We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Banff & Lake Louise”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Booked over one month in advance, 3 nights for $CD 240 total.
We had the room at the rear of the building which had freight trains all night.
I suspect the rooms facing the road would be a lot quieter.
The microwave was connected to the light switch, which took the maintenance man to point out to us. It did have a fridge, and an older style (CRT) TV, which was a bit out of focus. But then again, one doesn't come here for the TV !
Breakfast was very good. Onsite car parking no problems.
We had a queen size room which only had one chair.
We found this hotel to be a good jumping off point for Banff and Lake Louise.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the street (Bow Valley Trail)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomLynnMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here one night the early part of September. We were very happy with the staff,room,breakfast and pool/hot tub. We did not hear even 1 train-we were hesitant after reading some reviews about the noise so we requested a room on street side. The location is very convenient as we were able to walk all around town.
This is a very good value :)

Room Tip: Rooms on street side are quiet and have great scenic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbsimonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights - had a great time - the breakfast was plentiful & great selection - get there early though to avoid rush - the water slide & pool were great fun & our little boy loved it as we did - everyone was having such a laugh in there - the hot tub is gorgeous but it IS hot!! This hotel is a great base to explore the beautiful Banff, Morraine Lake which is stunning & Lake Louise - both with their turquoise blue water & backdrop of mountains & snow! There are nice restaurants nearby which we ate in & we also had a trip out to Whistler - not a lot in Whistler - very much a ski place. Visit the hot springs - & Banff is so pretty. We were also treated to seeing a black bear on the side of the road - we bought bear mace too by the way - a good idea although we obviously didn't have to use it. Up in Montana on a sign said not to walk in less than groups of 4 - def buy bear mace if you're touring. The only fault with this hotel is it is located near a railway & it could be a bit noisy at night - once we were asleep though it didn't bother us.

Room Tip: Get interconnecting rooms if with family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziemartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We booked online as we were attending a wedding in Canmore. The room was inexpensive so I wasn't expecting too much. However the room was small , very drab and dingy and needed completely refurbished. The bed sagged, the sheets were washed out and stiff. The lighting was dreadful. We were offered earplugs by the receptionist at check in, which seemed a bit weird at the time. We were not aware that the railway ran about 50 feet away from our room and it felt like the trains were coming into our room all night. The breakfast would have been ok if anything had been warm. Hot food was cold. We had stayed in the Holiday Inn earlier in the week and would advise anyone to spend the extra and stay there, even if they don't supply a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't on the railway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Nice large, clean room. The staff was really nice and friendly. Stayed on the train side and truthfully it didn't bother me at all. The breakfast was great, anything you wanted to eat. One of the cheaper places we stayed in Canada. Canmore seems like a nice place to live. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annaohio013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

stayed there in early september. Paid the extra money for the street side room,so train noise was not an issue. Older hotel, could use some sprucing up. The rooms could have been cleaner. Our room with double beds was a bit on the small side. Each room has a small fridge and microwave.
Breakfast was adequate,enough to fill you up, though not on a par with a Hampton or Fairfield Inn. Room rate probably was somewhat of a value considering the season and time of year. There really isn't much of a lobby, so if you're looking for a place where you can go to sit and relax and read a paper or watch tv after dinner this isn't it. Just good enough for our purposes which was as a base to trips to Banff and Lake Louise. Parking is tight here, the parking spaces aren't all that wide.
There is one of each type of aerobic equipment in the exercise room(1 treadmill, 1 bike and 1 stepper I believe) an a small universal. The exercise room like most hotels in this class could have been larger and better equipped. The included breakfast is one of the factors that make this a good deal as dining in the area is pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My sister, brother in law, niece, myself and my daughter stayed here on the nights of 17 and 18 August. My sister had mistakenly thought she'd booked a 2 bedroom suite (which we'd booked on a previous stay) however, she'd actually booked a room with 2 beds. Fortunately the hotel was not full and I was able to book the adjacent room for myself and my daughter for the two nights and also include a white water rafting trip in the package. For what we paid the rooms were what we would expect - they were clean and quite spacious - my only complaints were that the beds were very uncomfortable and breakfast was not as good as on our previous stay. Even though we were on the trackside of the hotel, the trains didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trich22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.9 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.8 km away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: $88 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing