We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bollocks, Whitby”

Bollocks Pub & Kitchen
Ranked #49 of 313 Restaurants in Whitby
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: There is no "I" in our team!People are talking... from Durham’s best chicken wings (really, that’s what they say) to sandwiches that are big enough to share to pasta dishes like you have never tasted before and entrees that look like they belong downtown T.O. in a fancy schmancy restaurant.  Here at Bollocks we use only the best and freshest ingredients in our food.  We believe in our food. We love our food and we have fun with our food. We have the best around.. How can we possibly say that you ask? Well...  We have a very experienced kitchen staff with over 30 years culinary experience plus we have been awarded the Consumers Choice Award as the GTA East Best Pub by you, the consumer for multiple years in a row.   If you’re not in the mood to try our food we also have beer (lots of it) 20 beers on tap ranging from domestics, premiums, imports, crafts and wine (lots of it too)plus a bunch of other stuff.  We have daily specials...which means we got cheap stuff every day (in price only, not quality) we have the best serving staff and bartenders around. (we can say that cause we hired them). They always have a smile, are friendly, will go outta their way to make your visit a memorable one. (I really think it is because they like their job, not because of the tips). While here experience the most thrilling sports match-ups played out in supersize at Bollocks, where bigger the better is our mantra. Why? Because we’re derived from the dreams of sports fans like you who dared to want a more brilliant place to cheer for the good guys. Watch the most exciting moments of your game pulse through our 16-foot x 8-foot video wall, 33 SHD TV's in total. We broadcast every sport played on the field, court or ice and it’s a guarantee you won’t miss a minute of action. Come see for yourself...
Restaurant details
Description: There is no "I" in our team!People are talking... from Durham’s best chicken wings (really, that’s what they say) to sandwiches that are big enough to share to pasta dishes like you have never tasted before and entrees that look like they belong downtown T.O. in a fancy schmancy restaurant.  Here at Bollocks we use only the best and freshest ingredients in our food.  We believe in our food. We love our food and we have fun with our food. We have the best around.. How can we possibly say that you ask? Well...  We have a very experienced kitchen staff with over 30 years culinary experience plus we have been awarded the Consumers Choice Award as the GTA East Best Pub by you, the consumer for multiple years in a row.   If you’re not in the mood to try our food we also have beer (lots of it) 20 beers on tap ranging from domestics, premiums, imports, crafts and wine (lots of it too)plus a bunch of other stuff.  We have daily specials...which means we got cheap stuff every day (in price only, not quality) we have the best serving staff and bartenders around. (we can say that cause we hired them). They always have a smile, are friendly, will go outta their way to make your visit a memorable one. (I really think it is because they like their job, not because of the tips). While here experience the most thrilling sports match-ups played out in supersize at Bollocks, where bigger the better is our mantra. Why? Because we’re derived from the dreams of sports fans like you who dared to want a more brilliant place to cheer for the good guys. Watch the most exciting moments of your game pulse through our 16-foot x 8-foot video wall, 33 SHD TV's in total. We broadcast every sport played on the field, court or ice and it’s a guarantee you won’t miss a minute of action. Come see for yourself...
Reviewed March 1, 2017

A little upscale pub. Nicely decorated. Well rounded menu. Lots of selection for everyone. Food was fresh and very tasty. Service was good. Reasonably priced. We will be back.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theresaxoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollockspub, Owner at Bollocks Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

We arrived around 4:45 Sunday afternoon to have supper. We asked if we could have a booth the male staff said he would get it cleaned up for us. After standing around for 10 minutes and nobody attending this table we sat down to maybe get them to clean the table and order our food. We ordered our meal at 5:05. There was a large party that arrived and they got served food before we did. We asked the waitress where our food was she indicated that the large group had pre ordered there food but there was atleast a 20 minute span from the first dinner plate that went out to this table and the last plate so meaning people where done eating before others got there food at the same table. There was a few waitress walking around as the restaurant itself was fairly slow. We got our food about 55 minutes after we ordered it. For pub food this is ridiculous. The food itself was really good. One waitress she may have been a manager apologized for the delay and offered us a free desert. The kids had a caramel cake. It was average. But wasn't expecting the best cake at a pub.

Overall we may be back due to the food but the service/kitchen staff need to be better organized and plan better.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank lincoln81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollockspub, Owner at Bollocks Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Lincoln,

Please allow me to apologize for the service you experienced as this is not something I am happy to hear about when I hold our staff to the highest level.

First I will address the party, in some cases parties pre-order as I think was the case on this day. This is offered to ensure that we don't have walk in tables get their order caught in behind a large parties order. I think it is pretty clear to say we failed on this day and I will apologize again.

I am happy to hear that you did enjoy your food. Our food is something that we are pretty proud of and love to see customers reactions when we bring it out for their first time seeing what we can do. You comments on the wait time are correct, usual wait times can be expected to be 15-30 minutes for mains depending on how busy the pub is at the time.

Desserts are something we are working on and we hope to have some creative options by summertime.

I do hope that you will give us another try and if so, please ask for myself to see if I am in, I would like to personally check in with you.

Looking forward to meeting...

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

We walked in asking for a table for 4 (we had two kids with us). Despite the restaurant being half empty we were told we would have to wait for over 30 minutes for a table. When asked if we could sit in the bar (where there were 6 unreserved empty tables) we were told children were not allowed in the bar area. I also added that we ate in the bar the last time we were there and the hostess said kids were not allowed in the area. The restaurant had availability and still were going to make us wait. What kind of restaurant isn't family friendly? I'm sure plenty of other neighbouring restaurants would like to have our business.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank rkdg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollockspub, Owner at Bollocks Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

rkdg2015,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience here.

Please allow me to share some information here with yourself and others reading this review. First off we are a family friendly Sports Pub and not your typical family restaurant like a Swiss Chalet. We are trying our best to meet the desires of all our guests. As a father of 4 kids and sponsor of 21 youth teams while only being open 4 months I have to disagree with your feeling of not being "Kid Friendly" and I know many of our guests would agree with me. We have even brought in tablets for the kids use opposed to the traditional books and crayons. I would like to know which day/time you did visit for us to better understand the wait issue, my guess would be a Fri or Sat where wait times can be as high as an hour. Being a Dad again I can appreciate that this type of wait time doesn't work with what I assume are younger kids.

Here's the challenge I think you faced on what again I am assuming was the weekend. We have listened very closely to our customers like yourself about likes & dislikes and will continue to do so as we want to try to appeal to all. A policy was put in place on a trial basis to not allow kids under 16 in the bar area in the interest of both adults and younger children. Kids running around (as some do) in a bar area was an issue when parents like yourself were looking to just get out and enjoy a date night or even when a group of guys and ladies were out to enjoy drinks and adult conversation needed to keep looking over their shoulder in fear of younger kids hearing possible profanity. This policy has been in place effective 5pm Mon-Sun in the best interest of both families and adults with the best intentions.

After a month of having this in place and feedback like yours we will be adjusting it slightly to try to yet again appeal to all. Effective today, this policy will only be in effect on Thurs, Fri & Saturday nights from 7pm-Close. I have to remind you that we are a "Bar" also and not classified a family restaurant although we encourage families to come during appropriate hours with kids.

Lastly, with your help on the information I have requested, I will be able to address the staff member who could have taken the time to better explain the reasoning behind the policy in place. I would also like to add that I have implemented an APP called "NOwait" that can be downloaded for FREE on the APP Store to avoid wait times like this an ensure prompt seating when bringing kids. Its a great APP that allows you to put yourself in line and then we will text you 15mins before your table is ready giving you time to leave home and get here.

I hope this helps you to better understand the situation that you encountered and that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

We value your business

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017

The food at this pub is incredible. My favorite is the hand made chicken fingers which come with any of the 20+ wing sauces available on the menu!! The Halibut and Chips is a good size piece of fish as opposed to being mostly batter. I could go on and on. My current goal is to try every single wing sauce in the place. The only drawback is a relatively limited draft selection compared to some of the other pubs in the region.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveW2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollockspub, Owner at Bollocks Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Steve,

Thanks for sharing your experience.

We strive to offer guests the best dining experience with only the freshest of ingredients and meats. If you come across something on our menu that doesn't quite meat the quality of what we strive for, please let us know.

Thanks for being a customer and welcome to the Bollocks family.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2017

I am not a Pub person so much as I find the prices and what your getting for pub food are almost all the same with all of them, with a few exceptions. The exceptions are what makes me not want to go to a new pub as the better ones are much better than the average. Price wise, with so many happy hour specials out there, beer and food, you don't want to pay full price.

I decided to give this place a shot. 1/2 price bottles of wine on Thursday night is great but I felt that the variety of bottles available was not good enough to warrant even half the price as I like a decent glass of wine, but this is a pub so I went for the $ 8 dollar schooner of beer which was a decent deal. Sadly, only Canadian (yuck) and Coors light, like many other places. Missing the happy hour food price for the appies only, ended at 5, I had to search for something a little different than the other Pubs that was also of reasonable size as this food may kill me one day in volumn. The 10 oz signature burger popped out as being loaded up with pulled pork and bacon and a decent price per size ratio. It ended up being decent. The fries just OK. Also, a small amount of wings, (sadly I am spoiled with 59c wings elsewhere that are amazing), I got 6 wings in hot Cajun. They tasted decent but price wise, I am spoiled at 11 bucks with fries,....Meh in price. Normal sized wings. The staff was decent and it did seem like a sports bar over a pub,.... but wasn't this a Sargent Peppers once? Stuff left over maybe? Lots of staff, we thought it may get busy with 4 or 5 reserved tables. Would I be back? Not sure, if so it would for the early bird appies of about 6 things for 4 to 5 bucks a piece. and hope that the dish size was normal not cut back in size like many do.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rockiroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollockspub, Owner at Bollocks Pub & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2017

Rockiroads,

Thanks for your insight on your recent visit.

I am sorry you personally didn't enjoy our place as much as we would have hoped.

We are a sports pub and had you visited our website you would have known this before coming. Wings are something we are known for with some of the Best around and awards behind them to support that statement. Burgers are another thing we are well known for and in-fact the burger you describe here is not the signature burger but rather our drool worthy burger a very popular one. Either way it seems clear that we didn't win you over with our food or beer selection which I am sorry for. It sounds like you are looking to attend places only when deals are on? Visit our website should this be the case and I am sure that you will see many specials that may fit what you are looking for like our Wed Wing Night offering a dozen wings with fries, veg sticks and dip for only $12 or $0.75 wings on Tuesday Nights. As for wine, we are a Sports Pub and I challenge you to mention another sports pub that offers a wider selection of both off the shelf and vintage bottles of wine for guests and best off all...all at 1/2 price on Thursday Nights as you mention.

Lastly, we are not one of those places that you reference to cut back portions when offering 1/2 price appies.

Sorry we didn't appeal to your tastes or needs but I hope that sometime soon you will give us another try.

Best

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bollocks Pub & Kitchen also viewed

Whitby, Ontario
Whitby, Ontario
 

Been to Bollocks Pub & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.