We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beds were comfortable but the chlorine smell near pool was overpowering” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Drummondville
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beds were comfortable but the chlorine smell near pool was overpowering”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel twice. Once on my way to Northern Quebec and once on my way back. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The beds were very comfortable, the linens and pillows were nice, and the air conditioning was pretty good. We did not have enough towels for the three of us but they were happy to give some more to us. The dryer in the room as the old built in white ones and in the first room is was a bit flaky.On the way there we stayed in a room on the outside (and odd numbered room on the 3rd floor) and I thought I would give a very good rating. On the way back we stayed on the third floor again in a room that was overlooking the pool. The smell didn't seem that bad as we brought our stuff in and got settled. But after we got back from dinner, I found the smell to be really bad. The hotel was pretty busy so I did not ask to change rooms. But I would not stay in a room near the pool again. I see in another review that the person thought it was bleach. I did notice a slight smell of bleach from the towels but it was definitely chlorine from the pool that filled the room (we noticed the window was open onto the pool). My daughters used the pool and thought it was ok but that the hot tub was funny coloured and only 88 degrees (relatively cool for a hot tub) and so they skipped it. There was quite a bit of pool noise but it ended promptly at 10pm so was ok as we had not tried to go to sleep yet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimosabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Hello,

First I would like to thank you for staying at our property during your trip through Drummondville City. Every guest's comments is really important to us.

You see me very happy to read that you enjoyed our mattresses. Indeed, we recently changed all of those. We took them from the company Essentia with memory foam. We know how much it is important to have a good night sleep before go back on the road.

I want to apologize regarding the problem you get with the bad smell of your room (chlorine). We have at our establishment an indoor pool. There is 21 of our 118 rooms that are facing it. and 7 of those has direct access. Normally we always make the guest aware of that smelling.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the whirpool that was to cold. You can be sure that the maintenance will be aware of this and we will do the necessary.

Again thank you for staying at our hotel and it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    102
    50
    15
    15
See reviews for
76
86
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafontaine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here during our trip to nothern Quebec. Check in and out very fast. Staff very friendly and bilingual.The room was very nice and the beds very comfortable. We appreciated the beautiful bedding. We had a nice room on the ground level, since we where traveling with two small dogs, this was a bonus! The pool area was okay. Restaurants in walking distance what was again much appreciated and you can not beat the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tavelingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Hello

First, I would like to thank you for having stayed at our establishment. Your feedback is really important to us. With your comments we always try to improve to give better services to all of our guests.

We also love to see guests like that are travelling with their beautiful pets. We charge no extra fee and always give a room with a direct access to the outside. So our customer can easily go with their pet take a walk.

I am glad to see that you also enjoyed our location and all the accomodations nearby. We are located halfway between Quebec City and Montreal and right off the exit 177 from highway 20. Also, all of our guests have access to a lot of services in walking distance: restaurants, coffee shop, shopong center, movie theater and many others.

But, I hope you enjoyed our services directly offered from the hotel. Like you noticed, we have an indoor pool and spa but we also offer free high speed internet access, free secured parking lot, restaurant onsite with room service available, a bar and many others.

Again, thank you for your comments and it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our trip from Southern Ontario to Northern New Brunswick for a family function. The hotel is fine, great location, only seconds from highway 20 and has a number of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. Our only complaint was the smell of bleach. We stayed at this hotel last January as well and noticed the smell of chlorine, but at that time we figured it was coming from the indoor pool. This time around our room was as far away from the pool as we could get and it still had a heavy chlorine smell. It appeared to be in the linens. Other than that annoyance, it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Hello,

First I would like to thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel in Drummondville city.

As I can see, you enjoyed the location of the facility. Indeed, we are located halfway between Montreal and Quebec City, bordering Highway 20. You just have to take the exit 177 and you get there in 2 minutes.

You seem to have enjoyed your room and our services. You see me very happy. And we made and are still doing several renovations. We have also added a few amenities to satisfy our customers. For example, guests can now enjoy a clock radio compatible with MP3 players and iPods. All our mattresses have been changed to those of the company Essentia with memory foam.

However I wish to offer you our apologies regarding the strong smell of bleach that you felt in the room. We actually doing a big clean bathrooms with a product that may leave that kind of smell. However, they do not contain bleach. They are all biodegradable.

Again, thank you for staing at our hotel and hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundas Ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

A very nice and convenient motel
Room was very comfortable with great bed

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tombeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Hello,

Let me start by thanking you for staying at our property during your trip at Drummondville city.

Great to see that you enjoyed your room and ou establishment. We always try to do our best to give to each guest an amazing experience. Our goal is to offer a courteous service, professional and adapted to the needs of each person.

This is one of the reason why our reception is open 24h hours a day, 7/7. So we are able to give a better service at any time of the day or night. We also give several services to our clients. We provide them a free secured parking lot, indoor swimming pool and whirpool, wireless free high speed internet, restaurant and bar on site with room service available and many others.

Your comments is very important to us and I want to thank you for giving your feedback regarding your last stay in our hotel. Hope that we will have an other opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. Bathrooms were recently renovated and are very modern. Bed was very comfortable. We were traveling with a dog, and it was a very accepting place to stay with a dog.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWrenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Bonjour,

Fisrt I would like to thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel of Drummondville city.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the renovations that we have just completed. Indeed, we recently changed our mattresses for the comfort of those with memory foam : essentia. The bedding is also renewed recently.

It's been over 10 years that we are part of the program pet friendly. Glad to see that you were able to enjoy this service. When we made the implementation of the program, we took the decision to take stategic rooms on the first floor with an outdoor access to allow the client to go directly there from it. In addition, we do not charge any additional fees.

Thank you for staying at our establishment and for giving us your feedback. Hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

On our way through Quebec in July, my family and I decided to stop for the night in Drummondville. We did not have reservations but chose to check availability at the Best Western Plus Universel. At reception, I learned that a room with two doubles would be $99 for the night, and that the hotel had a pool, a perfect combination for a family with two boys, ages 7 and 9.

The room was clean and had sliding doors out onto a courtyard. The courtyard was just a patch of grass with tables and chairs, but offered a welcome opportunity to sit and enjoy the nice weather. The pool area was well maintained and my children spent hours swimming, working off their excess energy after a long day of driving.

This hotel has a restaurant and I believe there is a spa on site as well. We did not use either, but did enjoy a clean, spacious room for a very reasonable price. This night was the final night of a month-long adventure, and the accommodations offered at this hotel suited our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Bonjour,

First of all, I just want you to know that your feedback regarding your stay at our property is very important. Thank you for giving it to us.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. When we introduced our range of services, our primary goal was to meet the needs of our customers, even if you are travelling with your family during your vacation, like you did, or if you come for business.

We have an indoor swimming pool. Open daily from 8:00 am til 10:00 pm, our guest will be able to enjoy it even if it is a rainy day. We also have a full restaurant service available to customers.

Also, glad to see that you could enjoy the beautiful weather. The garden has been designed to ensure that in summer time, everyone can enjoy it the most as possible.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel in Drummondville city. Hope to serve you during your next trip in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Do

Very nice hotel, comfortable bed, good value for the price

Don't
Nothing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPaquin, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Hello,

First I would like to thank you for choosing our property during your stay at Dummondville City.

I'm glad to know that you liked our rooms, services and amenties that we provide to our guests. We did some renovations in the past few mounths. We always try to improve and that's why the comments of our guests is so important to us. With those, we know exactly what to do to give to the client an unforgettable experience.

You didn't write any comments regarding our restaurant, but I hope that you had try our new summer menu. This is a light menu, and everyone can find something good for themselves. You can order pizza, pastas, salads, grilled, angus beef and many other choices.

Also, if you wish to come back in Drummondville city during your vacation this summer, I invite you to go on our web site. We have many packages with some tourist attractions. Those are excellent deals for families.

Again, I would like to thank you for staying at the Best Westren PLUS Hotel Universel and hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drummondville
2.1 km away
Quality Suites Drummondville
Quality Suites Drummondville
#1 of 7 in Drummondville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel & Suites Le Dauphin Drummondville
0.9 km away
Grand Times Hotel Drummondville
Grand Times Hotel Drummondville
#5 of 7 in Drummondville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Drummondville
Comfort Inn Drummondville
#6 of 7 in Drummondville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 km away
Motel Blanchet
Motel Blanchet
#7 of 7 in Drummondville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
25.2 km away
Days Inn - Ste. Helene-de-Bagot
Days Inn - Ste. Helene-de-Bagot
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Helene-de-Bagot
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville
Address: 915 Rue Hains, Drummondville, Quebec J2C 3A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Drummondville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Drummondville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel is located halfway between Quebec and Montreal, right off Highway 20. Its geographic situation is the ideal place of encounter for the travelers.The Hotel offers an adapted service for either business or pleasure with its 109 rooms and 7 suites, one of which has a double whirlpool bath. Personalized services, competitive rates, an indoor pool and a Jacuzzi are advantages that you will benefit from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Drummondville
Drummondville Best Western
Best Western Hotel Drummondville
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Universel Drummondville Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing