We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The first stay was the last stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Resorts Canmore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The first stay was the last stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Check in was average and not very friendly, he seemed totally disinterested. We were asked to check an inventory, something we have not been asked to do before. It took 24 hrs to get an hairdryer missing from the list.
Pillows were small and very uncomfortable
The building is not appealing, reception is nondescript and not well sign posted, the whole place looks like a car park. It seems to be set up more for private condos definitely not a resort
There were notices in the wardrobes between sheets and towels regarding extra charges if used, don't leave them in the rooms in the first place
We had to pay extra for internet access, our daughter had to use her computer for work so we had to pay a second fee
Lack of a mat at the door to the Condo meant we constantly had grit and mud throughout, they did vacuum once mid week but the vac had poor to no suction
The hot tub was always covered, the room locked and not readily accessible
The gym machines had broken weights and some were missing safety pieces,
This was a time share swap and was very disappointing,we will not be returning.
Canmore itself is a fantastic place in a perfect position for winter and summer sports, great restaurants,cafes and shops. We do visit a few times per year

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philbraithw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    36
    27
    17
    23
See reviews for
59
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We travel the world and found the spaciousness, friendliness and location of this resort to be wonderful. There were 18 in our group and we found so much to do in Canmore and surrounding area.
The staff were so helpful in answering many questions by our group, and pointing us in the right direction.
We WILL BE BACK, and look forward to making this an annual event.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

My partner and I were in Alberta for her frinds wedding at the Banff Springs Hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with a kitchen.
Definately not a grand hotel with a fancy lobby or ammenities, but it was a place for us to crash after a day of skiing or cave exploring.
we were impressed by the room. Had a open concept kitchen/dining/living room and gas fireplace and 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and in suite laundry.
the master bedroom had a full ensuite bath and a great view of the mountains. the 2nd bedroom had no windows, but was close to the second bathroom.
underground parking was nice as we had a lot of snow.
overall we enjoyed ourselfs and being walking distance to a bunch of bars and restaurants was nice too.
things to do: cave exploring at Rat cave, skiing at sunshine and lake louise. hiking up sulpher mountain in banff.
love the canadian rockies!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel81king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

I was weary of visiting this property given some of the reviews I had read. The staff were amazing and they treated my family like their own.

The worse thing we could mention was that we noticed a toaster was missing the first morning, however this was quickly addressed when brought to the attention of the staff.

Confused by some of the reviews we had read beforehand, we asked the gentleman at the desk and he explained that there is a rather run down hotel section located in the complex which does not form part of the resort, and which is often associated with the resort. A word of advice to anyone visiting this property with the intention of staying in a fully outfitted condo: be sure you're paying for a condo! It appears the hotel rooms are often mistaken for condos. We had windows that open, furniture that was comfortable, and were happy with what we received for the money we paid.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

I spent 5 days at the Sunset Resort in Canmore with my 79 year old father. We checked into the resort quickly and efficiently. Staff were welcoming and friendly.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom 1 bath suite. The suite was clean, well-furnished, comfortable, and had breath-taking views of the mountains and Canmore. Parking was in a private secured underground garage that was well-lit with added security for entrance to the elevator.
Although our visit to Canmore and the Canadian Rockies was during off-season, we had no problem finding restaurants and shops open for business. The town of Canmore is charming and the Canadian people proud and gracious hosts.
I look forward to my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhanchuruc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Do NOT stay here. I traded for a week in this place, using time-share credits. We got a two bedroom unit. We should have turned around upon driving up. A resort with no place to sit outside other than a parking lot! Buildings in obvious need of more TLC. A check in process that included checking off an inventory of such things as plungers! A notice that we would get a $50 CAD penalty for not leaving full rolls of toilet paper. Dirty hallway carpets. Terribly stained carpets in the rooms. One bedroom with no windows. Awful, uncomfortable furniture. After four days we decided to pay to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arutigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

First off, I want to say that it will be difficult to find a timeshare with a more pleasant and kind staff. We exchanged our week via Interval International. I wasn’t expecting a grand resort, I had read the reviews on tripadvisor.com. It is above what looks like a strip mall. Canmore is a small town and the resort was conveniently located. The first unit we checked into was a disappointment and we requested to change. This unit looked very old and only had a view of the wall of a new building next door. The staff was kind enough to prepare another unit for us which was much nicer. The second unit had a living room wall that was mostly windows with a view of the mountains. The carpet was stained, the TV was older and some of the furniture was the type you assemble yourself. The kitchen and bathrooms did seem clean. The unit had a full kitchen and a washing machine and drier, with provided detergent. The dishes and utensils looked like a mismatch set of whatever they found on sale. The wireless internet was free but was only available in the lobby.

Activities included an orientation, barbeque night, a hike and karaoke. We did not attend the karaoke. The orientation was very helpful and snacks were provided. We attended the barbeque night and the steaks were very good. After dinner, the attendees played Pictionary and we had a great time. This gave us a chance to get to know others staying at the resort and the staff. The weather interfered with the original hike plans and the location was changed. Our new hike was a nice walk through town and a walk along the river. We did not use the hot tub but it was working all week, except one day it was closed for maintenance. The resort also had a pool table. The gym was simple but adequate. The included heated parking was nice. A Safeway is nearby and has a wonderful deli. I probably will come back to Canmore but I won’t book a stay here again. The staff was wonderful and is the best thing about the resort, they made the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 km away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#20 of 29 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.1 km away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#8 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 29 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
1.2 km away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Property: Sunset Resorts Canmore
Address: 1151 Sidney St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing