We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
622
425
89
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
425
89
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest westernswestern hotelsgift cardtim hortonsbreakfast room isgas fireplacecomplimentary breakfasthot itemsyogurtvery nice hotelhot tubpool arealarge roombanff national parkcomfortable bedsfridge and microwavea great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to stay in Canmore rather than Banff as it is less crowded and just a slight more in driving distances to all the places.

We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor for our trip of 4 nights and it had a balcony from where we could get a beautiful view of the mountains as well as a fireplace. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and the service was excellent. There was complimentary hot breakfast and the selection was adequate though tended to be repetitive. The breakfast room is rather small and tends to get crowded after 8.

The room had a fridge and microwave and there is a self-service laundry onsite. The location is fantastic being just outside of the downtown area and about a 5 min drive to supermarkets (including a Safeway) and restaurants. There is a convenience store next door in the gas station.Ample parking is available.

We could see the kids enjoy the pool and waterslide which seems to be one of the highlights of the hotel (though we did not use it ourselves).

All in all, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello mva9,

Thank you for taking the time to stop in and stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed Canmore as an alternative to Banff. Your 4 night stay is very much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that the cleanliness and breakfast were highlights of your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Take care and safest of travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were excellent, the experience was great and the hotel was clean and well-kept. The pool area was great. I would have preferred some free weights to use in the fitness room. But overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 752tank2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello 752tank2018,

Thank you for the kind review and generous words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel well maintained and clean. We are delighted to hear the pool area stood out as a highlight of the stay! We hope to see you again soon, all the best and safest of travels wished your way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a pleasant surprise staying at this hotel. The rooms are so big and spacious! Loved how comfy the beds were and the extra bonus of a fireplace. Even the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was good too. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Great night.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Marlo S,

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your most recent experience at our property. Your kind comments regarding the room size, the bed comfort and gas fireplace are all very much appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to get to know our wonderful staff a little bit, and reporting the positive interactions! We hope to see you again soon. All the best and safest of travels wished your way until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Contacted BW international who contacted hotel manager. We have to cancel our Banff trip that was to start tomorrow,9/3. Reserved this hotel for 1 night. Cancelled because we have a father who just changed to hospice and will likely die in the next 24-48 hours. We have to pay a changed airline fee of $700.
This location did not honor the cancellation because it is under the 72 hours policy. If I would have known about this family “emergency” I would have cancelled prior to the 72 hours.
BWI left a message for the hotel managerwho emailed me the bad news. The other local hotels in Banff, Calgary, Lake Louise and Jasper all honored our last minute cancellation.
I have Been a BWI member for over 25 years; would have been nice to have been offered a 50 % refund as a gesture of goodwill.
To add insult to injury they didn’t even wait until tomorrow to charge the credit card; charged it today. I’m sure the area is popular and with a nice location they will easily book our forfeited room.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Chris R,

We're sincerely sorry to hear that you had to cancel your trip based on the circumstances mentioned. However, 72 cancellation does get enforced for all guest rooms, regardless at our property. We honor 1 rule for all guests. We do this as it is not fair to past guests, who may have had similar but different circumstances but were charged, or someone who had completely different circumstances but needed to cancel as well and were charged for not showing up.

We lay out the cancellation policy and enforce it for all rooms. Unfortunately while we don't want to discredit your situation, in speaking from experience there are guests weekly who have say extreme circumstances to cancel, when they are in fact not dealing with the situation described, just so they can try to strengthen their case.

Aside from the business aspect, I wish you and your Father all the best. Take great care, Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel two days ago and would definitely go back! The room was lovely, had a fireplace and we used it as it was a wee bit chilly out and the room was cooler which was nice for sleeping. Breakfast was included in our stay and they also had cookies and iced tea in the lobby in the late afternoon which was another bonus. They have a pool, water slide and hot tub and then nice loungers to sit on around the pool area. Great location, easy to find and it was so nice being back in Canmore - great little getaway!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Daphne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PocaterraMgmt, Director of Sales at Best Western Pocaterra Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Daphne2,

Thank you for staying with us and already considering returning! We appreciate your comments regarding the features and decor of the room as well as complimentary breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon. Take care and enjoy your travels, until next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews