We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So lovely we extended our stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“So lovely we extended our stay!”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We have stayed here now three times, we have stayed in each of the rooms and are just in love with the amenities and the location! We are a minute's walk to the restaurants and shops, and the amazing trails are out the back door. After staying here we decided to be married in Canmore and had our wedding pictures just a minute's walk down the trail at the bridge!

Room Tip: Fantastic location, great hosts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowseeker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Although my husband and I have traveled to the Canadian Rockies annually since 2003, this was our first stay in Canmore. We were SO delighted with Canadian Artisans B&B that it will probably be a regular yearly stop from now on. Val and Bob are the perfect hosts -- enthusiastically full of help and knowledge, genuinely friendly, and yet in no way intrusive. Both are artists, and they built their house and guest suites themselves, incorporating aesthetic and whimsical touches such as wood carvings and stained glass windows. We stayed in the Treehouse Suite, with a high ceiling and views into the surrounding treetops. The suite included a comfy sitting area, table and chairs, a sort of mini-kitchen area (sink, mini-fridge, counter space, plates, cups and utensils), and king-size bed that was dreamily comfortable. The suite also has a 2-person shower with a steam option!
Val's breakfasts are worth the visit all by themselves with cereals, baked goods, and cooked specialties. We were sad that on our last morning we would have to leave too early for a cooked breakfast, but Val stocked our suite with enough breakfast fixings to feed half a dozen guests! I can't imagine a better location, either - a couple of minutes' walk one direction takes you to the central business district of town, and a shorter walk in the other direction along a wooded path leads to the banks of the Bow River and Canmore's extensive trail network.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

An excellent B&B in a great location, with river and mountain walks literally on the doorstep - yet only a 5 minute walk to the centre of town. Canadian Artisans is a modern, quiet B&B comprising two separate and self contained private units. Our units was well appointed, well equipped and well maintained. The host is very friendly, but at the same time gives you total privacy. This B&B in Canmore offers a much calmer, more relaxing alternative to Banff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights of our honeymoon at the Canadian Artisans B&B. Upon arrival, Val was very welcoming and helpful in informing us on all the trails and sightseeing available in and around the Canmore area. Our Treetop Suite was cozy and quaint and we really enjoyed the steam shower.
Val prepared the most delicious breakfast every morning! In addition to the huge selection of fruits, breads, cereals and baked goods it was all the little details that made breakfast even more wonderful. From the adorable napkin rings to the heart shaped serving plates, the chocolate sprinkled hearts and the "congratulations" written in chocolate sauce on our plate really showed the time and love she put into preparing our meal.
The location was perfect. Nestled in the forest, surrounded by large trees and the sounds of peace and quiet. The trails, river and beautiful views were right out the back door. Or head out towards the front by foot and visit downtown Canmore.
We spent our time hiking, mountain biking and we did a heli-tour all within Canmore itself. Traveled 20mins. to Banff and enjoyed the Gondola and Hot Springs.
Thank you so much to Val and Bob for your kindness and generosity!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee2kabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in The Canadian Artisans B&B - what a delight! We were in the Treehouse suite, a large, spacious room that has to be seen to be believed. It was created and built by Val and Bob and has obviously been a labour of love.
We were made to feel welcome and Val had lots of suggestions on what to do and where to eat. The breakfasts were varied, substantial and tasty.
Canmore itself is a delightful place, not too busy but not too quiet either. We were playing golf and there are lots of courses to choose from in the area.
We would certainly recommend The Canadian Artisans B&B to anyone wanting to stay in Canmore.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RImmerSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We have spent 3 anniversaries at Canadian Artisans B&B. We love it so much there and have a hard time leaving after every weekend. There are 2 suites, each a unique luxurious retreat. The Treehouse Suite is a spacious relaxing paradise, and boasts a steam-shower, with a selection of aromatherapy oils to use in it. The Foresthouse Suite has heated floors, and a whirlpool tub for two. We have stayed in both and each each. The abundant & delicious breakfast is served in the sunroom and is lovingly and beautifully prepared by the hosts, Bob & Val. We rarely have room for lunch after we've feasted on the 3 tiered platter of fruits, pastries & cheeses, in addition to a hot entree. The warm smiles keep coming, as well as the fresh coffee, tea and juice. The suites are set in their own wing from the house, with their own entrance, so you never feel like you're traipsing through someone else's home. The location is extremely convenient. Its a very short walk to downtown Canmore to enjoy some shopping, or for a walk along the river path. Bob & Val are the most warm, kind people I have ever met. They are always considerate to give you as much quiet and space as you would like, but their love of people shines through and they have a way of making you feel like old friends. Its the kind of place you love to hole up in for the weekend and detox from the rest of the world. You leave feeling refreshed & cared for.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darci_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
2.0 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.9 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.2 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
1.1 km away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.2 km away
Rundle Cliffs Luxury Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast

Property: Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1016 9 Ave, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1Z6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely designed and handcrafted by your hosts, each room is a 400 sq. ft. romantic sanctuary. There is natural light from 8 full length windows, private entrance, bar fridge and other amenities. The Treehouse suite boasts a double wet steam shower and king bed, while the Foresthouse offers a double whirlpool tub and queen bed. Complete with stained glass and hidden dragons, we are located on a quiet forested trail surprisingly close to downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canadian Artisans Bed & Breakfast Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing