We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Artisanal ammolite jewellery and gems.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ammonite Factory - MOVED

Ammonite Factory
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Showroom/retail store/museum/factory. We offer interpretive tours of our factory and we also offer a wide variety of ammolite jewelry and gem grade ammonite fossils or fossil pieces for sale.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Artisanal ammolite jewellery and gems.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Ammolite, a gemstone formed by prehistoric ammonites, is found only in south-central Alberta. The Ammonite Factory is the smallest of the companies that prepare jewellery from this rare gemstone. Everything on sale in this factory/studio is made on site. Nothing on sale here is cheap, but the price is better than in the big Banff tourist shops. Most mornings you can catch a tour that explains the origin of the gem and how it's prepared. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Izmircanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    9
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fascinating shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

There is a tour of the factory which wasn't available when we were there, but looked like it would be very interesting. There were many samples of ammonites as well as ammolite jewelry. The staff was friendly and informative.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We arrived on a Friday lunchtime in November, not exactly high season but they were still offering tours every hour for 5$.
Don't expect a large factory, it's very small but very personal. There are some amazing pieces with some incredible stories. When we arrived, there was a small tour in progress which we opted to just look around; Leslie lightly offered some information on some pieces we were looking at and queued in to how interested we were and enthusiastically gave us more information. She must have been a teacher in her past life as she explained things with ease and with an obvious passion for the subject. She mentioned that she was the new kid on the block at the factory, but I never would have guessed it.

We saw some pieces that were 65-70 million years old! There was even a dinosaur egg found in China. While you will find some ammonite jewelry all over the Rockies, this place has unique pieces you won't find anywhere else.
It was amazing to have a glimpse of how our world once was and the creatures that lived on the same ground we walk on. I'm no science or history buff but I found it very interesting thanks to Leslie. The ladies who work at the factory are all very well informed and easy to chat with. No sales pressure at all.

Great experience that won't take you all day. Highly recommended but perhaps not a place for young kids.

Helpful?
2 Thank itsjustlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Might be nice, but...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We ate lunch early so we could get there when it opened at 12pm on Sunday. Then as soon as we walked in the door, our little girl had to use the washroom. As you likely know, little kids can't hold it so we asked if they have a washroom. "No sorry we don't", was the response from the lady. Really? So we left. We didn't go back.

I understand they don't want dozens of tourists roaming in and out only to use their washroom. However, this place advertises as a tourist attraction with a factory tour offered. If they want people to be there for a while; looking at/purchasing product, they need to have access to a washroom.

The product and factory tour might be amazing, but the service is not.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank TK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba , Israel
Level Contributor
497 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A fascinating story about a beautiful rare gem - Ammolite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

While in Jasper I saw for the first time the Ammolite - it is the last stone been declared as a preciose gem and its supply comes from small mine in Alberta where for some reason the fousils of ammonite turn to be so beautiful and yet so delicate . In 5-10 years that supply will vanish ..

In the Ammonite Factory you receive the complete story and you see the real huge fossils and what part becomes the gem ....
The entrance fee is simbolic - good value !

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ammonite Factory also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing