We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,217)
Filter reviews
1,217 results
Traveller rating
639
430
91
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
430
91
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best westerns western hotels gift card tim hortons steam room gas fireplace hot items free breakfast breakfast room very nice hotel yogurt hot tub pool area large room hot breakfast would stay here again banff national park
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,217 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Loved our room and really liked the staff. Thank you Jordan and Renault at the front desk. Also Kylie for great directions for our scenic drive back to the Calgary airport. We really thought the mineral salts for our bath was a nice touch after hiking the trails in the Rockies. Great location to walk to town.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hall692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hello hall692,

Thank you for joining us on your most recent stay in Canmore. We are delighted to receive a perfect review score and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your thanks to Jordan Renault and Kyla for the suggestions! We hope to welcome you back for a great repeat experience in the near future. Safest of travels in the mean time and all the best to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Very nice hotel. Very clean, room was nice with a jetted tub and fireplace. Breakfast was good, the only negative was it didn't start until 7, and according to the staff if you are the first one up you need to run the tub water for about 30 minutes in order to get hot water. Other than that it was a great stay!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hello Alan T,

Thank you for joining us at the Pocaterra Inn and leaving a kind review. We are happy to hear that the jetted tub and fireplace were highlights in the room. Our apologies for the lack of hot water in the morning and thank you for calling down. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for joining us for an even better experience next time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

This was our third time staying at the hotel and it hasn’t changed in the best way. The hotel is always clean, quiet, and the staff are quite helpful. Breakfast is always fresh and the potatoes are top notch. By far one of the better continental breakfasts we have eaten. The green initiative by this hotel looks awesome, and if we had stayed more then one night we could have taken advantage of it!

Nice work, we will be back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RebeccaCoghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hello Rebecca R,

Thank you for continuing to visit us, mentioning you were here for a third time. We sincerely appreciate you returning to our hotel multiple times for a repeat experience. Your kind comments regarding the cleanliness, quietness and staff efforts are very much appreciated. The Green Rewards Program is only available at our hotel, or those who have a similar program in place. We are happy to hear you were able to take part in the program and enjoy a coffee card in lieu of housekeeping service, on us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

It is with shock and disappointment that I write this review. We booked this hotel for 2 nights a week ago. I unfortunately forgot a packet of luxury makeup in the room when we left. When we returned to pick it up a few days later, the luxury makeup had been stolen. When we complained, the manager became extremely defensive and agressive and clearly said she didn’t care if we reported the case to the police. What type of a hotel treats its customers like this? She was raising her voice at us, clearly agitated and disrespectful.
I noticed another theft took place at this hotel on July 14, 2018 (check the review on TripAdvisor). So without a shadow of a doubt, there is something wrong at this property and the manager is in total and complete denial. I know that in their response to this review, the manager will strongly defend her staff and deny that things get stolen at this hotel, but trust me they do. The hotel has no safes in their rooms - for a hotel of this category, this is completely unacceptable. And the employee or employees stealing from guests use the lack of rooms safes to rob guests. Whatever you do, take all your valuables with you, even things like makeup you feel no one would steal. Don’t trust the staff at this hotel. This hotel is such a shame to the Best Western brand. The whole experience has been disgustingly unpleasant and demeaning as well. To end this review, I’d like to share a verbatim quote from the manager to me as I left: “Why would anyone of my staff steal your make up, none of them are black like you”. These words shocked and saddened me deeply because they were clearly racist by their very nature. And despite my stay at over 100 properties a year for the last 10 years, I have never been treated like this. Our experience at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, Canmore was a horrible one, not only the theft, but the filthy dirty pool, the inexistent customer service, the terrible breakfast, the closeness of hotel to main roads, the slow elevator, the small gym with old equipment and many other gaps in service. As a seasoned and experienced traveller and TripAdvisor reviewer, I would strongly advise you do not stay at the Best Western Pocaterra Inn. I know that there a few accommodation options in the region, but if you can avoid this listing, please do.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank InfiniteTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018

Hello Rebecca Stevens,

You showed up at our Front Desk unannounced mid afternoon, immediately suggesting you wanted to call the police, stating we had stole from you; a fairly hostile approach. When our General Manager came out in the lobby to assist, you were clearly distraught and mentioned you were going to be calling the police. The General Manager, concerned, but feeling that we did nothing wrong, suggested to provide the phone number and assist if you felt that is the necessary course of action. She literally said that if you feel that is what's necessary, then do what you need to do as we feel we have done nothing wrong. We are here to help, and she would have been more than happy to assist with the investigation if that's what it had come down to.

You left a bag at our hotel for 4 days and we were not contacted. Our housekeeping team stored it in their office, with the 3 posters rolled up to be included, inside the bag. When we presented the bag to you, it was then announced/discovered that it was missing two items (a foundation and a lipstick). You are making it sound as if we went into your room while you were an in-house guest and stole items from you, which is not the case. As soon as it became shared knowledge with the General Manager that there were still two items missing, she began the process of trying to reach out and contact every employee who may have seen or come in contact with the bag. After speaking to multiple team members no one could recall seeing the foundation or lipstick, just the bag with the posters rolled up in it, which was set aside.

You spun a comment our General Manager made to sound racist, which was not remotely close to its intention. Instead, the General Manager was trying to only apply logic to the situation stating that we literally have no staff with your skin tone, meaning the foundation is rendered useless to anyone who would want it. It's quite obvious when someone has a foundation which does not match their true skin color, was the point. The General Manager does the hiring for the property and with one walk around, you will see staff of different sexes, ethnicity and sexual orientation throughout the entire property, across multiple departments.

We are sorry to hear you were also disappointed in a "filthy dirty pool". However, the pool facility is a heated salt water pool which is treated both manually prior to opening and also closing with chemicals required to keep it clean. Over night, a salt water robot cleans the entire pool and is pulled out put prior to opening. Throughout the day, the pool is connected to a state-of-the-art program which monitors temperature, toxicity and filtration levels in real time. If any of the values are off, we are emailed and faxed immediately with the cause of concern reported by the system. We won the housekeeping award for having one of the cleanest properties in the Bow Valley. This award is not received by having a "filthy pool".

Breakfast is often mentioned as a highlight for most guests stays. We are sorry you were not happy with the breakfast experience and we will pass on your concerns of the breakfast to the team.

While we are close to main roads, we are happy to be a 5 minute walk away from the main traffic/congestion of Canmore. All hotels in Canmore have train tracks and a highway on either side of them. We are fortunate to be on the side that does not have train tracks, which can cause disturbances. We're sorry to hear you did not like the location of the hotel, but there are roads on either side of every hotel in town.

The elevator was part of the extensive upgrade we put forth in our hotel this past winter. Pool facility, guest rooms, corridors and elevator were all renovated extensively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

My review is mixed. I gave this is a 2.5 star rating
Best Western has owned this property for some time, but no one seemed to know what it had been beforehand. I mention this because it was upscale from BW's usual properties and the price very much reflected that. The front desk management seemed to have some issues with guest relations, and I noticed guest treatment that was unacceptable...This did not improve the second day.
There is a $50 anti-theft surcharge applied to one's bill when they check in that was not declared during the booking process, so this came as an unpleasant surprise. It's removed when you check out, except for the bank hold.
When the power flickered during a thunderstorm, no one seemed to know if there was a back up generator.
I'll not bore you with the laundry list of other things, some minor and some not, that did not work, did not reflect professionalism, and should not have been tolerated, at this price level and the BW standards of quality.
There is a pool with a indoor water slide. The pool did not look clean. There was also a jacuzzi, which was out of service.
We did appreciate the guest laundry, and gas fireplace in our room. We didn't use it, so I don't know if it was in working order or not.
The room was large and comfortable and well-lit. We were not able to adjust the thermostat to make up for the whistling draft under and around the door, which needed a very firm shove to shut tightly. The rooms have interior hallways.
The free Wi-Fi did not appear to be secure.
We did enjoy the included hot breakfast.
One final note: The property has two addresses which gave our GPS fits. It fronts on Mountain Rd. and has a walk-through Lobby.
There is decent restaurant right next door.
We stayed two nights, because of prearranged plans, but there will be no repeat visit.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews