We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kindest and most helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Whilst visible from the Ironworkers Memorial Bridge, getting into the hotel was our first challenge. Although when you've found the turn off once, it's easy!
The waterfall, totem pole and fountain out the front were beautiful, a very relaxing welcome to this hotel.
Check in was smooth, and being a Priority Club Rewards member, we were given extra bottles of water and a bag of trail mix. A pleasant surprise.
Initially we had two rooms a few doors apart (212 and 210), however once we realised that interconnecting rooms were available, a quick stop at reception had us moved to Rooms 211 (1QB) and 212 (2QB) the next morning.
Each room was clean and had a little kitchenette (microwave and fridge) which was fine for the two nights we were there. The rooms were very close to the front entrance (and the waterfall), but there was no noticeable noise from the cars coming through.
Breakfast and dinner at The Pantry were lovely (but not included). I would recommend it for meals, but I can also say that room service (provided by The Pantry) was equally lovely and arrived within 20mins.
The gym was clean with treadmills, cross trainers, bicycles and weights. The indoor pool looked nice, but I didn't use it.
Since our sightseeing was focused on Grouse Mountain (seeing Coola and Grinder at feeding time was amazing) and Stanley Park (last time we visited was just after the 2006 storms - lovely to see it rejunivated), I would say it was a good location, since we had to drive anyway. However, if you wanted to see downtown Vancouver, you might find it a little more challenging being in North Vancouver.
To finish our stay at Holiday Inn North Vancouver, the check out process was lovely (even if it was 7:30am) and the concierge, having noted that we were beginning a very long drive to Jasper offered us a few extra bottles of water to keep us hydrated. I got the feeling that this wasn't necessarily because of my Rewards card, but more because he genuinely wanted to be helpful.

Room Tip: If you want interconnecting rooms, it needs to be one 1QB room and one 2QB room, a combination we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 November 2011

Dear Guest

The staff and management appreciate your time to share your review about our Hotel, from the service and guest rooms, the various amenities to our convenient location as well as the local attractions, we thank you for choosing us for your recent stay.
We are pleased you choose our Hotel for your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
C.Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

First of all I want to mention that we did not plan to stay almost a whole day at this hotel.
We wanted to check out Vancouver first, but then I got sick in the morning, so we decided to drive directly to our hotel (we already had a reservation).
We entered the spacious and almost bit upscale looking lobby at about noon. We kindly asked if we could get into our room right now due to my bad condition. But the girl at the reception told us that every room is still occupied or in need of cleaning (this hotel has over 160 rooms and 60 suites, so quite large) and it was already noon - I couldn't really believe that, cause it was Friday (not Saturday or Sunday). I needed a place to rest very urgent, but they couldn't provide a room.
After about an hour (in the meantime I tried to get some sleep outside in our (cold) car) my girlfriend checked a second time with the front desk (this time a different girl) and now they were able to get us a room. Finally!
The room itself was very nice, spacious and clean. Huge flat tv, micro and fridge. Very quiet area and very nice maintained hotel property with lots of plants and trees, although hotel is
located just beside an intersection (but very well protected by trees). A supermarket (Real Canadian Superstore) is in walking distance - that was very good, because my girlfriend could buy some drugs for me (she was not allowed to drive the rental car).
Restaurant (breakfast) was great, we had a breakfast package (20 bucks credit for the restaurant). Parking is free and the free wifi is pretty fast.
This hotel should have a nice pool what I've heard, but due to my bad condition we were not able to check it out.
I would definitely stay there again. If we would have gotten a room at our first try, I certainly would have rated this hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 November 2011

Dear guest,

All of us at the Holiday Inn & Suites North Vancouver thank you for staying with us.
I am disappointed that your experience fell short of excellent for this I offer our sincere apologies. It was unfortunate that our front desk staff did not respond to your early request for check in promptly. I have shared your review with my team and rest assured all efforts will be made to ensure such situations are avoided in the future.
I am pleased to hear that the rest of your stay, our rooms, facilities and restaurant met and exceeded your expectations.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Sincerely,
C.Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I took my mom on a little trip to Vancouver and we stayed in this hotel for a night. I had driven by this hotel many many times on previous visits but had never been inside before. We were both pleasantly surprised by how nice it was. The lobby was a little understated, but the warm and friendly front desk staff made up for that. The room was well appointed - pretty typical of a hotel at this price but one of the nicer touches was having both hard and soft pillows and having them nicely labeled. There was a great waterfall at the front of the hotel which we could certainly enjoy from our room on the 3rd floor. The landscaping was very nice for a hotel right off the highway. The hotel is close to everything as well since it is right on the highway. In our room (north side of the hotel) we didn't hear any noise. We ate at the Pantry restaurant which is attached to the hotel. Normally I wouldn't choose this chain to eat at but again, we were very pleasantly surprised. Pleasant staff and good food.

Room Tip: There is a pub attached to the hotel and although I never heard any noise from it, I would ask to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MossnClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites wasn't our first choice, but Vancouver rooms with kitchenette were hard to find at the time that we were visiting. We were concerned that the hotel might be too isolated from downtown. Our concerns vanished on arrival. The reception staff were welcoming in a way that I didn't expect from a chain hotel. On the transport issue, they were not only able to reassure us that there are good bus services from close to the hotel to both North Vancouver (for the Seabus service) and downtown Vancouver but had a map ready marking the bus stops. We also found that the hotel was well placed for bus travel to Capilano Canyon, Grouse Mountain and Lynn Canyon -- all very convenient. The room was spacious, clean and well presented, the bed being exceptionally comfortable. The cooking facilities were compact but cleverly designed with just the right equipment. A large supermarket is within five minutes' walk for supplies. The fitness room had modern, well maintained equipment. Included in our room rate was credit towards breakfast at The Pantry restaurant. We loved its diner-type food -- so much better than buffet style arrangements -- and its exceptionally friendly service. Meeting the staff at The Pantry were a great start to the day. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the interconnecting door to the next room. If only hotels could soundproof these doors or, better still, eliminate them! Fortunately we had quiet, considerate neighbours.

Room Tip: Our room faced to the rear of the hotel, looking out over a forest. It was very quiet and the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2011

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your review about our hotel and your stay. It is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Team at Holiday Inn North Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Very typical Holiday Inn, but a little fancier. Very comfortable & in a good location (a few min. from Stanley Park).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dce_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2011

The staff and management appreciate your time to share your review about our Hotel, our location and amenities.
We are pleased you chose our Hotel for your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you

C.Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night on September 15 driving through North Van. It was quiet and clean. Nothing super extraordinary, just comfortable. The room was on the 5th floor and was quite large, with a separate sitting and bedroom area. The decor is nothing spectacular. The bathroom could have used a better cleaning as the counter had shampoo or soap smeared all over, clearly a quick wipe down. But no big deal otherwise. The staff were friendly and we received an express check out slip under the door the following morning.

The main issue I had was the price of the room. If I had a choice of staying here or at the #1 ranked North Van. hotel here on trip advisor, which happened to be sold out that night, I would not choose the Holiday Inn. The cost was exactly the same except there we got a waterfront suite looking out to the Vancouver skyline and a brand new and up to date hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthVan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2011

Dear gyest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Hotel

We appreciate your feedback about our hotel rooms, amenities and service but also take this opporunity to extend our sincere apologies as we may have not met all your expectations.

We realize North Vancovuer has a variety of lodging choices and we do thank you for choosing our Hotel. We do hope that you consider our hotel again on a future visit to the area.

Sincerely,
C.Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

So, we were going to spend a few days in North Vancouver, visiting friends/realatives, with some activities for the kids. The hotel is just off the Iron Workers Memorial Bridge, so easy to get to. There is plenty of parking available at no cost. It is quite here as we had a room that faced away from the highway. The hotel is reasonably new, so rooms are aptly equiped with ours having two queens, although room size is small. Maid service seemed good, and front desk staff helpful. I had left a phone charger in the room and they helped return it easily. The gym is quite spacious, and there is a pleasant garden area. A bar, for the young, and a comfortable lounge, with Fritz a very capable host. There is a Pantry restaurant onsite, but we didn't have the best experience there this time. They were short staffed, so......Therea small but adequate selection of shopping nearby and West Vancouver Park Royal is 10 minutes away. We went to the Pacific National Exhibition which was just across the bridge. We have stayed on the other side of North Vancouver, on Capilano Road, and found it good access to downtown Vancouver, but busy and noisy.
It is our second time here and the swimming pool is fun for the kids. Also they had a good selection of movies, when the kids spent time by themselves.

Cheers,

British_eh

Room Tip: Room facing North
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank british_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for choosing our Hotel again for your summer family visit.

Your recognition of our well appointed guest rooms, efficient housekeeping & front desk staff, as well as the Churchill's Lounge are greatly appreciated. We do apologize for the Pantry restaurant, I will be sure to share your feedback with them. Rest assured, all efforts will be made to ensure corrective measures are taken.

The beautiful North Shore has a variety of lodging choices and we look foward to welcoming you back on your next visit to North Vancouver.

Kind regards,
Charmaine Alam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
4.0 km away
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
#4 of 10 in North Vancouver
606 reviews
3.8 km away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,415 reviews
6.9 km away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#5 of 10 in North Vancouver
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
462 reviews
3.8 km away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
7.2 km away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver

Address: 700 Old Lillooet Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7J 2H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range: $159 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning hotel conveniently located off Highway 1. Spacious rooms and suites with features that include microwaves, fridges, free internet access, free parking & bottled water. Great amenities include restaurant, lounge, banquet rooms, indoor pool, fitness centre, hot tub & sauna. Accessible rooms offered.20 min drive to Downtown Vancouver and only 90 min drive from Whistler and minutes from Grouse & Cypress Mountains, Capilano Suspension Bridge, PNE & Deep Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn North Vancouver
North Vancouver Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing