We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dim Sum”

Sun Sui Wah Chinese
Ranked #23 of 917 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: C$0 - C$28
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

We always make Sun Sui Wah a stop on our trips to Vancouver. The Chinese seafood dishes are exceptional. On this visit we went for dim sum and it was excellent. The lobster congee, sautéed Manila clams with spicy black bean sauce and the shrimp and chive steamed dumplings were delicious. We will continue to make this a regular stop when we visit Vancouver and highly recommend it to people who are looking for authentic food.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank MissTBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 113 of 214 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2016

I came here because a number of my friends raved about this place for years. The room is nice, and tables set very nice. One the upper end, fine dim sum style restaurants in Vancouver. Unfortunately I found it a bit snooty for a place that serves dim. The food was good, dolled up dumplings. But they weren't as good as I have had other places. I also didn't like the attitude, may be I hit a bad day, but I think it's perennial. There were six of us, my sister forgot her phone in the car, and went to retrieve it. When she got to the door, a lady, a captain type, told her she had to pay before she left. She clearly saw, as she had eagle eyes on the whole restaurant, that there were still five of us still sitting at the table, two were children. At any rate I don't recommend it. For dim sum it's capricious, and the prices, are expensive. Good for people with an expense account looking to impress. I can think of lot of dim sum places I prefer.

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank Streetsense_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 14, 2016

The food was really good. I started with the seafood hot and and sour soup and wow.....it was terrific. Tons of fresh seafood and perfectly spicy. The main courses were excellent too. The mango dessert was really tasty and the consistency was wonderful. The service was superb

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

Friends recommended this, the sister of the downtown Vancouver restaurant, as a good dim sum place. We didn't have a chance to try that, but did go for dinner, and had a great meal. They're known for crab and squab, but we treated ourselves to Peking Duck (two courses of crispy skin/pancakes and chopped meat/lettuce wrap), Prawn & chicken Szechuan hot pot, bamboo pith/Chinese mushrooms/baby bok choy. All were very good, and they spiced up the hot pot on request. Typical banquet style place with big screen TVs (I could have done without those, but the food was the main event). You can't lose with Sun Sui Wah.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank ajs4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

As usual, had to make reservation in order to secure ourselves a seat.
Went there for breakfast and it was so crowded!

They serve a wide variety of dim sum selection. Great service though some of the staffs weren't really proactive. We sat at a pathetic corner, thus most of the staffs didn't come to our side. We had to walk over to approach the staffs to order our food. It really spoilt our meal because we couldnt eat with a peace of mind. Had to constantly look out for the staffs just in case they miss us and we couldnt try those food in the cart.

That aside, most of the food tasted authentic. However, the buns had little fillings thus it was a disappointment. For most of the dishes we ordered, the BBQ pork tasted pretty bland... Wouldnt mind coming back here again for the wide selection. The next time round, I would have to choose my food wisely.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank vinccinicoleloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sun Sui Wah Chinese also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Sui Wah Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.