We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
385
189
65
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
189
65
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria room english style movie posters best fish and chips pub downstairs english pub shepherds pie quaint hotel sitting area sized bed canmore area soaker tub mini fridge main floor fireplace teapot lamp
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 677 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Our room at The Georgetown Inn was a pleasant surprise. While the lobby area looks a bit rundown, our room was quite large, nicely decorated, well furnished and had a lovely ambience. There were even fresh cookies on arrival.
There was a soaker tub in the bedroom (along with some lovely bath salts) as well as a tub and shower in the large, well equipped bathroom.
Was nice to have Netflix available too.
The restaurant downstairs was better than expected. Good range of breakfast options - try the French toast. And we ordered nachos for a light dinner which turned out to be huge and way more than two of us could eat - but really tasty.
This hotel is in walking distance from the village but it's not a pleasant walk - about 10minutes along the main roads - so if you want to be right in Canmore this may not be for you.
Well worth staying though.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie L, Owner at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for your review- we have worked hard to make the Georgetown Inn a unique experience for your guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

The Georgetown Inn was everything we expected from reading descriptions and reviews, and had a few additional 'quirks', most of them charming.

Check-in time is not until 4PM, and that turned out to be accurate. We arrived at 3PM and our room was not yet ready. However, we were hungry and spent the hour enjoying a hearty late lunch/early dinner in the on-site restaurant/saloon/pub. At later times we also ate breakfast and dinner, and had cocktails in this same location, which is large and includes an outdoor patio with fire pit. Lovely flowers all around the outside.

Inside: Lots of 'old wood' feel, antique accessories used as decor, movie posters of films shot in/around Canmore/Calgary.

The hotel unlocks its doors at 7AM (or 7:05 AM...) and locks them at 11PM.There is a rear access door with keypad for guests to use outside those hours. Parking is on the side/rear of property.

The elevator is 'interesting'. It is a standard door that opens into the moving car, which can be started/stopped at any point by pushing the button. We opted to walk up and down stairs most of the time.

Room was very large, with an electric fire place in one corner, and an old claw-foot style soak tub in the other. Coffee and tea makers in the room. Huge bed with a mountain of pillows. Clean, modern bathroom and very fluffy towels.

Free Wifi throughout, that works well.
Friendly staff. The Inn is on a main highway into town. Canmore town center is a 10 min walk across the highway and the railroad tracks. It's very quiet.

The nightly rate is high/luxury, but about what would be expected at a popular mountain resort.

We loved our stay and if we return to Canmore, we'd be likely to choose the Georgetown Inn again.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms and I imagine they are all nice. We were on the 3rd floor and preferred taking stairs rather than slow elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMLehman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie L, Owner at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for your great in-depth review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Georgetown Inn. We try to make it a unique hotel experience and we are glad you appreciate that! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018

We stayed July 2018 . Good location. Easy walk into town center. Had great meal on their patio. Friendly staff. Easy check in and check out. Room was nice, comfortable bed, clean, and quiet. Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank weirl2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie L, Owner at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

This was a darling Inn with lovely decorated rooms, comfortable beds, with all modern amenities. They had a bar & restaurant downstairs with both good food & very warm, service minded staff. It was walking distance to downtown Canmore & 30 min drive to Banff. Perfect!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie L, Owner at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. All of us at The Georgetown Inn work hard to try to make our Inn unique and comfortable and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

This Inn was located close to all amenities. We were able to walk everywhere. The English pub on site was a nice little place to enjoy a drink and a bite to eat at the end of the day around the large fire table.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosco118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie L, Owner at Georgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Georgetown Inn and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area for your next girls get away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews