We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Deciding to spend our honeymoon at this hotel was one of the best decisions we ever made! I couldn't believe how easy it was to access all forms of transit (bus and sea bus depot are literally across the street!). We didn't have a vehicle any day but one, when we decided to drive up to Whistler, and we never missed it at all! Yet we saw every major attraction Vancouver had to offer easily thanks to the excellent proximity to transit. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly, always willing to help us out. The mix lounge serves delicious breakfast with so many choices, I had trouble deciding what to get! Loved the shops and stores downstairs in the shopping area. In fact, we found it hard wanting to leave the hotel with all of the shopping and delicious food right outside our door! I'll never stay downtown when I have this amazing hotel on the north shore I've discovered. Oh and let's not forget about that view! Walk out the front door, or look from your balcony, and there's the entire Vancouver skyline across a peaceful strip of the ocean. It literally took my breath away. And I wasn't the early one. Standing out on the deck of the mix lounge one day, I heard several other guests walk outside and gasp as they first soaked in that view. Staying in the Carrie cates suite, which offers a 180° view of the city, one night, was the highlight of our trip. We both agreed it was the most romantic spot we'd ever been, as we enjoyed the jacuzzi while looking out at the shimmering lights of the skyline in the water right outside our room . I cannot say enough good things about this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the skyline. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewB1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    245
    102
    41
    37
See reviews for
129
244
58
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

When we arrived at night, the first thing I noticed was the safe feeling of the area and many people walking alone. Great vibe. Very relaxing.

At the hotel, friendly staff, great location, clean room, cozy bed, GREAT view, quiet, affordable... loved it. I'd recommend parking on the street and saving a few bucks, just move your car before 9am. We had two motorcycles that the pay lot wanted to charge individually even though we share a spot, so we declined. The front desk staff was very helpful with parking tips and restaurant suggestions. I wish we could have stayed longer and explored the cool neighborhood.

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pattio666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 9 years, and it's definitely been better. It's a great location, and there's nothing awful in any way, but it's dropped in some quarters for sure. Front desk staff is adequate - there are one or two who smile, make eye contact when you come in or go out, and offer help proactively, but most are just "doing their job". The amenities in the bathroom are the bare minimum. We did conserve water and not ask for our towels or bed linens to be changed every day, but the day that we did ask to have the linens changed, they were not. On the other hand, in all the times we've stayed there, this was the first time that a front desk clerk let us know that we could park in a free lot next door on the Saturday and Sunday if we wanted, and save ourselves the $12/day hotel parking (and we did!). It's generally in the "okay" category now, and at $213/night (including tax), it should be more than just "okay".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WileyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lonsdale Quay Hotel. First of all, it is right at the SeaBus terminal and the hub of North Vancouver buses and is extremely easy to get to and get around while visiting. It is right on top of a lively market that has plenty of food and shopping choices, and is near many restaurants — we recommend Burgoo's, Boston Pizza and, of course, Tim Horton's.

The room itself was terrific. Clean, large and comfortable, with great views. We were on the east side of the hotel and, although lacking balconies, we were able to see much of the harbour (even getting to monitor a gigantic yacht during our stay) and east to Burnaby and the NorthVan mountains. The room is complete with a complimentary mini-fridge and microwave, and a comfy bed and two plush chairs. Despite all the activities of the market, transport terminal and marina, it was very quiet.

We had a great experience at this hotel and highly recommend it. If you're doing a lot of activities downtown, one concern you might have is the time and distance getting there on the SeaBus. In reality, the trip is not very long and the boats run continuously, so you aren't very far from downtown and we were hardly ever inconvenienced by the location...if anything, it was the perfect access point to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Lonsdale Quay Hotel on 26 June 14 on an overnight visit to Vancouver. Our stay was a mix of good and not-so-good aspects. To be as fair as I can, I have listed both below.

Good:
a) The staff (with the exception of the on duty manager upon check-in...more on this below) were wonderful: friendly, helpful and attentive.
b) The Waterfront Suite was wonderful. Unbelievably large balcony overlooking the Sea-Bus terminal, the Market and the Vancouver waterfront on the other side. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have found in a hotel. The room was huge and very well appointed.
c) I don't know how we possibly could have been better located. The Market is right downstairs (there's even a private gate from the suite's balcony to the stairs to the Market!), the Sea-Bus over to Vancouver is a minute away, a really good coffee shop downstairs, close proximity to great dining and much more.
d) Did I mention how excellent this room is!!

Not-so-good:
a) Parking was very tricky. We were not too familiar with the Lonsdale Quay and actually finding the hotel parking took a phone call to the hotel for directions and a lot of hit-and-miss searching until we found it. There is no dedicated parking for the hotel. But there is an elevator from the public parking to the reception area.
b) We had booked well in advance into the "Carrie Cates Room" with jacuzzi. When we arrived, the hotel had double-booked the room and we were out of luck. They put us into the "Executive Waterfront Suite" in place of the room we had booked. The Waterfront suite was superb (see above). There was a price differential between the rooms. However, it took personal intervention by us to get the hotel to accept this. After being on hold on the phone for several minutes, my partner had to go to the front desk and address the situation personally. The on-duty manager was obviously staying too busy to be able to deal with my GF face-to-face but the lovely Irish girl at reception who was helping my girlfriend got a nice resolution for us: the price reduction plus complementary breakfasts the next morning. I just think that the manager could have stepped up to the plate a bit better.
c) I'm not a huge fan of the modern showers that have nowhere to put soap/shampoo, put a foot up or grab a hand hold to stop from sliding around on soapy stone flooring. Plus, for some strange reason, you need to reach through under the shower head to turn the water on i.e. you get a nice cold shower before you are ready for your shower.
d) This is minor quibble but the water cooler was empty within an hour of us being in the room. You think this is the sort of thing that would be checked before renting an executive suite.

I realize that this has been one really wordy review. The Lonsdale Quay Hotel has a lot going for it. And some of the things that upset us is beyond their control, for instance the dedicated parking for which there simply is no room. But there is room for improvement and that is why I have included the comments.
In closing, let me say that I DO recommend the Lonsdale Quay Hotel to other travelers: the positives totally outweigh any perceived negatives.

Room Tip: If you are after a superior hotel experience, the Executive Waterfront suite would be hard to beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhormerlyPhrozenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I really was pleased with this Hotels location and the ease of access to it from the Sky Train Canada line from the airport and short Sea bus trip to the hotels front door. I arrived on a sunday so the train/seabus fare was under $8 for travel all day and the bonus on sundays is there are no zone restrictions so for the low fare you can train it anywhere in the city. The Hotel as many have wrote is above a market with shopping and some eateries and has a Tim's and Boston Pizza only 1 block away. Be sure to walk the Esplanade trail along the water front towards the Lions gate bridge from the hotel very nice and there is a park with a playground there too .

Room Tip: Ask for full Harbour view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordieHowl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay, and that you had the opportunity to explore our direct area. The public transportation system in Vancouver is fabulous, and we are at a major hub.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Farah Stéen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
686 reviews
0.2 km away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,301 reviews
3.3 km away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
413 reviews
3.5 km away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
468 reviews
4.2 km away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Property: Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing