We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Memory of Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great Memory of Vancouver”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently travelled as a family to Vancouver to visit family. This hotel was reasonably priced, and close to our family. We wanted to not use a car, and be able to use the transit as much as possible. It was very efficient, and saved a lot of headaches with traffic. We usel the seabus daily, and found that the bus and train connections were excellent. It added to our experience.

The hotel itself is located in a public market, and we enjoyed the various food options. With children, you do not want to be in a restaurant all the time. They loved the fish and chips, and we loved the homemade soups. Also, budget wise, it made sense. They enjoyed running around the waterfront plaza while we took the sites on the waterfront. The festivals are very good, as was the farmers market. This is not a typical "downtown" hotel. You will find something for everyone in the market. We did try some local eateries, and were pleased also.

The hotel seemed very busy, but the staff was good, and we returned to clean rooms daily. It is not a brand new hotel, but it suited us very well, the bedding had been refreshed, and the bathrooms were very clean and tidy. Being in a public market, we felt safe with our key entry, and it was quiet at night.

I have recommended this hotel upon our return, and would say it is very family friendly and transport friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyfourvagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and in Vancouver! Our entire team appreciated your kind reviews about the staff and housekeeping.
You are right, the public market below is very accessible and wonderful when travelling with children. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Canada and North Vancouver!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    245
    102
    42
    37
See reviews for
130
244
58
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have traveled to world. I have stayed in many luxurious hotels as well as in bed and breakfast places. I really liked this hotel. It has a great location and staf is very friendly. My room was clean and services were good. On my next stay in Vancouver I will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

On a geocaching weekend with a friend and wanted to stay at this hotel for the location. The location was great but the room was not. Was about to climb into bed when I looked at the sheets and they were dirty they had not been changed. Went to the front desk and we were given a sheet and and I than asked for clean pillow cases also. Got back to the room to change the bed ourselves and decided after we saw the dirty bandage we also needed a top sheet as we were not given one. Back to the front desk and asked for another sheet. They did not have one but would get one and send it to our room. Well we finally got the sheets and got the bed made. We were given breakfast vouchers for the hotel and l5% off the first night for our trouble. The room also was very dusty and could use a complete cleaning. Would we stay here again, no.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Sometimes the location is the key and with several hikes planned around North Vancouver hills and access to transit this looked like a great hotel for us.

The Room was filthy. One of our two beds had not been made and came complete with hair and a dirty band-aid. There was only one employee so we had to change the bed ourselves.
The heater had not been used in a long time when we turned it on it blew dust like confetti into the room. The lampshades and table tops were covered in dust and there was to much of it to have been from the heater. In an effort to make us happy for having to change a bed ourselves they gave us breakfast coupons. Good thing as the restaurant was a tiny area squeezed into the end of the building with sparse portions and excellent service (as we were the only people eating).
On our next trip to North Vancouver we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

On a recent trip to Vancouver for a conference, we found the hotel to be very convenient to the local attractions and to where we needed to be (conference center). We booked an Executive room and had a little balcony. The weather was a bit cool, but would have been nice to have breakfast if it was warmer. We found the market below to be handy, and our food budget appreciated the different food options. The water taxi is just outside the door, and we found that it was easy for us to go to the downtown area. Everyone was very nice, and the room was clean and comfortable. I liked having a water-cooler in our room. The next time we come, we would like to use the Canada Line as there is no need to have a car at this hotel. It is easier for an out of towner than dealing with the traffic in a big city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

It is what you would expect of a 3 star hotel. I wouldn't give it more. We booked a last minute getaway and got a $85/night price for a standard room, two double beds. Travelled with our family: 2 adults, 2 kids (toddler & baby).

Cons:
-we can see how people are deterred by the $250 deposit. It's a bit steep for a 3 star hotel, but we never had any issue and were only charged parking and two $4 facility fees (don't ask me what that is). Again, no issue with it at all because it is on the terms (hidden click-thru link though) on our confirmation email. If you didn't know about this before hand, which would be very easy, it could make it a not-so-pleasant start to your stay.
-they advertise parking as $10/day but it is actually $12
-when we arrived I found lipstick on a glass, and I called and had them replace all cups. Absolutely disgusting. Also, the coffee tray and maker was super dusty (I went ahead and dusted it myself)
-the front desk could do MUCH better as far as hospitality (it IS their industry, no?!); when we arrived we got no more than "can I help you?" Where is the smile and "welcome to our hotel!"? Train your staff better. Honestly, we had friendlier interactions with housekeeping (who asked how we were and told us to have a wonderful day). They should definitely train/hire front people who do their jobs properly. Sort of leaves a bitter taste in your mouth, for being in the service industry, in my opinion
-there were some long hairs on the walls of the bathtub (eww!).. I just think for a 3 star hotel you find things like this because they don't have attention to detail
- we heard loud indian music for a few hours at night (our neighbors above played some tv loudly!) but we were exhausted and fell asleep- couldn't complain as our baby is teething and woke up and cried a few times in the night. It evened out.
- people could complain about the decor in the rooms. Definitely 90s. The hallways and entrance have been upgraded- there is want for more.
-Reviewers complaining about the noise, I see what they mean for certain suites. I think there are ones that you walk out and can look down at the market below. Those suites I would not mind, personally, but if I was on a business trip and needed rest, or had young kids napping in the day, I probably wouldn't want it.
-we came back the second day (after room service) and found our door to the outside open! It was freezing in our room (it is mid-November in Vancouver)

Pros:
-the beds are very comfortable! We were well rested
-we found the location charming and enjoyed views of the docks
-there was a small fridge which was handy for keeping food in it (if you have young kids or babies you know how handy it is to have food super close!)
-we loved the restaurants nearby.. For a meal we all chose something we liked downstairs. I have a strict diet (no eggs, dairy, beef, beans..) and I could find things to eat there too. McDonald's is a quick walk away (happy meals can be a quick save and special treat)
-didn't really watch tv (one Curious George episode) but they had a nice HD TV & local cable
-for families it is a good location. Our boys enjoyed looking at the water and watching the boats (we faced the water, east). They enjoyed the lighted fountain at night, and walking up to the "Q". There is a kids section downstairs on the second floor of the market with a kids house with balls, some kids stores, kids loonie rides.
-lots of shopping up Lonsdale
-accessible to the Lynn Canyon, Grouse Mountain, Cleveland Dam, Capilano Suspension Bridge (all on the north shore)
-the accessibility to the seabus is incredible. Quick 4 min walk and you are on the seabus, and 12 min later you are downtown. Our toddler loved it!
-I was pleased to find a pack n play in decent condition for our infant to sleep in. We have been at nicer hotels and had old cribs so this was a pleasant surprise.
-the parking is NOT hard to find. You need to come down Chesterfield (I think that's it), not down Lonsdale, to be able to turn into the parking lot. Easy access to the hotel from there. Just have someone look out for a sign with the logo of the hotel and it says "hotel guest (& free 2 hr) parking" or something close to that.
All in all, you get what you pay for. It is safe, accessible, passably clean (but at least beds were very fresh), nice view, they do nothing to make you feel "special" or like the paying guest that you are, in a nice location, and will give you the basics of what you need if you're mostly looking for a place to stay.

The location and accessibility is what makes it 3, not a 2 star, but I hope the management reads this and knows that BECAUSE of this, they could have the potential to be a 4 star (improvements needed: train staff better, cleaning standards should be higher, need to invest $ and upgrade the rooms/decor).

The true question is:
-would I go back? Yes
-with kids? Yes
-for a romantic getaway? No- I'd go to the Pinnacle

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spininaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

An older style hotel that is a little bit dark and dreary. Room was ok, but pillows were awful (very soft and lumpy). Wifi did not work in the room so had to go down to the lobby. Staff were helpful. No room safe was surprising and very inconvenient (had to leave valuables in office safe).

Best aspect is convenient location on the north side. RIght on top of market shops and stone's throw to Sea Bus (ferry) and buses to Capilano Suspension Bridge, Grouse Mountain, etc. Having said that, would probably stay downtown next time (Gas Town looked interesting).

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Micwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
686 reviews
0.2 km away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,302 reviews
3.3 km away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
415 reviews
3.5 km away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
469 reviews
4.2 km away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Property: Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing