We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski bums paradise”
Review of Ramada Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Canmore
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and took advantage of the ski and stay package that gave us each a lift pass for use at any of the big three. We went to Lake Louise where the lift pass is valued $80 but the best part is you get passes for each night you stay and they are good until the end of the season.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5teady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed at the Canmore Inn (Ramada) for 4 days in September while visiting the national parks. The location on Bow Valley Trail is central in Canmore, a much better choice than staying at Banff for transportation and restaurants.
The hotel is located adjacent to the railroad track along with many others, so facing the track side may disturb some but not a problem with us. The best part of the hotel is the breakfast with excellent selection of cooked items. However, the room and service is a far cry from the Holiday Inn where we stayed along the trip.
We reported to the front desk our sink in the bathroom was not draining. Nothing was done. We had to put a coffee stir stick to pop it open to allow it to at least drained slowly. The towels were all damp without being dried thoroughly. The most uncomfortable part was the washroom, being so small and lack shelfing to the point of being very inconvenient. The mattress were too soft or old for a restful sleep.
All in all, we paid a lower end price from what we could find with a lower end accomodation. We suggest the staff with better hospitality training with dealing with customer, at least when compared to the reception at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfc130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stayed here for 1 night during a trip to the Canadian Rockies. The hotel is easy to find in a nice town a good distance from the Rockies. I agree with the other reviewers that the staff is apathetic. When I checked in, I was given room that wasn't ready yet. Took about 15 minutes to get that rectified. The fitness room is supposed to open ay 7am. It took 2 visits to the front desk before someone moseyed by and opened the fitness room around 7:20. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is decent. But it doesn't seem a high priority for the staff to do their jobs well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The Canmore Inn & Suites (Which has recently changed their name to the Ramada Inn & Suites) is the best hotel we've ever stayed at!!!

First off, the manager had upgraded our room (which he didn't have to do but did without question) (our original price for the queen room was $112 - the best price for this type of hotel in Canmore...Trust me I looked) The hotel was clean, the pool/waterslide/hot tub area was nice (waterslide was long & fast) and the breakfast was a full contential breakfast (including eggs & sausage).

This hotel is located right on the main road when you come into Canmore so it's super easy to find AND I just wanted to add that others who have written reviews for this hotel in the past have talked about the noisy train. We heard it...but barley & the train runs so fast it's about 30 seconds....We we're even in a room that faced the tracks.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone - whether you're a family, a couple, a business traveller....The walls were solid (we didn't hear any other guests) our bed was comfy and the price was perfect. All in all this was a 5 plus place for us to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ihearthoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We spent one night in this hotel on our drive from Saskatchewan to BC. We picked it because it was one of the cheapest we found that still had availability. Because we were only staying for one night we weren't overly concerned about the actual quality of the hotel, but were pleasantly surprised by this one. Our biggest surprise was that it was a Ramada, we were looking for a Canmore Inn & Suites sign and almost missed the small one on the balcony.

Our room had some random stray hairs on the floor in the bathroom, but other than that it was clean. The rooms are nothing special but there's nothing wrong with them. We had a small bar fridge which was nice. It wasn't the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, but it was ok. I liked that there was a soft and a firm pillow to choose from.

There is a small pool with a waterslide and a hot tub. The waterslide is fast and tons of fun. The breakfast in the morning is nothing special but it's complimentary and there's plenty to choose from.

As for the train that I read a few comments about, yes it does run right behind the hotel. It also runs right behind a bunch of other hotels and right across the street from others and there's nothing that any of them can do about it. We had a room facing the street and didn't hear the train at all. Either there was no train that night or you can't hear it in street facing rooms. If you're concerned about the train, I suggest requesting a room that faces the street.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ty&Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The Canmore Inn& Suites is of a quality you would expect of a member of the Ramada Group.

Location, it is well placed within walking distance of the town of Canmore, has loads of free parking, and is handy for Highway 1, to Banff, Lake Louise and Calgary (though that is an hour away).

The downside to the location is the Canadain Pacific freight line runs behind it and the highway runs in front. We had a front facing room, and were not disturbed by the highway at all, not sure how noisy the back facing rooms are.

Continental breakfast was included in the price and was very good, though the hotel is in two sections joined by an arch, so we had to go outside and back in to the breakfast room, OK in June, but not sure about mid winter.

The pool and hot tub are great, clean and tidy, we arrived at a weekend so it was being well used by families, but by Sunday evening we had it to ourselves.

The staff could not be more helpful, the coffee machine in our room did not work, so they changed it immediately, though there is free tea & coffee available all day at the coffee station near reception.

One small quibble, the safe deposit box in the room used a key not a digital code, so we had to take the key with us when we went out, plus the mechanism stuck sometimes…

We are halfway thru a 4 week trip through BC & Alberta and this is the best hotel so far.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorky201024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Stayed at the Canmore Inn for one night as a "pit stop" while travelling home from Alberta. The room was clean, had all amenities and the staff was very friendly. My 4 year old loved the waterslide, and the continental breakfast had a good variety. The hotel is not fancy, but for the rate I thought it was a great value. I would stay here if in Canmore again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wubbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
0.9 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
562 reviews
1.2 km away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#21 of 29 in Canmore
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Canmore

Address: 1402 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N5, Canada (Formerly Canmore Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: C$88 - C$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Canmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a combination of great value and friendly service, the Ramada Inn & Suites in Canmore is ideal for families, conference, meetings, and anyone looking to enjoy the Rockies. The resort offers a three-story waterslide, swimming pool, hot tub and fitness room. The Ramada Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Canmore, Alberta, in the Canadian Rockies. Canmore is home to spectacular mountain views, great family fun, year-round outdoor adventure, and is only minutes from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Canmore
Ramada Inn & Suites Canmore Hotel Canmore
Canmore Hotel
Ramada Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing