We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This past summer we stayed here for our wedding in Canmore. Most of the guest stayed here as well, and everyone thought the service provided at the hotel was excellent. They went out of their way to help with any issues we might have. Breakfast wasn't that great, but otherwise everything about this hotel really impressed me!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. As always customer service is our highest priority and we’re happy you found it to meet your expectations. Since your stay we have hired a new kitchen manager, we hope during your next day you will find breakfast to be more to your satisfaction.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    358
    235
    83
    47
See reviews for
409
276
56
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We hadn't read the reviews for this place, but luckily my husband was canny enough to pay an extra $10 for a room facing the road (away from the trains) and we weren't bothered by them. The room we had (394) was clean and comfortable, but a little small for our family (2 adults, 11 & 14 year old) especially when we'd squeezed a rollaway bed in. The beds were very comfortable and really our only complaint with the room was it was soooooo hot. Being that outside it was below 0, we appreciated a warm room, but even with the air-conditioning off we hardly slept as it was just so hot. We put the air-conditioner on for a while to cool the room down, but it was quite noisy and disruptive. Outside the room in the hallway there was also a massive heating unit going, so I don't know if that had anything to do with it. The swimming pool was small, but my kids loved the 3 story water-slide - only one complaint - no towels were left at the pool and when I asked at reception I was told someone would be down with some more for my family who were swimming, but this never happened. Overall, I would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Follow everyone else's advice and get a room away from the back of the hotel - there is a gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Good day and warm regards. I would like to apologize for the lack of pool towels. We miscalculated our needs for the holiday season. We’re thrilled you found our beds to be very comfortable; we have replaced hundreds on them with the newer pillow top models that everyone seems to enjoy best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is a great stop for a family. It has everything you need; affordable rates, close to amenities, very clean, large rooms, friendly and helpful staff, swimming pool, waterslide and a decent breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Also, only approximately 20 minutes from Banff. Only downside perhaps is that it is right next to the train tracks so you can hear the trains if your room is facing that direction, but at the same time, with young children, it keeps them occupied watching the trains go by! All in all, a great hotel, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Your words are very kind. At reservation time we offer both sides of the hotel as an option (train and roadside,) and we’re happy you and your family enjoyed yourselves here. We try to be as family oriented as possible and we know that all kids love our water slide. See you next time.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed in 354, facing the road. Room was great with a partial vaulted ceiling. Very comfie king size bed.. soft.. soft.. soft with 4 king size pillows. Room had a clean couch with coffee table, microwave and fridge. Room was located close to the conference room where our Christmas party was held.. very convenient.. although would have been noisy had we not been attending. Trains were not a problem as we did not hear one. The breakfast was better than most with pastries of many kinds, pancakes, waffles, toast, english muffins, bagels, eggs, sausage, and five kinds of cereals. Breakfast was held in a large room with fireplace. We did not try the pool/waterslide.. but looked like the kids were enjoying! I would recommend this hotel +++

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rottn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thanks for your review of your stay. Also, thank you for your kinds words about our hot continental breakfast. I’m very happy you found our beds to be comfortable; we have replaced hundreds on them with the newer pillow top models that everyone seems to enjoy best.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We live in Calgary, Alberta and we had a very bad snowstorm last weekend. We had spent the day in Banff and couldn't make it home due to the bad condition of the highway. For that reason, we decided to spend the night in Canmore. It was late, around 9PM and we chose The Ramada Inn & Suites because its location basically. The bedroom was nice, it was located on the 3rd floor, we payed for a queen bed (you can get a king if you pay extra of course). The room included a couch, a mini fridge and a microwave, which i think was a good extra value if you want to stay longer. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough to have a good sleep. However, there were kids running around in the hallways and around midnight (if not later) i heard someone knocking another room's door, for quite a while, and it was quite loud, basically you can hear everything from the hallways, not very quiet. But hey, it was just a night. It is well located if you spend the day skiing or driving around the park because it has easy access from the highway, and Canmore is really close to the park gates. Although, the train tracks run right behind it and it could be noisy if your room is located on that side. We could go snack shopping late that night because there is a Safeway and a Sobeys right across the train tracks. The room rate includes a breakfast, nothing fancy, and it is served from 6 to 11 am. We got to the breakfast room around 9:30am and by that time the toasters weren't working, most of the tables weren't cleaned, the counters were messy... to be honest it wasn't really inviting. But they do offer a variety of bread choices, pancakes, yogurt, cereal (no fruit though...) and some scrambled eggs and sausages. I think the food selection was ok... So if you need an emergency stay in Canmore, consider the Ramada if you are on a budget, if not, definetely stay somewhere else. And if you have kids, they are going to love it definitely because it has an indoor pool with a slide.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the train tracks. It can be noisy sometimes... Higher floors have a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to express your concerns about the breakfast room. The toasters have been replaced and we have since hired a new Kitchen Manager. We apologize for the noise you endured during your stay. During your next stay please inform us immediately of any noise you find to be intolerable so we may take action to make your stay more peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights with friends and 8 yr. old child. The beds were extremely comfortable and we all had some fabulous nights of rest. The waterpark area was undergoing some renovations but was still open to the delight of our traveling child. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were nicely renovated. The hot/cold continental breakfast was very filling with a good variety of items. We stayed on the highway side and did not hear the train at all. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Lastly, just a short 8-10 minute walk to downtown shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road/highway side are quieter than the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buller_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Good day to you. We’re pleased you had time to enjoy the pool during its renovation. We welcome you back to see the finished product. Were thrilled you had a good night sleep on our new beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 6 weeks while my husband was working in Kananskis. We had a good rate and was the only thing that kept us staying at the hotel. When we first checked into the hotel front desk had no clue about our reservation that we gave to the manager under our business name. Front desk told us that there was no way a reservation was taken under a business and so we had to ask for the manager that we spoke to. Yup, it was under the business name. Staff was less than friendly to deal with, they are all very young and seem to all party together and customer service comes last. I would walk by the front desk everyday and was never greeted with a hello or a smile, they just stared at me until I would say hello and I would sometimes only get a uncaring response. Pool was closed basically the entire time we were at the hotel, laundry room was disgusting to use.
My biggest concern was the cleanliness of the hotel room, they changed the sheets maybe once a week and we knew that because they had stains on them. The bath mat wasnt moved for a week, and when I finally lifted it to be cleaned with the towels, it had mold on the bottom. After housekeeping came to clean the room they put the bathmat back in the bath tub even though I purposely set it upside down so they couldnt miss the dirt underneath. So the next day I did the same thing, so they rolled it up behind the toilet. How disguisting! Room was rarely vacuumed unless I asked them to. They would leave the table sticky and left with crumbs so I had to finally buy and use some lysol wipes and clean the room everyday. I had to actually put the shampoo and conditioner away after a week staying there because they wouldnt clean under neath although it was dirty and scumy. Its really too bad the staff is so horrible becuase it is a nice hotel, good location, and beautiful views. We will not be staying at this hotel which will be a loss for them because we will be staying in Canmore all summer of 2012.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Ramada Canmore, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your stay. Since you have posted your review, we have taken some actions. First of all, we had a meeting with the front desk staff regarding your concerns. Secondly, we have established a system for the long term stays so deep cleanings are done on a consistent base.
We welcome you back at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 28 in Canmore
522 reviews
0.5 km away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.0 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
8.7 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,055 reviews
1.2 km away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#21 of 28 in Canmore
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Property: Ramada Canmore
Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing