We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Excellent Location, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value, Excellent Location, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We recently visited Vancouver and were advised by friends to try the Lonsdale Quay Hotel. It is situated on the third floor of a market, on the water, on the North Shore. The SeaBus (ferry to Waterfront Station downtown Vancouver, Gastown) is right beside this lovely and so handy market, which has a permanent indoor component as well as an outdoor farmers' market May-Oct.
I loved a few things: (1) taking the Skytrain from the airport, hopping onto the SeaBus, and arriving at the front door of our hotel in 30 min, for $6/ea. The ride back to the airport cost only $2 each -- crazy (2) sitting outside on the ocean-side patio, drinking our morning coffee (or afternoon beer), enjoying the gorgeous view, then catching the SeaBus, which comes every 15 min, and being in downtown Vancouver in 5-10 min (3) paying way less (<1/2) than my friends who stayed downtown in 4-5 star hotels that weren't on the water and were no more conveniently located (4) buying food, wine, gifts, fresh produce downstairs and being able to bring purchases right up to the room.
Our room was nice but not deluxe, with a balcony and a little fridge, clean and bright. Perfectly adequate. We enjoyed a lovely seafood dinner steps away from the hotel at a ocean-side restaurant called Pier 7. Much quieter and more peaceful at night than downtown Vancouver. We slept well and weren't ever disturbed by noise. Hotel staff was helpful and competent. No complaints. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth floor are better than those on the third -- there is actually a walkway rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael-patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you took your friends recommendation and stayed with us. It sounds like you had an ultimate experience at our property, and we look forward to welcoming you back at another time!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    245
    102
    41
    37
See reviews for
129
244
58
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Lonsdale Quay Hotel has kind of an odd location, with its lobby on the third floor over a shopping area. But it works and contributes to a fun environment. The hotel is not fancy, but nice, clean and pleasant. Quiet, too. What stands out is the location. It's a two minute walk to the SeaBus, with quick access to Vancouver, and just around the corner from a wonderful selection of restaurants. And on the first floor is a broad shopping area with fruit stands, clothes, coffee shops, restaurants, trinkets, etc. The hotel has its own small restaurant for breakfast. Nothing fancy, but quite decent. In general, we had a great time and would definitely stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you took the opportunity to experience the Sea Bus, and eh many amenities located right on our property! We look forward to welcoming you back at another time!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. It was quirky, fun and in a great and quiet section of the city. The Market below was really cool and not as loud as I thought it would be when I first arrived. It was great being able to grab fresh, local fruits and vegetables for lunch before setting out for a day in the main city.

The sea bus is right there, and the fifteen minute ride from North Vancouver to downtown is not bad. You can also go out for a walk at night without being hassled by the homeless.

The only issue I have is with the rooms and that is why the hotel didn't get five stars. The $12 a day parking was kind of disappointing, considering what we paid for the rooms. The rooms themselves were nice but the televisions were dated and there was a VCR in our room. Luckily, the entertainment and local interests were enough to keep us out and about for most of the time we were there.

The gym was hard to find and, once we found it, we couldn't figure out how to get in.

All in all, I loved the hotel. The view of downtown was great. I would recommend this hotel and for sure I will be back next time I'm in Vancouver.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review and that you loved our hotel! We are so happy that you took the opportunity to experience the Sea Bus, and eh many amenities located right on our property! We look forward to welcoming you back at another time!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August 2014. Upon checkin to our room we noticed two bathrobes provided that were tattered and torn, each was tagged at $50 if removed from the hotel. Our window refused to close necessitating a call for maintenance to repair it. At $200.00 per night (taxes in) it is pricey for the limited amenities provided. Beyond these issues, the Quay is located in a convenient location on the Sea Bus line as well as on top of the Lonsdale Markets. These markets do have limited hours that travelers may want to consider if early morning or late night food is required. We will try other hotels on future trips to Vancouver.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhead049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We have advised our Housekeeping Manager to do a full review of the robes in our hotel. Certainly, your experience was unacceptable. We look do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at another time!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Right perched on the water, and the very great Lonsdale Quay market below and Sea Bus at base. Location could not be better in North Vancouver. Fantastic view in suite. We had a corner suite that was stunning. Prices are good, we got from Hotwire so even better. Clean, well appointed rooms, comfortable beds, even a Keurig coffee maker in room, fridge etc. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: If possible and you can afford a little bit more try to get the suite on the top floor.. it's go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farah S, General Manager at Lonsdale Quay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our newly added Keurig machines, view and amenities! We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at another time!

Sincerely,

Farah Stéen
General Manager
Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My room was lovely and large, but I definitely paid for it. What I didn't expect was a water cooler in the room, an outside patio, and a view of the water. The hotel could improve by offering a larger and better equipped work-out room and higher quality coffee in the rooms. Also, when they say that guests cannot check in until 3:00, they mean it; they are very accommodating about storing luggage, however. The hotel is located above a marketplace full of unpleasant people and aggressively entitled baby carriage pushers. Go elsewhere for coffee -- I drank the worst coffee in my life there. I hope I never have to return to North Vancouver, but I wouldn't hold it against this hotel. The staff were gracious and helpful. In addition, it is right next to the seabus port -- very convenient for traveling to Vancouver proper.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patience W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Lonsdale Quay for three nights.

Pros:
-Excellent location, right on the quay with the markets below. -The hotel is also close to nearby restaurants and supermarket.
-Easy accessible parking underneath the hotel for $12 per night not including tax
- Roof top views of the ocean and city

Cons:
- Gym is way to small, went in the morning and there was so many people some guests had to leave.
- we went out in the morning and left the 'please make up our room sign on the door' returned at 3 in the afternoon. The room had not been clean but the towels had been taken and not replaced. We decided to have an afternoon nap, due to jet lag and put the ' do not disturb sign on the door' we got woken up at 5pm with the cleaners trying to open the door, then call the phone which woke us up. We had to leave the room so they could clean it. The cleaners Returning at 5pm to clean the room is really late. We were not impressed
- My pet hate- finding black hairs on the towels in the bathroom- yuck!


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Vancouver
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
686 reviews
0.2 km away
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
Pinnacle Hotel At The Pier
#1 of 10 in North Vancouver
1,301 reviews
3.3 km away
North Vancouver Hotel
North Vancouver Hotel
#6 of 10 in North Vancouver
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suites
Best Western Capilano Inn & Suit...
#3 of 10 in North Vancouver
413 reviews
3.5 km away
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
Travelodge Vancouver Lions Gate
#8 of 10 in North Vancouver
468 reviews
4.2 km away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#61 of 92 in Vancouver
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Quay Hotel

Property: Lonsdale Quay Hotel
Address: 123 Carrie Cates Court, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7M 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > North Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in North Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale Quay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the Experience! Located on the spectacular North Vancouver waterfront! The Lonsdale Quay Hotel is a gateway to Vancouver's attractions, Whistler and major North Vancouver businesses. Whether for business or pleasure, our hotel is your best choice on the north shore of Vancouver! Explore our new Executive Rooms, Junior Suites and Standard rooms! Our Waterfront Boutique property will leave you with lasting memories. Fantastic Vancouver waterfront boutique hotel located in a vibrant market and shops. Your best North Vancouver Hotel choice. Accessible to all attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lonsdale Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Quay North Vancouver
Hotel Lonsdale Quay
Lonsdale Quay Hotel North Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing