We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 27 September 2012

In general there's not too much to discuss about this hotel. In terms of quality we got what we expected from a Best Western but avoid room 326. The room has a L shape and in the middle of the L is the elevator shaft. That wouldn't have been a problem as the room seem well isolated but the elevator was making a screeching sound every time it stop on the 3rd floor. Every time somebody used the elevator to get to the 3rd floor we were awaken by this noise.

Room Tip: Avoid room 326
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdragos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear bragos,

Thank you for your comments. First, I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience and did not fully enjoy your stay. Our front desk staff should have communicated to you the room type and location of your room prior to check in, so that we may change your room. It is our responsibilty to anticipate for guest needs.

We hope that you may consider us again in the future as we have many room types available. Please communicate to us your preference and we will find the best room available for you. Thank you once again for your review.

Regards,

Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

For 2 nights stay in this hotel, overall i will say this is a good hotel. Fair room size, room & bath are very clean, comfortable bed, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, free shutter, front desk staff, housekeeping, and all other staffs always with smile. only the check-in process may screw up everything, it take 2 and half hours to get the room key. DO I GO BACK THIS HOTEL AGAIN? My answer will be YES if no need waiting two and half hours for checking in. Here after is my check-in story:
11:30 am, walk into hotel.
front desk staff : check-in?
me : yes.
front desk staff : sorry, yesterday hotel fully booked, your room not ready yet.
me : when is possible i can check-in?
front desk staff : check-in time is 3 o'clock.
me : any possibility check-in before 3 o'clock?
front desk staff : i am not sure. you see, these people in lobby, they all wait for check-in. we can store your luggage, you can go out walk around, back at 3 o'clock.
me : I do not know this area, i am little tire, not interesting to wandering on the street.
front desk staff : then, you have to wait.
me : if any chance other room ready earlier, can i switch to the room?
front desk staff : no, today still fully booked, i can not switch any room.
me : can you help to ask housekeeping to clean our room first for us to check-in earlier, i will really appreciate.
front desk staff : no, housekeeping can not do one room then jump to the other room too far.
me : ???
Lobby is full, no chair left for us to sit, we just stand in the lobby stand half hour,
12:10 pm, one couple left (do not know where they go? go to other hotel?) we get chair to sit.
13:00 pm,
front desk staff : we have few rooms ready, who's next? (she did not follow first come first serve)
14:00 pm, God bless, few more room ready, front desk staff let me check-in, thanks God.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamChuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear SamChuang,

Thank you for your comments. We strive to meet every guest's request and accommodate whenever possible. I do agree that we could have handled this situation better. We value your feedback and we take it to heart. I do hope that you will consider us again next time you are in town. Thank you again.

Regards,

Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The front desk greating was warm, friendly and welcoming.
Complimentary use of the business centre and high speed WIFI in guest rooms were included in the price.
Complimentary breakfast weas excellent and included regular, full breakfast items.
This hotel is also located very close to Vancouver International Airport.
I would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Advise the staff of any special requests when you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Cherbal,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our stay. We strive to provide the best service and amenities to our guests. We hope to see you again in the very near future.


Regards,

Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staff! Free parking, free breakfast,very comfortable bed and great price. We were able to print our boarding passes off in the lobby and free wi-fi. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash_nick_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear ash_nick_2013 ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our stay. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future at the BW PLUS Abercorn Inn!


Regards,

Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed one night after returning from Heathrow, U.K. Presentation very nice in the rooms. Contrary to earlier review, I had no problem accessing the wi-fi and used it all morning. Had the free buffet breakfast which was great, waffles, sausages, scrambled eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. couldn't wish for better in a nice quiet restaurant. The shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel was timely and no problem. The bed was extremely comfortable. Only small criticism I found a faint odour of mustiness in the bathroom although it was spotless.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a rear room because of road noise on the main road out front, however hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Diana M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and to hear that you liked our breakfast. I will certainly pass your compliments down to chef!

Thank you once again and looking forward to seeing you at the Abercorn Inn in the near future.

Regards,


Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have stayed here three times now and the value is good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Situated where it is, it is great for those late night return flights where it is too late to move on to the final leg of the journey. Close to the airport and skytrain station, so whether you park and fly or use transit, you are good.

The beds are super comfortable and we always get a good night's sleep here.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionatePeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear chefNic75,

Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am also glad to hear that you are a loyal guest of ours. It would be lovely if I could say hi to you next time to thank you for your business. :)

Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have stayed at the Abercorn many times. Last year we commented that the hotel was becoming shabby and needed some TLC. Management was listening and this time we noticed things were cleaner and brighter than last year. The staff on the front desk have always been friendly and helpful and we think the included breakfast is very good. Thanks for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieQPowellRiverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggy H, General Manager at Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear SuzieQPowellRiverBC,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and saw the improvements we have done! I hope to see you again in the near future as we continue to have new upgrades done to the property.

Thank you!

Regards,

Meggy Ho
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
Hilton Vancouver Airport
#4 of 23 in Richmond
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bridgeport
Travelodge Hotel Vancouver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport

Address: 9260 Bridgeport Road, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1S1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $121 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abercorn Inn Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Abercorn Hotel Richmond
Best Western Abercorn Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing