to pick us up, they said "no, if you do not check out on time you have to pay for another day".
So we slept in our clothes for added warmth, we would not shower there, it was too cold.
I would not recommed this motel to anyone unless it is your only means of survival from the cold.
Thankfully our ride arrived at 8am to pick us up.
They do not even give you a coffee in the room for the $89.00 they charge. no carpets, cold cement floor, can't take your shoes off.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Maggiec1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We spent our last night of vacation here and planned on driving back to the Calgary airport in the morning for our flight home. For one night it was okay but I would not want to stay longer. The queen room we had for two of us was very small, two of us could not pass each other around the bed without one of us turning to the side to let the other pass. The bed was comfortable to sleep in though and the room was clean. The room faced the front towards the Trans-Canada 1 highway so the traffic noise was a problem with the window open (no A/C). There was a fan in the room so we could close the window and have some white noise to drown out the traffic noise. Bathroom wasn't too bad with a tub-shower combination. The towels were nice and thick. There was a community kitchen down the hall on the second floor for the use of all guests but someone had ignored the signs in the kitchen about cleaning up after yourself and left a mess of food crumbs on the countertops and floor and dirty dishes with food in the sink so we did not use the kitchen. The rate we paid was reasonable for the area at $79.00 for a queen room. It wasn't the worst place we ever stayed but certainly not the best. I would probably look for something else if I return to the area.

We walked next door and ate at Bandoleer's Tex-Mex Restuarant next door the the restaurant. It is not Tex-Mex but more Southwest in type of food they serve but it was not too bad.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank GeeZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

Nice room with use of communal room and kitchen. Closeness to transcanada highway meant no open windows. No sound proofing so every nearby bathroom noise was chronic, especially late at night and very early morning. We chose this motel because its website advertised a texmex restaurant called Bandeleros next door, saving evening driving. Unfortunately this was closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, so a drive into Canmore was the only option - no other restaurants in this tiny hamlet.Manager, however, was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

After staying in several hotels in the greater Canmore and Calgary area, the Bighorn was the worst. It's a very basic motel located just off the main highway in Dead Man's Flat, just outside of Canmore.

We ended up in a room on the ground floor towards the back with a view of the parking lot which featured big rigs idling their engines all night long and bright lights aimed at the rear of the motel. Because this property does not have air conditioning, and Alberta summers are growing hotter, it required a window fan to keep the room bearable (as the drapes had to remain open at night to accomodate the fan in the window).

The noise from the parking lot and warmth in the rooms did not afford a comfortable night's rest. If you stay here, opt for a room facing the front if possible.

Further, the in-room amenities were second rate, including a dented in-unit refrigerator, open shelving for dishes (complete with a warning that failure to wash and dry them would result in a $10 penalty), and a shower that was among the smallest I've ever encountered in a hotel.

Internet access at this hotel carries a $10 fee which grants you access to the password required to connect to the wireless network, but it does not work unless your room is located very close to the office. I can't say how tired I've become in dealing with hotels that promise Internet access but provide inept or non-existant service (and have the nerve to charge for it to boot!) This isn't rocket science - hotels need to take this issue more seriously for those of us who book hotels, in part, based on their promised availability of Internet access.

Overall, this is a very basic motel which, at $50-60 a night, would be reasonable. But at rates twice that amount during the high season, there are far better choices nearby at similar rates.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dampier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dead Man's Flats
8.8 km away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 28 in Canmore
1,000 reviews
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
9.3 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#22 of 28 in Canmore
618 reviews
0.2 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,144 reviews
7.4 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Address: #1 - Trans Canada Highway at Deadman's Flat, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range: $61 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Big Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel
Big Horn Motel Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing