We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
195
238
114
41
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
238
114
41
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelloft suiteoff the highwayhot tubonsite restaurantviews of the mountainsbuffet breakfastcomfortable roomeasy accessthird floorwould stay here againfront desk staffmin drivetown centreking bedmini fridgebanff national park
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 600 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2016

If I hadn't gotten a great Hotwire deal I'd probably be less enthusiastic yet, but it was an acceptable stay, I suppose.

While everything looked reasonably clean, the bathroom reeked of ammonia and the shower curtain had an unpleasant smell as well. Still, the room was in good repair and nothing seemed visibly stained, worn, or broken.

Beds were quite comfortable but the room was almost unbearably noisy at night - I'm not sure what all was involved in the racket but suspect a combination of heating unit, super loud minifridge, and our location with a window near the outdoor hot tub (which was quite nice although requires an odd view into the restaurant as you're entering/exiting.) Not a great night's sleep thanks to these combined factors.

Also found empty containers of chewing tobacco strewn around by the elevator as we were leaving, so housekeeping probably leaves a little to be desired.

The location isn't great if you plan to walk into the town centre, but it's on a quiet street a good distance from the train, which is a definite point in its favour. We had a lovely view from our window as well.

Overall, I'd say it's fine for a short stay if the price is right and I'd recommend it if the train noise bothers you on the main hotel drag, but I think we've had better stays in Canmore at other moderate hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid back-facing rooms if you want to avoid noise from hot-tub revelers.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amelisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Front Desk Agent at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Hello Amelisha, thank you for choosing our hotel brand. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and we greatly value your feedback as we take them into consideration for the continuous improvement of our customer service and facilities. We do hope to still have you as our guest in the near future and to exceed your expectations by then.

Front Desk Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2016

Our room was very outdated and very uncomfortable! The bathroom was tiny! Took a long time to get hot water! The beds were some of the worst I have ever slept in! The room was always cold! We wanted to pay with debit at the end of our stay but the forced payment through our credit card anyways! Terrible service! Will not stay at a holiday inn ever again!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Dear Marion B,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and superior accommodation to all of our guests and we appreciate your business with us. However, we apologize if the condition of the property and the level of service received fell below of your expectations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the quality of our services and facilities we offer. Rest assured these concerns will be forwarded to the hotel management and necessary actions will be taken, in order to meet complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you with exceptional service and accommodation on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2016

We spent two nights here during our trip at Banff. Canmore is about 20 minutes drive to Lake Louise. If you can afford a room at Lake Louise, of course, go for it. If you considering Banff town and Canmore, I will recommend Canmore. Its cheaper and as convenient as Banff town. The view in Canmore is beautiful and there are good selection of restaurants and coffee shops. Holiday Inn is close to high way. Room are spacious and with reasonable price. You are surrounded by the mountains. So the view from the window of our room was beautiful.

Staff are friendly, beds are comfortable. No complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

We booked an executive suit which was a good size for the 4 of us. The restaurant provide good food with the kids eat for free. The service was fantastic and
Brooke was extremely helpful and great with the kids. Johnny the barman was absolutely outstanding and he makes a mean cocktail!!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016 via mobile

Not my first stay at this property but I will certainly return. Comfortable rooms, good value and a great location with easy access to Canmore and Banff. Nice onsite restaurant for anyone who doesnt want to venture into town.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Guest Service Representative at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2016

Hello
Thank you for your great stay in our hotel. Hoping that we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews