We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FILTHY DIRTY!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Your entrance is fooling ,nice ,but as soon as you enter the elevator ,it smells awful,the carpet is thread bare ,the elevator dr. has stuff running down it ,dried up long ago!The rm. had never been cleaned ,headbrd.,between nightstand&bed had piles of crap between them never been vacummed,coffee pot was not operational,broke.Hair &dust &dirt thru out the bath&entire room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

We have never stopped in Hinton to stay, so this last trip we decided to get a good nights sleep before continuing with our trip. After a mix up on my behalf (Nova Inn/Nova Lodge) we ended up at the Nova Inn.

We found the front desk clerk (Cindy) to be extremely efficient/prompt, courteous, helpful and informative. She told us the location of pool, exercise room as well as the breakfast room and when it was served. Also after asking, restaurant suggestions. Very pleasant experience.

We had just come from Edmonton and a rather disappointing hotel, so when we were informed of the rate ($69/night) we were not expecting too much - but then again we just want a clean, comfortable room to sleep in.

We were very happy to see we got more then we expected when we opened our room door. Large room, clean and fresh smelling with comfortable beds. Although we didn't use any of the little kitchen area, it was nice to see it there as many times we have been in a hotel and would have greatly appreciated having a fridge and not have the coffee stuff on the bathroom counter. The bathroom hair dryer had a little night light on it which I thought was a nice personal touch. One thing that I have taken to do to judge how clean the hotel is is to look at the shower curtain - many never see a washer after they are put up and are very gross! The shower curtain had obviously been washed, which was a nice sign to me. Lots of plugins for electronics and easy access to wireless internet. Their were others on our floor but we did not hear anyone nor did we hear any highway traffic which was a concern as we were facing the highway. Heating system worked well and set at a nice temperature - no extremely hot or cold drafts.

Pro's: Late service for continental breakfast (11:00)
Con's: Hot tub out of service, and breakfast area could have used some tiding up (wipe off front of fridge) and a new toaster as the existing one was VERY slow. Also I personally prefer plastic glasses/cups in my room as you never see a house keeping cart with a tray of fresh glasses or dish soap on it, so I never know how or with what they washed the glasses with (just a personal thing).

It is not the Hilton, but if you want the Hilton then you won't be paying $69.00 to stay there. For the price of the hotel we would highly recommend the Nova Inn for your stay in Hinton, Alberta, I know it will be our choice if we decide to spend the night there again next time we pass through.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BStronger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were doing our research before our trip, and came across this Inn. We saw it previously on past trips, but we thought that we would stay here this time, and try this facility.

The lobby area is very spacious and airy looking, and very inviting. The check in area is very clean, and the desk clerk was very polite, and was able to sincerely answer the questions that we had, and I would rate her as having great customer service.

The rooms were very spacious. There was a small kitchenette in the room, along with a desk area, and a fridge to put food. The bed was very comfortable, and we had a very good sleep here.

The pool was smaller, but was very refreshing after that long hot drive we had from Dawson Creek, as it was a very warm day that day.

We were glad that the breakfast started earlier, because we had another very long drive ahead of us to Sun Peaks Resort. The breakfast was continental.

Overall, I would recommend this accommodation to anyone, as we found it very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Came to this hotel very tired and looking forward to sleep. On arrival hotel and room is well presented and clean enough. Priced well compared to Jasper. Unfortunately we heard the click clack of high heels and muffled conversation through ceiling/walls? and some enthusiastic noises all night until the early hours of the morning. Very thin walls. If you can sleep through anything then book here. Breakfast is fine and located near supermarket.

Room Tip: Room at back of corridor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have stayed at the hotel chain before but were not happy at all on this trip. The front reception were very unfreindly. They did not give as details re hotel amenities. The room was not particulary clean. It hadn't been dusted for some time. We had the executive suite but did not even have a table or coffee table. The TVs were very old, one had a horrible picture and the other one sound was really off The air conditioner was so loud you couln't hear the TV. The breakfast room had no attendent and we had to make several trips each day to find somenone to stock thing such as milk, forks, etc.. The waffles, french toast were not preheated so there was always a wait for the toaster and microwave. It was such a hassel we started eating elsewhere. The pool didn't open until 11:00am. This was not posted anywhere, that is just what we were told when we asked reception. The people we travelled with had trouble with housekeeping. They did not get any hand towells, face cloths or tub mat. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hello003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We planned a family ski trip to Jasper and decided to try the Nova Inn. We thought the price was great and they had a pool and hot tub for us to relax in after a long day of skiing. When we first entered the room, we were quite pleased. It was really large and it had a kitchenette. After we were settled in we started to notice a few cleanliness issues. The carpet had quite a few dust bunnies and the tub hadn't been cleaned. As there were a few short curly hairs that I had to wash down the drain.
We went to bed early that night, as we wanted to be at the hill bright and early. The beds were comfortable enough, but we had trouble sleeping through all the noise. There were 7 vehicles in the parking lot and for some reason they gave us neighbors above and beside us. The walls and ceiling do not have adequate sound control and we heard our neighbors all throughout the night.
The next day, we had an amazing time skiing. We returned to our room for one more night. We used the pool and hot tub that night. It was great that we had it all to ourselves, but again there was cleanliness issues. The pool was dirty and the tiles surrounding it were dirty and moldy.
Upon returning to our room, we tucked our boys in and settled in ourselves. That is when we noticed the mice feces in our bed. With our boys already in bed, we didn't want to wake them and switch rooms. It also would have been a pain moving all of our ski equipment. My husband went down to the front desk to request new linen, which we changed ourselves. We were not offered any compensation whatsoever!! The girl at the desk just mentioned her disappointment in the company they had hired to sweep the building for mice. Not impressed.
On a positive note, the complimentary breakfast was good. My kids loved the toast-it-yourself waffles and french toast.
We will definitely not stay here again. Would rather spend the extra money for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skibugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Helpful, friendly, outgoing staff.
Beautiful, modern, clean, spacious room.
WARM swimming pool, enoyable for the whole family (even mom!)
Complimentary hot breakfast buffet.
$69/night!
Will go out of our way to find a Nova in our future travels and hope more of them spring up.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canukmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hinton hotels
0.8 km away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
188 reviews
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
1.1 km away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
286 reviews
0.2 km away
White Wolf Inn
White Wolf Inn
#12 of 17 in Hinton
173 reviews
4.6 km away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#2 of 17 in Hinton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 782 Carmichael Lane, Hinton, Alberta T7V 0A6, Canada (Formerly Nova Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price Range: $116 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located along the Trans Canada (Yellowhead) Highway, the Quality Inn & Suites(R) in Hinton offers stunning mountain views and intimate encounters with Alberta's wildlife, as well as easy access to outdoor fun at Jasper National Park. This pet-friendly Hinton, AB hotel is convenient to outdoor activities like cross country skiing, fishing, horseback riding, hiking and fishing, as well as a variety of attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Hinton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing