We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stunning room! Beautifully placed in the rockies! Great staff! Best place in Canmore! 100% recommend it!

Room Tip: Chinook building facing the 3 sisters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTMECalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your short and sweet review of Solara Resort and Spa.

We're very proud of our Resort and the team behind the magic that you feel when staying at our resort. We're very grateful that you have taken a moment to express your thgouhts towards our resort.

Thank you. We're looking forward to welcoming you back to Solara in the near future!

Best regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

My dear friend and I decided we need a quick get away from LA, CA and chose to spend 5 days in Alberta at The Solara Resort & Spa. What a great choice! We were lucky enough to stay in the Chinook Lodge at The Solara Resort & Spa in Canmore, Alberta in the beautiful Canadian Rockies. Our 2 bedroom/ 2 bath condo on the third floor of The Chinook Lodge was beautifully appointed and immaculate. Each room had a fireplace with views of the snow capped mountains and the beds were so comfortable we wanted to take them home with us. Beyond the physical comfort of the resort and the natural beauty of the city and its environs, the staff helped make our visit seamless and welcoming. Deryk, the Rooms Division Manager and Sara who we met at the front desk were incredibly kind and accessible, helping us to make full use of the resort. We enjoyed our stay and are thankful to all who made the trip special. Thank you and see you again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schacha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your glowing review our resort and our team.

Careful thinking went into the design of each suite and the amenities at the resort. Every suite is like being right at home. There's even a washer and dryer in every suite (not that we think you should be doing laundry on your holiday!). The theatre is a big hit with our guests as we show a free movie (for guests only) every night and the water play area is the best place for kids of all ages to enjoy themselves!

A special thank you from us for the kind mention. Everything that went into your stay was a team effort and we're very pleased to see that our efforts were a success.

We're looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Thank you kindly,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was recently invited to visit Canmore & the Banff area by a friend, naturally I took her up on it. The area beautiful and peaceful & a breath of fresh air. We were equally delighted by our stay at Solara, it felt like a home away from home. The front desk was friendly and insightful about the area and gave us the "insider tips" for hikes & restaurants. I was very impressed how eco conscious this resort was and the impeccable spa/gym facilities.

We shared a two bedroom suite and I was ecstatic that my room had a view of the Rockies & an electric fireplace. My friend's Master Suite was rather large and was ensuite. We both commented on how comortable the mattresses were - we slept like babies. Loved the sitting area and the modern kitchen. Great for families and cooking meals in. I believe they are going to open up a restaurant in the near future.

There are different buildings and underground parking, however we managed just fine. If you need a taxi we used Mountain Taxi (Jim) who was most helpful. Downtown Canmore is about a 10' walk.

Will definitely be back when we want another Mountain Adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inluvwfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort and Spa nestled in the Canadian Rockies.

Our location is ideal for anyone in need of a getaway where they can disconnect and recharge. The awe inspiring views and the fresh air, endless trail systems and sparkling streams, it's all right at our doorstep!

At the end of your day your suite awaits you. Thoughfully equipped for you to be able to live in just like you were right at home, and ammenities such as our hot tub to relax in and talk about the dicoveries from your day of adventures.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Solara Resort and Spa and for taking the time to write this review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Solara Apr 9-11 in a 1 bedroom unit. The check-in was easy and informative, with the clerk giving us directions and a map to both the parkade and our suite. Upon arrival to the room you are instantly taken aback by the beautiful high-end kitchen finishes and the stunning mountain view! Everything in our suite was clean and in good order, and the suite was sufficient size for our family of 4, utilizing the pull-out sofa for the kids. The room had 2 flat screen tv's, a PS3 console, large balcony with a full-size table, 4 chairs and a BBQ. I have no complaints other than we had a night-owl of an upstairs neighbor who walked the floors all night long in heeled shoes/boots keeping us awake. The pool area is on the small side, with a knee deep wading pool, large hottub (the jets were out of order during our stay), and a cute spray park - small, but sufficient to keep young ones entertained. The Theatre was great and at 7pm the whole lobby floor smells of popcorn....YUM!!!! Forgot to mention that we did receive the courtesy call upon arrival to the room on day of check in to ensure everything was in order and satisfactory. Our check-out was equally as easy and painless, with another friendly clerk manning the desk. 2 thumbs up :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyCMartensville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort and Spa.

We're very proud of our Resort and the many ammenities it has to offer to our guests. Your suite has been well designed and equipped with the essentials as well as some additional features like the PS3 systems. Did you know that we rent out DVD movies and PS3 games at the front desk for FREE? It's just another way we like to add value to your stay. Of course you can always join us for a free movie on the big screen at our very own Aurora Theatre at 7:00pm daily.

Stay in touch with us on our Facebook page to share some of your photos of Solara and find out about the most recent deals. You will also be entered to win a free stay whne we reach 1,500 "Likes".

We look forward to welcoming you back to Solara in the near future.

Thank you,

Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I am saddened to read a previous review of the bow building, because I have nothi g but praise and high recommendations for this beautiful resort!
We have travelled the world, but never did we receive such hospitality from everyone here at solara!
Upon checking in, the front desk woman (Colleen) was so pleasant and kind with us and our children. She was happy and knowledgeable, and could tell she thoroughly enjoys her job.
The cleaning staff were very good and respected our privacy. Sheileh(the cleaning woman) was so sweet and friendly, and took care of our room just the way I would!
Our view was unbelieveable, movie room great, pool area wonderful, even though it was closed temporarily, we couldn't have asked for more!
Colleen the front desk woman was very helpful when it came to directions, things to do, and fun things for the kids!
Thank you for such a beautiful, relaxing, and clean accommodations! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We frequent the Canmore area and have stayed at other lodges in the past. We were drawn to this particular property by an escapes deal. Upon arrival, the clerk at the front desk created a detailed map, making in pen on it where to park and which elevator to take by circling both. Unfortunately, we were sent to the wrong elevator and ended up in the Aurora building, rather than the Bow. Self sleuthing to find our room independently, we arrived to a room that smelled of garbage and where the floors had not been vacuumed or washed prior to our arrival. There were other supplies missing as well, which were replaced immediately. However, since no one arrived to vacuum and clean the floors of the unit by 9pm, I cleaned the floors myself. Later that evening we were kept awake by the unit above- it seems that the building is made of plywood-not the typical concrete building that one would expect of a luxury resort. We called the front desk to complain at 11pm, and the noise continued on til 1am(on both nights of our mid-week stay!). Most unfortunately, upon booking, we were not informed that the pool area would be closed for the majority of our stay. Of the Bellstar properties, this one was chosen for it's family amenities-which were not available. I have never had an experience like this at a resort, perhaps one of these issues in the past, but not cumulatively. When the sequence of events were explained to the hotel desk upon checkout, we received an insincere and patronizing apology "that's too bad". We will be going back to Spring Creek, where we have had multiple pleasant stays. I would not recommend a stay in the Bow Building at this resort(aside from a dirty unit, the hallways had not been vacuumed, lights were out and the elevator smelled of wet carpet although the weather was dry), and would hope that the Aurora building might offer a better experience. Good luck here, unless you are visiting the spa! It was the best part of the experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to hear about the events from your stay and will address these matters immediately. There was a temporary pool closure due to unforeseen circumstances and we're very sorry for the inconvenience that it caused.

We take all feedback very seriously and will use it to improve in any areas where we may have fallen short. Overall this experience is not a reflection of a true Solara Resort and Spa stay and we encourage the TripAdvisor community to read all of our reviews for a clearer picture of our resort.

Sincerely,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was my first time to Canmore and it was amazing! The room my love and I stayed in was incredible! We had a great view of the mountains, 2 large flat screen TVs, a kitchen complete with granite counter tops and all cooking tools! Oh and let's not forget the most unreal bed! Sooo comfortable! It was hard to wake up and go shopping ;) This is the best place to vacation close to home with or without children. A romantic getaway or just a place to take the family for the weekend. We will definitely be coming back to Solara without a doubt!!! 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunniscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your stellar review of Solara Resort and Spa.

All of the finishes in our suites are carefully selected based on their quality and style, our guest amenities included facilities such as a 96-seat movie theatre, hot tub, water play area, 8,000sq. ft. spa and fitness facility and our Resort's location lies right by the heart of Canmore and minutes away from the Banff National Park. All of these combine to offer you the most sophisticated and unique accommodation experience in the area.

We're glad to hear your feedback and appreciate that time you have taken to share this experience. Please join us on Facebook to remain in touch and stay up to speed on our latest special offers.

Warm regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.0 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.0 km away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,153 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
569 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $182 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of Canada's top wellness resort situated in the heart of the stunning Canadian Rocky Mountains. Not your typical hotel this condo-hotel offers spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartment style condo units with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Take in the fresh mountain air on your own private balcony or terrace or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. All units feature wine fridges, fully stocked gourmet kitchens, fireplaces, electric bbqs, upgraded Kohler massage showers, complimentary WIFI, heated undergroung parking and more. The best rooms in the Canadian Rockies also provide access to Canmore's only movie theatre where Solara guests enjoy complimentary movies. In 2017 the pool area was renovated and now offers Canmore's largest hot tub. The attached One Wellness Spa offers massage and complimetary gym access to guests. Book on the property's own official website to avoid any disappointments and to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing