We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dougjeff
Vancouver, Canada

Great place to see the stars and enjoy the views!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 23, 2020
Just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at the Observatory. I highly recommend this as a place to stay. As others have mentioned the house is beautiful. There is an ideal view down to the lake and out over the mountains.

Jack and Alice were very accommodating, answering questions and informing us about day time activities that they recommend.

Our evenings were filled with interesting discussions about the universe. Jack makes a complex subject very approachable. The highlight of the evening was going upstairs to the dome where Jack keeps his half meter telescope. As a group Jack then toured us through the heavens showing us planets, stars, nebulas and the NEOWISE comet. What a great way to end the day!

In the morning all guests gather for breakfast at 8:30. A very enjoyable breakfast was served to us each day as we sat looking out the windows enjoying the view. One morning a fawn even walked beside the house as we ate.

After breakfast Jack offered us a unique opportunity. The chance to see stars and planets during the day. We headed back up to the dome and he showed us that it is possible to see stars and planets even during daytime. We ended our morning observations with looking at the sun through a special telescope. We could even see sun spots one day.

I also wanted to mention that I think they are doing a great job with working around the Covid-19 issues. They have put in place requirements to wear a mask when in common areas and I saw them carefully sanitizing one of the rooms after a guest had checked out. I felt comfortable with the virus risk while I was there.

If you are looking for a place that is slightly out of the way, peaceful, quiet, has great views and offers the interesting addition of astronomy I can't think of a better place to stay!
Date of stay: July 2020
Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and offer great views. There are no bad rooms!
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
C$278
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$278
  • Algotels
    C$250
  • Booking.com
    C$278
83.2 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
BestWestern.com
C$272
C$234
Exclusive member rates
  • Booking.com
    C$234
  • Expedia.com
    C$234
  • Hotels.com
    C$234
83.8 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
C$153
C$145
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$150
  • Official Hotel
    C$153
84.8 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$199
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$199
  • Official Site
    C$184
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
85.3 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$135
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Official Hotel Site
    C$135
  • Agoda.com
    C$135
84.3 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
C$119
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$119
  • Expedia.com
    C$112
  • Tripadvisor
    C$112
85.8 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from patio
Booking.com
C$159
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Tripadvisor
    C$159
87.9 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$167
  • Agoda.com
    C$158
  • Official Website
    C$199
83.3 km from Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Osoyoos
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
97
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
97
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 99 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2020 via mobile

We had a great stay at Jack and Alice’s B and B. We could sit on the patio outside our room and look at the view all day - one of the best views in the world. And, with Jack’s enthusiasm about all things in the sky and Alice’s hospitality, the stay was one we will always remembers. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 262ceriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2019

We have always wanted to stay at this bed and breakfast and aft3 reading all the glowing reviews, we booked a two night stay. The hosts, Jack and
Alice, are the friendliest, loveliest couple you could ever meet. We were welcomed like family and treated royally.
We stayed in the Moon Room, which is the smallest room there. But we absolutely loved it and when we realized that the other two suites have the bedrooms at the back of the house, we were glad we had chosen this room that has the bed facing the gorgeous view of Osoyoos Lake and the mountains. It was wonderful to lay in bed looking at this view.
The room has many “Moon and Star” touches, and is really cozy. None of the rooms are not particularly soundproof, so you can hear your neighbours talking and you are asked to keep the TV low so as not to disturb other. But everyone was respectful and this was not really an issue.
A lovely homemade breakfast is served upstairs in their dining room. Delicious!
Morning and evening viewings of the universe through the large telescope are included in your stay, but unfortunately, when we were there the skies were cloudy so we were unable to use the telescope. Instead, we were treated to an interesting talk each evening and a film in the large theater room. Although we were disappointed that the telescope could not be used, the talks and films were good.
We agreed that it was a really nice stay and we would love to go back when the weather is better to see the universe!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlakereener
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 29, 2019

Jack and Rose are fantastic hosts. This is our second stay at the Observatory. (visited 6 years ago)
Received hugs from Jack and Rose upon our arrival and when we left.
The B & B is so impressive, the home, the views overlooking Osoyoos, the cleanliness.
Breakfast was absolutely fantastic.
Of course the Observatory is very special. The night we stayed was cloudy so we did not get to look at the stars, however Jack gave us a stars 101 in his living room followed by a fantastic video of the solar system in his theatre.
The next morning we did get to view the moon and the sun through his very powerful telescope.
We stayed in the Eclipse suite.
I cant say enough about this B & B, its a must stay and provides great value
Thank you Rose and Jack

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Dona2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alice N, Owner at Observatory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

You are most welcome. We love getting feedback from our guests and are delighted that you so enjoyed your visit! Thank you for taking the time to review us! Jack & Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2019

My husband, brother, sister-in-law, and I all stayed here in July 2019. What a wonderful, fun time we had! We are amateur astronomers ourselves, but have never used a telescope the size of Jack's. My husband and brother are both well aware of Jack's expertise in astrophotography, having seen his photos in many publications over the years. I loved seeing the nebulae and galaxies in such fine detail through Jack's telescope. The morning views of the sun and whatever stars might be see-able are great too. The talk Jack gives contains a lot of information, presented in a way that laymen can easily understand. Alice is a hostess with the mostest. She has a great sense of humor, and welcomed us with open arms (literally--she and Jack hug everyone who comes!). Despite a small communication problem when we were on our way up the mountain, Alice made us all feel very welcome. Our room was impeccably clean, and had a wonderful view out over the lake. Jack and Alice are well-versed in things to do in and around Osoyoos, and share their knowledge eagerly with their guests. They serve meat-free breakfasts which are excellent--oh, those muffins we had on our last morning there! Wonderful! We came here for the astronomy, and we got our money's worth and then some. I hope more Americans visit Jack and Alice at the Observatory Bed & Breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank genknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
skyobservatory, Owner at Observatory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thank you for making our day with your wonderful, positive, review. Your visit was a treat for us, too! We hope you'll soon be back, as we learn from our guests as much as they learn from us. We always try to have folks arrive as strangers, but leave as friends. You folks certainly did!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Jack and Alice provide an amazing experience. Their knowledge of astronomy, and hospitality are fantastic. The views from the rooms are a spectacular as those from Jacks telescope. Breakfast is delicious and made fresh.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank samcQ4723UI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
skyobservatory, Owner at Observatory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Thanks so much, Sam. We appreciate your review very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews